We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped in Alesund”
Review of Hotel Brosundet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel Brosundet was a real disappointment in Alesund. I understand the hotel is located in an old, renovated building, but the layout was completely counterintuitive to the comfort of its guests.

Our room, though a corner room with a nice view of the canal, was very cramped. The furniture arrangement only emphasized the lack of space. The bathroom, tucked away in a glass corner, was even more cramped and left no room for movement. The shower had a drainage problem. We alerted the front desk when we checked out, and they said it has to do with the slant of the floor. They said they’d check it out anyway, and I hope they do. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was disappointing. The hot trays didn’t keep the food warm… biting into cold eggs wasn’t how I wanted to start my day.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel does not have dedicated parking. The front desk directed us to a garage that was full, and we spent the next half hour driving around looking for another place to park. Make sure you have coins with you, the garage where we eventually found a space wouldn’t take our credit card.

If you have to be in Alesund, the location is central, but it’s certainly not a hotel to seek out as your top choice. With all of those elements combined, my stay was far from a relaxing experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GooseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear sir/madam,

I am sorry to read that your stay did not fulfill your expectations.
Some of our rooms are unfortunatly a bit small, and we therefore reconmend our spacious junior suits.
We will discuss internal what have happened during breakfast.
Again I appologize, but hope to see you again at Hotel Brosundet and Ålesund.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel Brosundet is a gorgeous little boutique hotel converted from an old warehouse with fantastic staff. The décor is wonderful with soft dark greys, wood floors, copper surfaces, rustic beams, rough linen curtains, atmospheric lighting and lots of glass to appreciate the sunshine dancing on the water. The wet room pods were great, but would be tricky to negotiate if you were on the hefty side. To exit the shower you have to open the door inwards and step out into the bedroom, close the shower door and step back into the bathroom to continue teeth brushing etc. However, it was a fabulous shower, continuous silent extractor fan, and lovely Rem shampoos etc.

The bar is great, again with fabulous décor and a fantastic selection of the most unusual drinks. The restaurant was amazingly good, where we had a really delicious evening meal. Breakfasts were also very good especially the crushed fresh raspberries and strawberries - delicious! There was a hot breakfast as well if you wanted. Beware the strong coffee!

There's a pretty area outside where you can sit in the sun and watch the boats. In a few months they will have an outdoor restaurant/bar right on the water which will be great.

The staff were all good and extremely friendly and helpful. There are only two things which could have improved our stay; tea was not replenished in the room or dirty cups removed after cleaning, and the acoustic insulation is bad between the rooms which have a door between them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water front offer great views. We booked a weekend deal which makes it much more afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZazuGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

dear sir/madam

Thank your for taking time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Brosundet and our Restaurant Maki.
We have discussed internal your feedback and will make sure the mistakes never happens again.

Hope to see you again in Aalesund.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a beautiful, small boutique-ish hotel on the water front. The location is beautiful, but the drilling from the construction going on next to the hotel was a problem. There was no indication when we made the reservation for this hotel that there was construction going on. The noise was pretty loud and could occur duriing the day from 8-4pm. We weren't too happy about it, but we decided to give this place a try. We had booked a seaview room and were given a very nice room on the 4th floor. The bathroom was super small and only 1 person could fit in it at a time. The main problem with this room was it overlooked a very noisy area where the hotel bar sometime overflowed out on too. We could hear people talking until 3-4am. We were given the option of changing our room the following day and we chose a bigger room minus the seaview. The room was quieter and the bathroom was much bigger. The hotel staff was nice, but I'm not sure I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and avoid the rooms that overlook their front door that has a table where the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear sir/madam

I am sorry that the noise from the construction was bothering you. The drilling is over now and new guests should not worry.
Some of our rooms are a bit small, due to Hotel Brosundet being an older, listed building from 1907. I am glad my staff were able to change your room.
Hotel Brosundet is located in the center of Aalesud, and therefor noise from other bars and restaurants may occur.
I am really sorry that your stay did not fulfill your expectations, but I do hope to see you again in Ålesund and Hotel Brosundet.

Best Regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here! Isabel at the front desk was AMAZING!! She hand guided us through the map, helped us with dinner suggestions and a taxi and offered very helpful insider tips for navigating the Fjords. The downside was no parking but I'm still giving five stars because Isabel completely knocked our socks off! The bedroom was so comfy and the entire ambiance of the hotel rocked. The breakfast was very good as well! Hope to be back one day!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Lauren,

I totally agree. Isabell is amazing! I have shared your review with my staff.
Thank you so much for taking time to write these kind words.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived at this hotel after traveling for 24 hours. We were exhausted and so hungry, but were told there was no room at the restaurant and no room service was available. There was no parking and the reception was unhelpful at providing suggestions as to where to park. For the price, they should have valet. The breakfast was ok but the beds were very uncomfortable and resulted in two poor nights of sleep. The location on the canal is pretty but the rooms are hot. If you open the window, there is a lot of street noise. The bathroom was tiny and the shower leaked. I think there are better places to stay and Alesund. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMH_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sir,

I am really sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have two nearby parking garages and the receptionist should have informed you. We will go through our internal routines to make sure this never happens again.

Please send me an e-mail to christel@brosundet.no and I will try to make it up to you.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

A little tired on the outside but that makes entering a real surprise. Totally upgraded with a very nice touch. Rooms with thick wooden beams, but with a modern styling. Nice views on the canal and boats sailing by.

In one word superb in service, styling and food!

When in Alesund I will stay here again as this is nicely located in the centre.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Huuronzecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay.
We are building new meeting facilities and appologize for the outdoor mess.
The new facilies will be ready in october 2014.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

From you walk in the door and greeted from the wonderful receptionist you know this is a place you will enjoy. They are very attentive and take utmost care of you and your needs.
The bed is the best I've ever slept in and I'm considering getting one for my home. The room is very clean and beautiful and the location is perfect as it is in the middle of the city centre and walking distance to everything.
I would reccommend booking a table at the restaurant in advance. It is definitely worth it as the food is delicious and served in a lovely atmosphere. Don't be afraid to ask the waiters for advice on wine, they really know their stuff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. It costs a bit extra but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your kind words. I am really pleased to read your review.
Hope to see you again soon at Hotel Brosundet and Maki.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet

Address: Apotekergata 5, Alesund 6004, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alesund
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £106 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunnmore Alps The Sunnmore Alps and not least the ski resort Strandafjellet is voted Norway's powder paradise number one by many. It is not without a reason that both national and international magazines throughout all winter come all the way to Strandafjellet to produce articles. One card, several possibilities! This package contains the ski pass Alpepass, which is a joint lift card valid for 6 selected ski destinations in Western Norway. Snow enthusiasts of all ages thereby get access to among others: 29 ski lifts, more than 60 down hills, 800 metres drops, terrain parks, free riding, lots of snow and fun. In this way, you are free to choose yourself! Strandafjellet Skisenter, orsta Skisenter, Sunnmorsalpane Skiarena Fjellseter, Stordal Alpinsenter Arena Overoye, Stryn Skisenter, Harpefossen Skisenter. Please note that some of these ski resorts are closed on week days. Hotel Brosundet in alesund In the middle of the idyllic town of alesund you will find Hotel Brosundet - a little pearl offering something out of the ordinary. ”In all silence, alesund has got one of the most beautiful hotels in the country”. The newspaper Dagbladet, 24th of August 2008 The rooms are all designed by the architect company Snohetta in line with today's level of design and comfort. THe hotel is a perfect base for the quality-conscious who wants to stay comfortably, eat and drink well and have all facilities within reach – anyway, the mountains are just a small car drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brosundet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brosundet Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing