We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some minor improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantica
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Some minor improvements needed”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is well located next to the bus station. Rooms are big enough but the bath are not efficient. They look nice (modern) but have some lack. There is nothing to hold the towel and the shower is open, so everything gets wet in there.

Breakfast buffet is included, but has some major issues. It looks like they are understaffed, so you get lucky when a plate isn't empty (specially good luck with the bacon ;) !) You almost have to run everytime they refill a plate. This was quite annoying. Another thing that could be improved is the WiFi. It works with a 24 hours code and you have to create a username/password. So when staying for multiple days, you have to ask for another code, login etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear b-noy,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you liked our modern interior and the central location.

I am sorry to hear about your breakfast experience and I can assure you that this is not representative of the general guest experience at our hotel. We are continuously working on improving our breakfast in order to provide our guests with the best possible start of the day.

I am happy to inform you that we are currently working on changing our WIFI system in order to provide a hassle free log in for our guests.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    119
    47
    24
    4
See reviews for
42
87
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a great hotel. Good service, good breakfast, nice rooms, nice bathrooms and centrally located. For the money, it's a good value. On Friday night it was quite loud - we could hear partiers from our 3rd floor window for much of the night. They should think about investing in better noise reducing windows.

Room Tip: Pick a higher room to try and avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear highschoolband,

Thank you for your positive review and warm recommendations. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have rooms facing a quiet atrium, and would be happy to assign you with one of these on your next stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again at First Hotel Atlantica in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

On a weekend night is very nosy because everybody party. But the location is perfect, in the center. The room is a little dark because of the black floor. The bathroom's floor is heated and that is great. The breakfast is good, but not the coffee and is too bad because everything else is ok. The hotel has not a parking, but there are some parking spot around(charged parking).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihcojocaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear mihcojcaru,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recent stay with us.

I am happy to inform you that we just changed our coffee supplier so hopefully we will reach the full 5 point rating for your next visit 

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel has a central location with the airport bus stop and ferry terminals very close - less than 5 minute walk. The hotel has clearly been updated very recently with modern but minimalist decor. The room we had was 1400kr per night and was highly efficient on space ( ie small - doors open out to hallway and bathrooms that are about 1m by 2m). Wifi is free and works well plus a solid Norwegian buffet breakfast is included. Slight oddity is contact less door key gave us problems constantly (craving for the good old days of a real door key). Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking outer harbour can be a bit noisy. Be sure to ask about room size as some rooms mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Ardy12,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My apologies for the challenges you experienced with our key system. We have just recently upgraded the entire system in order to avoid such issues happening in the future.

Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We visited Alesund In June this year and stayed at this hotel for one night.
The hotel is very nice and modern, rooms the same. Very clean and comfortable. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice and good value for money. Hotel is close to the bus station (5 minutes) and a 10 minute walk from the harbour where all the boats and ferries leave from. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear 2Mike2,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.
My team and I appreciate your kind words about your stay with us!


With kind regards,

Stefanie Tuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise during the night outside the hotel. The window didn't close totally, we suppose that this was a problem of this room and not generally for the whole hotel.

The wifi worked not very well in our room, we only had a signal standing by the door. But we had to see a lot so there was no time to use it though.

When you go there you should definitely try to see sunset at the Aksla. Only 15 minutes by car or walk by stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Peter t,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

My apology that there obviously have been some challenges with the window and the internet connection in your room as the entire hotel is actually covered with WIFI.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future!

With kind regards,

Stefanie Tuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was in Alesund for a Conference last May (ECMS'2013) and this hotel was selected by travel agency. Proved to be a great one. Bedrooms are fantastic, really large and very confortable. I had a great view for the city. Breakfast is ok. Positive aspect is the coffe/tea machine available for free 24h. Service was good as well as cleaning.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms with no view. Ask one with view to the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jescalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear jesca_vcp,

We appreciate you making the effort sharing your nice review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All our beds at First Hotel Atlantica are actually from Jensen, one of the leading bed producers in Scandinavia. So I am glad to hear that you found our bedrooms comfortable.

Hope to welcome you back some day!

Kind regards,

Stefanie Tuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantica

Property: First Hotel Atlantica
Address: Rasmus Roennebergs gate 4, Alesund 6002, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Atlantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your First Hotel Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing