We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Norwegian fjords at Alesund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantica
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Norwegian fjords at Alesund”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If you want to discover Norwegian fjords and planned round trip to Norwegian cities, you will stay in one of the northern cities, such as Alesund. Our hotel is suited near the Atlantic Ocean. I liked the inner designs of the guest rooms and the restaurant. Also the staff are so kind and helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirling_Dervish_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    119
    47
    24
    4
See reviews for
42
87
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Had one night here on a round trip through Norway, summer 2009. Hotel looks like a design hotel, but the room was on the small side. Windows stuck or could not properly been opened. No wardrobe to put your things in, had to leave everything in the cases and bags. Breakfast was very good.
In our case parking was free (weekend!).
Would not recommend. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April70, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Traveller

Thanks for your review. We are very geatful for your comments in order to improve.

I am sorry to read that our hotel disappointed you when you stayed with us in 2009. The renovated rooms from 09, are small in size, but I can proudly inform that the entire hotel is now renovated and that we offer a lot of different room categories and sizes - and all rooms have wardrobes and shelves. Regarding the windows that you can not open fully, this is due to security reasons, and by asking the staff it is actually possible for us to open the lock for the guests that would like more air. Sorry for not informing you of this at check in.
Glad you liked the breakfast.

If you get the chance to visit Ålesund again, please contact us, and I believe you will be surprised over how the hotel has developed in a positive way.

All the best
Gyrid Eggen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is a very classy hotel. The rooms are very clean and nice. They made everything in the hotel very modern and they have renewed most of the hotel. They play classy music perfet for relaxing in the bar. The breakfast is also nothing to complain about. I have been to this hotel many times and will still use this one when I go back to Ålesund agian.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EirikD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I booked by booking.com. I had very very bad surprise when I opened the door of room!!! I paied for superior but room was very small and I find two near beds and not double bed!! Parking? there isn't!!!
he room is not very clean and the staff is not very friendly!!
too expensive more than €180 for night!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AeD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April70, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thanks for your comments regarding First Hotel Atlantica.
I am glad you liked the location of the hotel, og the other hand I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.

Regarding the rate you are referring to, that was due to high occupancy in the city of Ålesund and the same with parking. After 4 p.m until 09.a,m and in the weekends it is free parking in the streets and just around the corner we have two parkinghouses. I am sorry of you were not informed by front office staff.

When it comes to the hotel, we are under renovation, and as you probably saw, we have renovated the lobby, restaurant, conference area and some of the bedrooms. The rest of the hotel will be renovated this winter, and I believe it will be a fantastic hotel when we are finished.

Again I am very sorry for your impression of us, and if you ever come to Ålesund again, please contact the manager for a great deal and an upgrade.

Thanks for the comments,

All the best
Gyrid Eggen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Smelly carpets and gloomy lighting. Trying to open door to balcony - covered with gull-droppings - the window fell in. Yet a magnificent view of art-nouveau buildings and the canal from here. Good beds. Turning on the hot-water fawcett once the whole thing came off in my hand, water gushed for 10 minutes before I managed to screw it on again. Staff casual amateurs, yet genial, seemingly misunderstanding their role. Breakfast eaten with hellish motown-music, NO peace at a meal when one needs this, and staff 'forgetting' necessities like orange juice, fresh bread rolls, etc. Parking a hellish problem. Here you have to find a parkingplace cellar, 12 kr an hour - amazingly cheap, in Oslo its 50 kr an hour, well about US$8 - meaning that the bill for a day increases by 288 kr. This is shocking, but so much else is in overpriced Aalesund. A tip: ignore the ethnic eating places with frozen instead of fresh fish - yes, frozen fish, in a port and county that secured its wealth from fishing - and eat at welcoming Chinese or Italian places. Cheers, Vino Rosso

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senorbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Alesund is a great place and w had a great time but we regretted this boring overpriced pretension of a place.
This place reeks of "Boutique" hotel. Lots of trendy furniture but really just an overpriced, boxy holiday Inn.
The food was good- though we were squeezed in among cruise ship folks, and it was comfortable but not that quiet and no view to speak of. Again, it was convenient and we certainly enjoyed our stay but saw other, better places for less once we were there. Oh- and in spite of what they say- there is no parking. Parking is in a nearby very expensive public parking lot. We were there with Norwegian friends and they were embarrassed by the pretension of the place. Oh- and did I mention... "trendy” included some huge backlit pictures of female models covered in various forms of fish staring at us from the walls of the restaurant area. I like to write good reviews but this time- it is just not possible,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RangerDanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantica

Property: First Hotel Atlantica
Address: Rasmus Roennebergs gate 4, Alesund 6002, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Atlantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing