We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staggering geography right by the ship”
Review of Lysefjord

Lysefjord
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Athens GA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Staggering geography right by the ship”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The deep Lysefjord and sheer rock faces present a close-up view of the geography of the glacial retreat. The awesome feelings are intensified as the ship sails below famous Pulpit Rock high above. The occasional goat, small among the rocks, give a perspective as to the tremendous size of the walls of the fjord. One mammoth rock sitting out against the moon in the daylight gave evidence of the history of granite seen everywhere in the streets of coastal Norway. An excellent opportunity not to be forgotten.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensBulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    196
    24
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
302 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great boat tour of Lysefjord!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful boat tour of the fjord on a fairly small boat. We had an opportunity to get up close to the fjord walls, including Pirate's cove. We saw the impressive Pulpit Rock from the below. Incredible. Our tour guide spoke English perfectly and was delightful.
Our tour included feeding the goats (indigenous, but obviously waiting for their daily treats offered by the boat guides) and a stop at a wonderful little restaurant, dockside, for delicious waffles with local strawberry jam.
Of all our trip, this was our favorite little adventure! Couldn't get enough of the awesome, literally, scenery. Just beautiful!! Even the most jaded traveller could not help but be blown away by the grandeur! Well worth your time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LLCJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
257 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The boat ride is well worth it”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

You get a view of the Lysefjord from the boat that is simply wonderful. The small boats can get into some of the tight turns of the fjord, plus the view from below to the Pulpit above is simply amazing. The ride can get bumpy at times, but there are numerous hand rails to hold onto.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A must do on a trip to Stavanger. Catch the boat right on the harbor and make sure to bring your camera.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kofekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Scenic and beautiful Lyseford”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We strolled along the harbour front at Stavanger and joined a boat cruise to enjoy a scenic ride through the Stavanger Archipelago into the Lysefjord. Cutting a path of almost 65 kilometres into the country, the fjord is flanked by steep mountains. This was dramatic scenery and have the camera ready as you proceed through the lysefjord to one of Norway's spectacular wonders,Preikestolen, the Pulpit Rock. This boat trip was amazing and memorable and the scenery just awe inspiring, it is a must to do in Stavanger. Another great experience was watching the mountain goats meeting us as the boat pulled up to the side of the mountain and being fed much to all our delight.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lysefjord also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Forsand Municipality, Rogaland
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Lysefjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing