We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but sufficient”

Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stavanger
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Hamburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Basic but sufficient”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Pretty house from the outside, spacious but old fashioned rooms inside. We had a double room with two single beds, sofa, desk and a washbasin, all neat and tidy but a bit run-down. Quite noisy with the sound of clapping doors and flushing water. The shared toilets and showers are small and basic. Friendly staff and nice breakfast buffet, kitchen can be used for self catering during the rest of the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed June 2012. Welcoming B&B, good location, friendly host, tasty breakfast. Shared toilet and shower but they did the job just fine. Our room was spacious but not especially clean, with cloth falling off the seats and many areas obviously not dusted for a very long time!

Perhaps more concerning was the blood-stained sheet. When I pointed it out, the guy apologised profusely and gave me another 'clean' one from the cupboard - which I immediately pointed out was also obviously blood-stained! He then looked puzzled (wondering as to why the sheets were all blood-stained) and gave me a third sheet. By the time we'd left, after 4 nights, the clean ones were also blood-stained. There is only one thing that reliably causes sheets to become blood-stained, and that is bedbugs. Anyway, in other respects it was good so it gets 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i stayed 2 nights in this B&B in end of june 2011, when traveling with a friend to see Preikestolen.
The place is perfectly located from train station (just 5 min - but uphill :). Also the bus to airport you can pick up from Radisson Blu hotel, just 3-4 min down from this B&B. The ferry for the Tau, and bus to Preikestolen was also close. The breakfast (from 8 a.m.) costed 60 NOK additional. The double room costed 835 NOK per night. The breakfast was good, as special person of this hotel "Robert" (funny guy from Sweden) is very good chef and nice man to speak with. You can also make sandwiches from breakfast for hike to Preikestolen. Keep in mind that hike to Preikestolen - is a real mountain hike - so my tip would to take many clothes (WATER RESISTABLE) and GOOD SHOES.
The room was furnished in old style (with old small TV set), there was a sink in the room, toilet and shower room are on corridors. There you can also get towels.
I had a perfect sleep in the room, the atmosphere is very good there, and style of the building - is like you live in old norwegian house. Can recommend the place, definitely - if you are looking for smth cozy and cute, and close to center.

Room Tip: write an email, and tell what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here in May, after phoning or emailing every other hotel in central Stavanger, to be told they were full. I was a bit dubious before we arrived but very pleased when we left. There are shared bathrooms, and I concluded that feature had been unacceptable to those who filled the other hotels. This hotel is just a bit south of the waterfront and the lake in Stavanger, very handy to both train and bus stations and consequently good for us since we came into town on a bus and left on the train. We had a large room, two twin beds plus couch, and our own washbasin in a smaller room adjoining. Toilets and showers a few steps away, spotlessly clean. The breakfast included omelets which the innkeeper kept replenishing as guests filled their plates, the best freshly cooked eggs we had in Norway. Our room was one of several - I think three - off a sitting area on the second floor, which meant we have even more space to sit, read, check email, etc. I think our room might be uncomfortably warm in hot weather, though there is some cross ventilation. No air conditioning. The rate was very reasonable. I'd certainly stay at the Rogalandsheimen again, were I in Stavanger.

Room Tip: The upstairs is spacious. Third floor might be too much of a haul with luggage. I did not see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Free wi-fi, free parking, quite cheap for stavanger. Super-breakfast. What else do you need to stay for 1 night? =)

p.s.: bathroom and toilet are on the floor =(

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this traditional little B&B in April. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom and toilet. Its housed in a very old, traditional house, within 5-10mins walk of the Stavangar Old Town. Its very old-fashioned and a bit shabby around the edges, but its clean, its central and its cosy. The breakfast is a buffet style 'eat as much as you like' affair. Good selections of cereals, toast, preserves, cheese, luncheon meats, omlette, fried eggs, devilled eggs with tea and freshly brewed coffee (available from the dining room 24/7). We put a massive dent in the buffet and it set us up perfectly for our hike up to Pulpit Rock! Its also good value considering the expense of Norway. I recommend making the breakfast the biggest meal of the day so as to save even more money on eating out.

Enjoyable and I'd recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeds881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 with my husband and his parents who were over visiting us in Norway from Australia. We all loved this guesthouse, particularly the extremely warm welcome from the owners. We found the breakfast excellent - varied and substantial - we can particularly recommend the freshly-cooked omelette (set us up for our walk up Pulpit Rock!) This is not a modern, boutique-style place, the style is shabby-chic and there are no ensuites, though there are sinks in the rooms. We did not find this inconvenient, and really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of this B&B. In my view, it is great value and a lovely place to stay. Location is 5 mins max walk from Stavanger train station and approx 10 mins to the centre of town. English spoken fluently by the owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibertyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.2 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#22 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
0.7 mi away
Skansen Hotel
Skansen Hotel
#25 of 28 in Stavanger
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#16 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Stavanger
Comfort Hotel Stavanger
#19 of 28 in Stavanger
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri

Property: Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
Address: Musegata 18, Stavanger 4010, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing