We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist but a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Minimalist but a good experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Comfort Hotel Square is my preferred accommodation whenever I'm in Stavanger. The hotel has a minimalist style - the bedrooms have choice of wooden or carpeted floors, and the walls are polished concrete. The rooms are small but well-equipped, with free wireless which is reasonably fast. Unusually there is no room-service dining option, but the local pizza restaurant (Dolly Dimples) will deliver to the room. Free tea and coffee is available from the lobby. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel down to the harbour, and it you get an upper-floor room facing the harbour there are some quite nice views of Stavanger, though the windows are quite small so nothing panoramic! During July and (I think) August, the restaurant in the lobby is closed in the evening mainly due to the low levels of trade during the summer months. Breakfast is Scandanavian style, and the room gets very busy when the hotel is full, so get there early or late to avoid a wait for a seat. The staff are very relaxed and friendly, though arguably the staffing levels are a little "lean." Overall the hotel is a good place to stay if you don't need/want all the bells and whistles of a bigger hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour-facing is better for natural light. The internal facing rooms on the lower floors can be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gflyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    296
    113
    41
    13
See reviews for
70
233
49
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The first impression of the hotel was quite positive: good location, friendly staff, complimentary coffee and tea available in the lobby at all times. The room was a bit small and dark, but at least the windows were soundproof and the curtains thick (which is very important during the summer). Unfortunately our opinion of the hotel was getting worse each day of our stay. It seems that the cleaning service did not do their job well, the layer of dust on the furniture was thicker and thicker, not to mention the windows; I would never invite any guests to my place if my windows looked like those in the hotel. Interestingly enough, the towels smelled of vinegar. The final nail in the coffin was the departure. We were staying in the hotel during Gladmat, so obviously we bought some regional products including cheese and sausages. Because there was no mini bar in the room, I asked the receptionist if it was possible to store them till our departure. She said it was no problem. However, during the check out, it turned out that 3 of the delicious sausages were missing. After 15 mins of waiting for the receptionist to find them, we had to give up and leave for the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myluny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our second Comfort Hotel in Norway. Most central, situated at a height with the town centre on one side and the business center on the other side. Very convenient but we had to pay to park the car. Breakfast, coffee and tea in the lobby and comfortable rooms. This chain of hotels seemed to grow on us and we found we were first looking for a Comfort Hotel for our next destination there on, and happy if we got one. Recommended any time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NeerjaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Location is good, very close to city center. The rooms are ok (we stayed in one of the bigger rooms), but a little dusty. The breakfast was really disappointing! First, there were very few tables, so people had to wait for a long time. We traveled with a little child, so this was a huge drawback. Second, the selection of food was limited, and with approx. 30 minutes left before closing time the staff did not bring out new food. Apart for the reception, the staff does not speak Norwegian.

We will try another hotel the next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFr0mN0rway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

OK... firstly, the staff at the front desk were lovely but the room was very small for two people but still at the standard price.
As you may see from other reviews I have wrote, it is rare that i give a poor hotel review but I could not let a couple of things go. Not only were the rooms small but the bar was closed most evenings (which was a big shame as I like a nightcap) even on a Saturday night!
On the positive side, this hotel is situated close by the center (5mins walk up a steep hill) and the art is nice.
Would I stay here again? no, I would probably try theThon or Rica hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishRichInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Although I choose Stavanger for a overnight stay to a Lysefjord cruise, this hotel was a very nice surprise, with good service, attentious staff, location and several aspects of design that call attention - from the roof, to the elevators to the bedroom lights, various items were specially designed. It is a good option for those travelling throughout the wonderful Norway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gljamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a decent, nice hotel.

Positives:
- Nice, clean room. Nice, clean bathroom; shower with good water pressure
- Clean, modern reception area
- Good breakfast buffet
- 24 hour free coffee and tea in the lobby, and snack fridge (not free) for late night snacks
- Nice gym (which was always completely empty)
- Short walking distance (5 minutes) to the heart of downtown Stavanger

This is not what I would consider a luxury hotel, but a very good and nice above-basic hotel.
For instance, the breakfast is good, but with rather basic choices. The rooms are nice, but not very luxurious, and the bathrooms are clean, but without any toiletries.

Ultimately I would stay here again. The location was fantastic, and I was very happy with the room and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Property: Comfort Hotel Square
Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Free organic coffee in the lobby area 24/7 for all staying guests. Flatscreen television with connection to iPod and PC/Mac. We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -10 am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing