We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in expensive Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantica
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Fareham, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent value in expensive Norway”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you want a smart, clean and efficient place to stay, right in the heart of town almost next to the must-see Art Nouveau museum, this is a good choice. The hotel shuttle (115 kroner) will whisk you to the door from the airport, reception staff are friendly and speedy and the rooms are absolutely fine. The wifi is free and reliable and there's plenty of choice for breakfast. One small niggle, I missed out on the famous fresh waffles as there can be a queue for the one waffle maker, why not provide another? Particular praise for Rachel on reception who was especially helpful and friendly...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floors with a fjord view for attractive dawn views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    130
    53
    27
    6
See reviews for
50
99
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was here just this week for business, and staying at this hotel was such an enjoyable experience.

The location is great, being very close to the bus station, and close to the shopping areas all within close walking distance.

The rooms were of a high standard, especially considering the relative price for Aalesund. The rooms were very well cleaned each day, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The large flatscreen TV was also a nice bonus!.

I was very surprised that the wifi was extremely stable, and had a very useable speed.

Breakfast was great, with a large selection. I did read b-noy's review where he says about a rush for bacon, but I am pleased to say that the bacon was always very well stocked! ;) It is definitely no longer understaffed!!

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and always very helpful, and actually, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff which made we want to create an account and write a review.

The only downsides I can think of were that the room was somewhat dark, but it isn't really an issue as there are several floor and bedside lamps for reading etc.

Perhaps some free electrical sockets near to the table or bedside tables would be helpful for laptops, and phone chargers etc.

Also during the weekend, there is some noise from outside from people going to bars etc, but again I didn't find it to be much of a problem.

All in all a great stay, and I hope to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: I imagine higher rooms not facing the street with the fast food vendor would be quieter during weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a great hotel. Good service, good breakfast, nice rooms, nice bathrooms and centrally located. It's a good value for the money. No parking around so you need to walk to the car. The shower can be improved ....no door so the water goes outside.
The room was big enough for 4 & overlooked fjord

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night while doing the Geiranger & Norway in a Nutshell package. Price was reasonable. Room overlooked fjord & bus station. Very quiet....and dark. Not great lighting. Beds were comfortable, but then again I was exhausted. Breakfast was included and was very nice. Full European standard fare, plus a few hot items and a waffle station. The hotel was very accommodating about letting us leave our bags while we went on the Geiranger fjord tour and they let us hang out in their lobby, drinking the free coffee, until midnight, when we could leave for the coastal cruise. Overall, very satisfying and very centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is well located next to the bus station. Rooms are big enough but the bath are not efficient. They look nice (modern) but have some lack. There is nothing to hold the towel and the shower is open, so everything gets wet in there.

Breakfast buffet is included, but has some major issues. It looks like they are understaffed, so you get lucky when a plate isn't empty (specially good luck with the bacon ;) !) You almost have to run everytime they refill a plate. This was quite annoying. Another thing that could be improved is the WiFi. It works with a 24 hours code and you have to create a username/password. So when staying for multiple days, you have to ask for another code, login etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear b-noy,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you liked our modern interior and the central location.

I am sorry to hear about your breakfast experience and I can assure you that this is not representative of the general guest experience at our hotel. We are continuously working on improving our breakfast in order to provide our guests with the best possible start of the day.

I am happy to inform you that we are currently working on changing our WIFI system in order to provide a hassle free log in for our guests.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a great hotel. Good service, good breakfast, nice rooms, nice bathrooms and centrally located. For the money, it's a good value. On Friday night it was quite loud - we could hear partiers from our 3rd floor window for much of the night. They should think about investing in better noise reducing windows.

Room Tip: Pick a higher room to try and avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear highschoolband,

Thank you for your positive review and warm recommendations. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have rooms facing a quiet atrium, and would be happy to assign you with one of these on your next stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again at First Hotel Atlantica in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

On a weekend night is very nosy because everybody party. But the location is perfect, in the center. The room is a little dark because of the black floor. The bathroom's floor is heated and that is great. The breakfast is good, but not the coffee and is too bad because everything else is ok. The hotel has not a parking, but there are some parking spot around(charged parking).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihcojocaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieTuma, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear mihcojcaru,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recent stay with us.

I am happy to inform you that we just changed our coffee supplier so hopefully we will reach the full 5 point rating for your next visit 

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantica

Property: First Hotel Atlantica
Address: Rasmus Roennebergs gate 4, Alesund 6002, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Atlantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing