We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff and clean rooms”

Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stavanger
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good value for money in a busy tourist town. It is well located, walking distance to the port, two supermarkets, train/bus stop and shops/cafe. You can use the hotel kitchen to cook your own evening meal or eat out. The breakfast is simple and sufficient, with good strong coffee! We stayed in a big clean room with the shared showers and toilets near by. The place is a fantastic old large house and we hardly saw the other guests (place full) so no issues with waiting for showers or toilets. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nina977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I'm staying here in April 2013. From the bus/train station, which is located in the outskirts of town, on the south end, this hotel is located by walking up the metal stairway between the train station (on the right) and the bus station (on the left) and walk out through the upstairs parking lot until you are on Olav V's gate. From there, you can turn left and take the underpass to get to the other side of the very busy street, where the street name becomes Musegate. If you're in the Rogaland Teater plaza, you're at the right place. Then you need to walk to the west, out to Musegate again, and walk two blocks to the left, on the left side of the street, past the Stavanger Museum and it's next door to the yellow Stavanger Museum office building. It's a white, two-story building, and the sign is clearly posted outside.

From the bus/train stations, on the other side of the lake, is the civic center, which the Norwegians call the Sentrum. This is the main shopping area of town (the downtown shopping area), so you are not far from there—only a few blocks away. Among the eating-places are Burger King, McDonalds, an eating-place named, PotetBaker’n, (which means “the Potato Baker”) that sells stuffed baked potatoes, and there are various other eating-places scattered throughout the Sentrum. There are also a couple 7-11s there, and in the heart of the Sentrum, across from McDonald's, is the Kulturhallen (the Culture Hall), where you will find the library and the movie theater. There are also a couple grocery stores there too.

If you are a sightseer and like to visit old buildings, your first visit should be the Domkirke (the Dome Church, or Cathedral). This has some history to it as it was built in the early 1500s and it became the headquarters for the first Lutheran Church after they moved here from Germany, and became the State Church of Norway.

On the west end of the Sentrum is another old building to see. It is an old lighthouse building, not for ships to come in, but when there was a fire, the night watchman would climb up the building and place a lantern in the window that faces the fire and then ring the fire bell. Then as the volunteer firefighters woke up and went outside, they could know which part of the city had the fire by looking up to the lighthouse.

A fjord comes in on the west side of town. On the west side of that fjord, is an area named, “Gamle Stavanger” (Old Stavanger). Most of the city was burned by the Germans as they left the town at the end of WWII, and Gamle Stavanger is the only part of town that wasn’t burned by them, so it is the oldest part of town.

There are several things to see here if you’re a sightseer, but one thing you would not want to miss, if you come in the summertime, is “Prekestolen” or “Preikestolen”. This name means “the Pulpit Rock” because it looks like a huge preacher’s pulpit that sticks out on the side of a cliff. It is an almost flat piece of rock that is approximately 82 feet by 82 feet (25 meters by 25 meters) and it stands about 1982 feet (604 meters) above the fjord below. From up there, one can get a breathtaking view! A huge cruise ship looks like a toy boat and the people on it look like ants. Be sure to take your camera with you! Notwithstanding that it is a 2.4 mile (3.8 km) hike up the backside of a rather steep mountain (there are benches along the way) it is still the most famous and most visited tourist attraction in all of Norway which is visited by ca. 150,000-200,000 people each year. The hotel staff here would be happy to give you information as to how to get there. Don’t miss it!

The room I'm staying in, #5 is a bit small to my liking and there is no toilet or shower in the room, but I'm not complaining about that. The room is nice and cozy, there is a window to open for fresh air, and a very well working wall heater to keep you warm when the window is closed. (It's cold outside!) In the room, you will find a single bed with a nightstand next to it, a desk and chair, a nicely padded chair to sit in, and there is a sink in the room at the foot of the bed.

There is a bathroom just outside the room and to the left, and the showers are upstairs, each with the sink cabinet stocked with hand towels and shower towels. They do not have washcloths here, so if you need one, you'll need to bring your own, as I have done. There is a TV, a cable TV box, and a DVD player upstairs in the TV room too. It's very nice. It has a three-seat sofa, two nicely padded living-room swivel chairs, a coffee table, and a table with four chairs.

Breakfast is served downstairs in the dining room in the early-morning hours and Tor Henning makes sure that there are enough cold cuts to make sandwiches, and he keeps making his world-famous omelets as people eat them up, "and they go like pancakes". I happened to be here on a day in which Liv, whom Tor-Henning called “Norway’s best baker”, baked a delicious orange cake. That tasted very delicious!

Although breakfast is the only meal served (which is a continental breakfast and Tor-Henning's omelets), the kitchen and dining room are always open. There is a small refrigerator on the second floor, but it is for all to use, so I would recommend that you buy your daily food each day at a nearby grocery store (Rema 1000), just above the bus station, as you need it. There are also two other stores, as I mentioned above, that are in the Sentrum. Their prices are close to each other, but if you cannot find what you want at Rema 1000, maybe you can find it at one of the other stores. One of the grocery stores (Rimi) is located next to Burger King, on the west-end of the Sentrum, and the other (Prix) is located on the east end, across from the shopping center called Stavanger Storsenter (Large Center), which is otherwise known as Arkaden.

I said earlier that I'm not complaining about not having a shower and toilet in my room. That's because the staff are so nice and kind that that more than makes up for that little inconvenience. All of them have bent over backwards to make my stay most pleasant, and I WILL be staying here again notwithstanding that it doesn't have private toilets or showers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlackBart1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Pretty house from the outside, spacious but old fashioned rooms inside. We had a double room with two single beds, sofa, desk and a washbasin, all neat and tidy but a bit run-down. Quite noisy with the sound of clapping doors and flushing water. The shared toilets and showers are small and basic. Friendly staff and nice breakfast buffet, kitchen can be used for self catering during the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed June 2012. Welcoming B&B, good location, friendly host, tasty breakfast. Shared toilet and shower but they did the job just fine. Our room was spacious but not especially clean, with cloth falling off the seats and many areas obviously not dusted for a very long time!

Perhaps more concerning was the blood-stained sheet. When I pointed it out, the guy apologised profusely and gave me another 'clean' one from the cupboard - which I immediately pointed out was also obviously blood-stained! He then looked puzzled (wondering as to why the sheets were all blood-stained) and gave me a third sheet. By the time we'd left, after 4 nights, the clean ones were also blood-stained. There is only one thing that reliably causes sheets to become blood-stained, and that is bedbugs. Anyway, in other respects it was good so it gets 3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank as530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i stayed 2 nights in this B&B in end of june 2011, when traveling with a friend to see Preikestolen.
The place is perfectly located from train station (just 5 min - but uphill :). Also the bus to airport you can pick up from Radisson Blu hotel, just 3-4 min down from this B&B. The ferry for the Tau, and bus to Preikestolen was also close. The breakfast (from 8 a.m.) costed 60 NOK additional. The double room costed 835 NOK per night. The breakfast was good, as special person of this hotel "Robert" (funny guy from Sweden) is very good chef and nice man to speak with. You can also make sandwiches from breakfast for hike to Preikestolen. Keep in mind that hike to Preikestolen - is a real mountain hike - so my tip would to take many clothes (WATER RESISTABLE) and GOOD SHOES.
The room was furnished in old style (with old small TV set), there was a sink in the room, toilet and shower room are on corridors. There you can also get towels.
I had a perfect sleep in the room, the atmosphere is very good there, and style of the building - is like you live in old norwegian house. Can recommend the place, definitely - if you are looking for smth cozy and cute, and close to center.

Room Tip: write an email, and tell what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here in May, after phoning or emailing every other hotel in central Stavanger, to be told they were full. I was a bit dubious before we arrived but very pleased when we left. There are shared bathrooms, and I concluded that feature had been unacceptable to those who filled the other hotels. This hotel is just a bit south of the waterfront and the lake in Stavanger, very handy to both train and bus stations and consequently good for us since we came into town on a bus and left on the train. We had a large room, two twin beds plus couch, and our own washbasin in a smaller room adjoining. Toilets and showers a few steps away, spotlessly clean. The breakfast included omelets which the innkeeper kept replenishing as guests filled their plates, the best freshly cooked eggs we had in Norway. Our room was one of several - I think three - off a sitting area on the second floor, which meant we have even more space to sit, read, check email, etc. I think our room might be uncomfortably warm in hot weather, though there is some cross ventilation. No air conditioning. The rate was very reasonable. I'd certainly stay at the Rogalandsheimen again, were I in Stavanger.

Room Tip: The upstairs is spacious. Third floor might be too much of a haul with luggage. I did not see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Free wi-fi, free parking, quite cheap for stavanger. Super-breakfast. What else do you need to stay for 1 night? =)

p.s.: bathroom and toilet are on the floor =(

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.7 mi away
Skansen Hotel
Skansen Hotel
#26 of 27 in Stavanger
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#22 of 27 in Stavanger
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri

Address: Musegata 18, Stavanger 4010, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £4 - £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing