We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A good surprise”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I go twice a year to Stavanger but I booked this trip late and could not get in anywhere and somebody booked this as the only available and was worried.
The welcome was great and the reception staff (the guys) were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were modern and clean with a great bathroom and superb shower.
No fridge no safe but that was not a problem to me. A chair and table provided was unnecessary as there was a superb desk. Lift great. The walk to the harbour is 5 minutes away with new and old favourite restaurants but getting back is up hill / steps. So walk down and taxi back. In the busy mornings Taxis are close by. BUT the breakfast is absolutely superb and well presented and knocks the socks of more expensive hotels and the best I have found in Scandinavia and caters for everyone. The fried eggs and boiled eggs were fresh properly cooked and well controlled, though the morning girl kept muddling the hard and soft boiled eggs! The Chef is obviously well capable. Lunch and Dinner were equally as good and refreshing. There is a roof area that is nice for relaxing in the sun.The shock was the bill, much much less than I expected and extremely good value. A very clean hotel and a very refreshing experience. Money is no object to me as I don't pay the bill but this is the hotel is unpretentious and the one for me from now on, its suits me. Be careful you don't stub your foot on the plastic desk chair.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff politely and ask for a nice room with a view. Side rooms are quietest. Same as hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    318
    121
    44
    13
See reviews for
77
259
53
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaisalmer, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is situated in central of the city Stavanger.Short way down to Vågen and the restaurant and shopping areas .Clean, nice and funny rooms:) Friendly staff:)and very good foood:)AI also recommend to go down to Vågen and take a boat out to a island called Flor og Fjære.Beautiful place with thousand of flowers and very good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A " design" hotel, and most likely the design is the only thing you pay for. Got here unfortunately under the ONS conference and had to pay insane almost 3000 NOK for a room that was supposed to be "superior" so my expectations were high. Reality-check done people, I found nothing even close to superior in the room. Cheap mattress, cheap linings, small LED TV, internet connection that was so sloooow, one uncomfortable chair for sitting, one even worse pink plastic chair for working. Staff was friendly enough and professional, ok location, but the product, the room.... Sorry to say, a cool picture on the wall, minimalistic, a pink plastic chair and an interior that is shouting out cheap mass produced wannabe design does not make it good, comfortable or functional . Overpriced, over-designed and overrated. A weak 3 due to the value you get for the money.

Room Tip: Not many really good hotels in Stavanger. Most of them are as expected in Norway, ok but prices are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August. This hotel is perfect - centrally located, spacious and clean rooms, nice decor, fabulous breakfast (fresh, good quality, great assortment - the best breakfast we had in Norway), free coffee machine in the lobby (a big plus!!), free Wi-Fi (yes, perfectly working everywhere, including our room itself).

The staff was very kind - when we arrived the first day, we checked in very late and were craving for a nice coffee. There wasn't milk near the coffee machine, but the guy at the reception endeavored to fetch us some. That was really nice of him and he honestly earned our gratitude.

Most importantly - this is a great value for price. We paid 137 dollars per night, and by Norwegian standards this is absolutely a fair price.

Go there, you won't regret!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaNaJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, perfectly located! Good value for money, and brilliant design. We live in Stavanger, and this hotel will be our no. 1 choice for traverling guests. A BIG plus is the breakfast the have. Best breakfast in Stavanger!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Comfort Hotel Square is my preferred accommodation whenever I'm in Stavanger. The hotel has a minimalist style - the bedrooms have choice of wooden or carpeted floors, and the walls are polished concrete. The rooms are small but well-equipped, with free wireless which is reasonably fast. Unusually there is no room-service dining option, but the local pizza restaurant (Dolly Dimples) will deliver to the room. Free tea and coffee is available from the lobby. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel down to the harbour, and it you get an upper-floor room facing the harbour there are some quite nice views of Stavanger, though the windows are quite small so nothing panoramic! During July and (I think) August, the restaurant in the lobby is closed in the evening mainly due to the low levels of trade during the summer months. Breakfast is Scandanavian style, and the room gets very busy when the hotel is full, so get there early or late to avoid a wait for a seat. The staff are very relaxed and friendly, though arguably the staffing levels are a little "lean." Overall the hotel is a good place to stay if you don't need/want all the bells and whistles of a bigger hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour-facing is better for natural light. The internal facing rooms on the lower floors can be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gflyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The first impression of the hotel was quite positive: good location, friendly staff, complimentary coffee and tea available in the lobby at all times. The room was a bit small and dark, but at least the windows were soundproof and the curtains thick (which is very important during the summer). Unfortunately our opinion of the hotel was getting worse each day of our stay. It seems that the cleaning service did not do their job well, the layer of dust on the furniture was thicker and thicker, not to mention the windows; I would never invite any guests to my place if my windows looked like those in the hotel. Interestingly enough, the towels smelled of vinegar. The final nail in the coffin was the departure. We were staying in the hotel during Gladmat, so obviously we bought some regional products including cheese and sausages. Because there was no mini bar in the room, I asked the receptionist if it was possible to store them till our departure. She said it was no problem. However, during the check out, it turned out that 3 of the delicious sausages were missing. After 15 mins of waiting for the receptionist to find them, we had to give up and leave for the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myluny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Property: Comfort Hotel Square
Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Free organic coffee in the lobby area 24/7 for all staying guests. Flatscreen television with connection to iPod and PC/Mac. We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -10 am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing