We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable view”

Fjellstua Viewpoint
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable view”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The view of the town, fjords, high mountains, islands and even the ocean is just Incredible. the food in the cafeteria or the restaurant is very good. during the summer season it might be noisy because of all the cruise passengers visiting the cafeteria.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 669arild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    231
    25
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

As expected, the world-known view from Aksla and Fjellstua is spectacular.
The owner and manager of this restaurant however seems to resent people in general. They close the kitchen before closure time, charge you for a toilet visit, and even charge you for a glass of tap water.
If you bring your own water, you'll be chased out, as you're not allowed to eat or drink anything not bought there.
In addition to these strict rules, the owner communicates them in a very non-service-minded manner, and makes you feel quite un-welcome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vedjy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
707 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent view of wonderful Alesund”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Walk the steps up from the city to view everything from above. This viewpoint has a wonderful view of Alesund and the surrounding area. You can look to the west and see islands of Giske and Godoy which are interesting in their contrast - Giske is low (a glacial moraine) and Godoy is a rocky block. Old German fortifications are also on the top of the hill. In the summertime there are lots of flowers. Don't let the stairs deter you from the view. Additional hiking trails along the hilltop can be found. Flowers and trees abound in the summer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely a must see”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were here in January, and there didn't seem to be a bus running, but we would have walked anyway. Every time we turned a corner, the view was better than the last. The cafe wasn't open. I guess they shut during winter, but we had the place moe or less to ourselves. The 360 view from the very top was nothing short of breathtaking and there are even a couple of WW2 bunkers up there. Not to be missed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Leslie4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Just like any observatory on a hill”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just like any observatory on a hill, and pricey at that!
I would not say it was bad, but seriously, nothing more than a view, and boring up there once you have soaked in the views.
For the price I paid, it was not fantastic, and I would not go back a second time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eteo232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fjellstua Viewpoint also viewed

Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 

Been to Fjellstua Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing