We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with wonderful views”
Review of Scandic Seilet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Seilet
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Molde
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable with wonderful views”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for four nights and nothing to complain about (apart from prices, but that's more a reflection of the country than the hotel!). Magnificent views of the fjords and great service from the staff. The breakfast buffet is epic and we were supplied with a breakfast bag at out 5 am check out. Underfloor heating in the bathroom helps thaw frozen feet!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have fabulous views of the fjords
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanArmyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    217
    76
    39
    16
See reviews for
84
181
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel in November 2013. Weather was cold, snowy and icy outside but temperature throughout hotel was maintained at comfortable level. Staff were very polite throughout and helpful. Single room was just that but had enough space to get around, desk and armchair. All quite reasonable room wise clean and functional with just a few minor things missed and power to the sockets a bit intermittent (which was annoying). Hotel resto was OK for breakfast and the spread was very good selection of hot and cold options, The Sky bar on the top floor was quite pleasant as well with superb views over the fjord. Hotel is located about 100m from the Aker Stadion and maybe 4-500m from the main town area - but wherever you are, you will not be so far from the centre of town. Would certainly stay here again and main thing to put me off is the single room rate of £125 - but I suppose this is Norway after all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friendly staff, both at front desk and in restaurants. Rather untypical Norwegian. Service level is really high. Food, especially the lamb shank, is great. Do not go for the house wine. Like most red wine in the country, it will be too warm (22 degr celcius +). Instead, ask the waiter kindly to open a new bottle. Nice gym located in neighbor building, smaller gym in hotel. Rooms are quiet. Nice view from some of them. Ask for sea view, so your eyes will not get polluted by the awful architecture in the city. Nice nature, awful architecture.

Room Tip: Ask for room with anything but city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is my third stay at Seilet over the last two years. The staff is always friendly and the rooms facing the fjord are great. The bathrooms may come out a bit dated but they are clean and well maintained. Do not miss the breakfast, one of the best you´ll get in Norway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoon, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel looks stunning from the outside and has great views.
Unfortunately that is where it ends.

Room : not clean
Restaurant staff : unfriendly and rude
Food : left overs from day before
On checkout the girl at reception completely ignored us.

Safety issue in the room is that the window can be opened too far !
The extra (child) bed/sofa is right in front of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planlandweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel could be the worst in the world cause the nature around it would still leave you with the memory that it was fantastic. But the hotel is not the worst in the world. It's a really good hotel with nice bars and clean moderns rooms. AND with a view to kill for!

Friendly staff and all you need from a hotel. The short walk to the "city centre" is a walk that woth anything.

Room Tip: The rooms facing outwards from the city have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Rica Seilet Hotel is not the only hotel in Molde, but is certainly the best situated, right on the edge of a fiord, almost leaning over the water. The large lobby area contains a bar, but the best setting for a drink is on the top floor with magnificent views over the water and distant mountains. Rooms are well appointed, although somewhat limited in storage space for clothing, which could be a problem for stays beyond a single night. Bathrooms have a shower cubicle rather than a bath, and the shower attachment on ours fell apart. There was a settee next to the window to sit on and simply gaze at the views
Staff are very friendly, letting us use a computer terminal to check-in online for our flights the next day. The airport bus picks-up two minutes walk from the hotel.
In the evening we ate in town, a few minutes walk away, past the Molde FK football stadium which is right next to the hotel. Unlike many Norwegian towns, there are actually a couple of bars where you can drink, at a price, as well as several eateries. The hotel breakfast spread is one of the best I have ever seen in all my travels! We did not even have time to take it all in before we had to leave for our flight, and the was even a full 'chef' in whites on hand to rustle up omelettes. If I was going to Molde again, I would certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the fiord, but some have larger windows. The higher, the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molde
0.2 mi away
Hotell Molde Fjordstuer
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Moldefjord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hustadvika Gjestegard
Hustadvika Gjestegard
#1 of 1 in Farstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Aak
Hotel Aak
#1 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Seilet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Seilet

Property: Scandic Seilet
Address: Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Molde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Molde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Seilet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb view of the surrounding mountains, Scandic Seilet hotel is centrally located next to Molde Stadium and just a short walk from the center of Molde. Our restaurant Seilet on the 2nd floor serves a generous breakfast as well as lunch and dinner and offers a fantastic view of the Romsdalsfjorden. You can enjoy drinks and the amazing view from the Masta Skybar and terrace on the 15th floor and on the 1st floor we also have a lobby bar near the waterfront. We can organise everything from meetings to concerts in our well equipped conference facilities. Keep in shape during your stay, visit our gym and relax in our sauna. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Seilet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Seilet Molde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing