We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best View in Norway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sogn og Fjordane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Sogn og Fjordane
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best View in Norway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Viki Fjordcamping has in my opinion the best view in all Norway. Cabins face the beautiful Sognefjord with direct views of the magnificent Feigumfossen waterfall on the other side. To enjoy such a view from your cabin is an amazing experience! The site is accessible by car, we took the bus from Bergen and collected a hire car in Kaupanger.

The site offers a range of different size cabins, ranging from top of the range two bedroom ones with TV, kitchem bathroom and balcony to much more basic ones with just some bunk beds and a fridge and hot plate. There is also plenty of space for camper vans and tents. We stayed in one of the two best ones which are numbers 12 and 13 There is a new shower and toilet complex for campers on the site plus a kitchen area. Motor boats and canoes are available for hire from the campsite. The owner, Svein Arne, speaks English and German and usually comes around in the evening to collect the rent. He is very friendly and helpful in every way. You can book a cabin in advance or just show up and look for a cabin with the word LEDIG (vacant) on a sign beside the door. The key will be in the door and you just move in. However to be sure of a good cabin book in advance.

You can buy food etc in the supermarkets in Gaupne, a village about 10 minutes drive up the road. You really do need a car to get around in this area. Gaupne also has a new swimming pool, banks etc. The town of Sogndal, about 40 minutes drive away, is also worth a visit.

The views above all make this place very special. We will be back again soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Cabins 12 and 13 are the best ones, best to book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryG_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived at this place early in the day and saw nobody around. There was a sign in the window telling us to look around at the cottages with a key in the door and no sign telling us "Occupied" . When we found the cabin of our choice we just removed the key and put up the "occupied" sign. The manager came in the afternoon at 8 o'clock to pick up the rent. Convenient and very rare nowadays. There are at least 4 different sizes and qualities of cabins. You pick what's available and suits you best. The location is outstanding with the cabins built straight on the rocks and with a view across the fjord to a very impressive waterfall and magnificent mountains. I absolutely recommends this place! Canoes and boats for rent..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IverHamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of September 2012. It was beautiful! The weather very fall-like, the leaves had just turned. We did not arrive until late in the evening after driving from Oslo, much later than we had expected. When we arrived we were a little confused about checking in and started to make a call on the pay phone to the number listed for the owner's house, when the owner pulled up in his tractor full of sheep he was taking to market. He was very friendly and been concerned about why we were so late, so concerned that he had even called my boyfriend's grandmother to try and get in touch with us. So sweet and thoughtful! We had our pick of the adorable cabins and settled in 11, which had an excellent view of the falls across the fjord.
For several days, #11 was our home base as we explored the area- visited Stave churches, hiked up to the glacier, went on lots of scenic drives, hiked to the waterfall. We brought groceries but also visited the grocery in Gaupne, which was about 15 minutes away by car. We cooked all our meals in the cabin, which was great.
This place was just perfect for us. A little out of the way but totally worth it. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Munich
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've been to Viki Fjordcamping about 15 times in the last few years. To my amazement there are only two reviews posted on TA with the last one being rather dated.
Time for an update.
Viki Fjordcamping is located on the north side of Lusterfjord between the small towns of Gaupne and Luster. The setting right on the fjord couldn't be more spectacular. From the balcony of your cabin you have the perfect view over the water. The only sounds you will hear are the waves and the roaring downpour of Veigumfossen waterfall at the opposite shore.
Viki Fjordcamping offers a wide range of cabins of all standards from the ordinary camping hut to very well equipped cabins of high standard (number 11, 12 and 13) including kitchen, indoor bathroom, sat-tv and several sleeping rooms.
The owner, Svein-Arne, is fluent in German and English and one of the most helpful and friendly hosts I've ever met on my trips. Only recently he has invested in a brandnew and high standard washroom building for the guests who stay in the more basic cabins.
WiFi is available but the signal is only reliable in the cabins close to the reception.
If you're looking for a unique, laidback and yet almost undiscovered part of Norway, this is the place.

Room Tip: Finding the room that meets your needs best is very easy. Just check them out. There's a sign ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed in the smallest of the cabins offered by Viki camping. It had two tiny bunk beds, a small table, two folding chairs, a small fridge, and a hotplate. Because we had no car, we had no pots and pans so could not utilise the hotplate. We were able to travel around the surrounding area with relative ease due to the infrequent bus service and also the usage of the Viki boats. There were many boats available - canoes, pedal boats, motorboats, and rowboats. These are very useful as there is a big waterfall located opposite Viki on the opposite side of the fjord and it saves the 40 minute drive round.
It is a great location for families and for romantic getaways if you are looking for the basics in accommodation but more in terms of the location.
Also, the owner is very friendly and went out of his way to help us with any queries we had.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

Cabin rental simply doesn't get any better than this. Viki Fjordcamping is a very small cabin and camping complex built directly over the rocks that form the edge of Lusterfjord. The setting is absolutely breathtaking, and the rates are reasonable.

I'm attaching three photos to this review, which I hope will help the place speak for itself.

Reservations were easy through the Viki Fjordcamping [-------] The owner was as kind and helpful as could be, both before and during our stay. The location is between the small towns of Luster and Gaupne, with each one only a few miles away, so it's easy to get to a bank, restaurant, grocery store, or whatever else you need.

Each cabin unit is built into the sharp mountainside at the edge of the water. From the back of a unit, you walk in at ground level. From the front of a unit, you sit on a high balcony built on stilts, looking out over the water of the fjord toward the waterfall on the facing mountainside. The fronts of the cabins are loaded with windows so that you don't have to miss out on the gorgeous view in uncooperative weather.

The interiors are pine from floor to ceiling, which is very cozy and befitting of the location. The furnishings are comfortably utilitarian and also befitting. Nothing is tacky or tattered, but neither is it luxurious. You can bring your own linens or rent them for a small charge.

Our kitchenette was well stocked with the dishes and utensils we needed for a few days of meals, and the refrigerator was big enough to hold the groceries we bought. Given the cost of eating out in Norway, making daytime sandwiches and cooking dinners in the cabin saved us over $25 per person, per day.

We were in a unit with its own bathroom, which was big with a large shower and good water pressure. But a very small single-unit water heater did create a need for strategically timed showers.

On warm nights, you can open the windows and sleep to the sound of the waterfall crashing on the other side of the fjord. For cool nights, there is a heating unit.

There are boats and a variety of water toys available, but we can't comment on those because an unusally late spring kept us off the water during our stay.

We were surprised to find that it was requested that we clean the cabin for the next guests before leaving. There are mops and vaccuum cleaners provided with the cabin for this purpose. We weren't offended, just surprised because we've never encountered that anywhere before.

If you are going to be in the Lusterfjord area, stay here, stay here, stay here!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank sensibility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sogn og Fjordane hotels
9.4 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
3.0 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
16.7 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#3 of 5 in Luster Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nes Gard
Nes Gard
#1 of 1 in Hoyheimsvik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins

Property: Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins
Address: N-6875 Hoyheimsvik | Luster, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Sogn og Fjordane
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Viki Fjordcamping And Cabins Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing