We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there yet...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in September, mainly due to at super weekend-offer.
I was met by a nice receptionist, who tried to give us a room that would fufill the requirements that I had put into the booking, (away from Løkkeveien and as high up as possible).

The room itself was very small, since travelling with a friend we wanted a doubleroom with two single beds. Unfortunatley the size of the room did not make it possible to seperate the beds. In fact you ended up sleeping almost on top of eachother.

Althoug it only beeing 14 degrees in Stavanger the room was very hot. The "so-called" air condition did not work properly and the window could hardly be opened. The combination of this resulted in poor sleep quality.

The breakfast: With Stordalen as an owner the Choice chain has market themselves as a hotel with extra focus on health and good breakfast. Unfortunatley, they could not live up to previous Choice hotels I have stayed at. The selection was average, some cheese and cold meat slices, only one bread left and not re-filling empty selections.

Cleanliness; The room was clean and the staff did a good job. Only one remark, I had left one card in the room when going out. However, when coming back this had been taken by the staff who cleaned the room. The helpfull girl in the reception made new cards for me in just 5 minutes, but still I do not appreciate this kind of behaviour.

Location: If staying in Stavanger for pleasure the location is very good, only 10 minutes walk to downtown.

However, there are other hotels in the area with better locations, better rooms and better breakfast. I would recomend doing some research before booking Comfort Hotel Square.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Beautifully decorated rooms but no amenities (no fridge, coffe maker, safe, drawers). Wonderful buffet for breakfast. Terrace at the 6th floor with nice view and tables where you can bring your snack. Staff at reception desk very friendly and helpful. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maravalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I go twice a year to Stavanger but I booked this trip late and could not get in anywhere and somebody booked this as the only available and was worried.
The welcome was great and the reception staff (the guys) were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were modern and clean with a great bathroom and superb shower.
No fridge no safe but that was not a problem to me. A chair and table provided was unnecessary as there was a superb desk. Lift great. The walk to the harbour is 5 minutes away with new and old favourite restaurants but getting back is up hill / steps. So walk down and taxi back. In the busy mornings Taxis are close by. BUT the breakfast is absolutely superb and well presented and knocks the socks of more expensive hotels and the best I have found in Scandinavia and caters for everyone. The fried eggs and boiled eggs were fresh properly cooked and well controlled, though the morning girl kept muddling the hard and soft boiled eggs! The Chef is obviously well capable. Lunch and Dinner were equally as good and refreshing. There is a roof area that is nice for relaxing in the sun.The shock was the bill, much much less than I expected and extremely good value. A very clean hotel and a very refreshing experience. Money is no object to me as I don't pay the bill but this is the hotel is unpretentious and the one for me from now on, its suits me. Be careful you don't stub your foot on the plastic desk chair.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff politely and ask for a nice room with a view. Side rooms are quietest. Same as hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mailroom2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is situated in central of the city Stavanger.Short way down to Vågen and the restaurant and shopping areas .Clean, nice and funny rooms:) Friendly staff:)and very good foood:)AI also recommend to go down to Vågen and take a boat out to a island called Flor og Fjære.Beautiful place with thousand of flowers and very good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A " design" hotel, and most likely the design is the only thing you pay for. Got here unfortunately under the ONS conference and had to pay insane almost 3000 NOK for a room that was supposed to be "superior" so my expectations were high. Reality-check done people, I found nothing even close to superior in the room. Cheap mattress, cheap linings, small LED TV, internet connection that was so sloooow, one uncomfortable chair for sitting, one even worse pink plastic chair for working. Staff was friendly enough and professional, ok location, but the product, the room.... Sorry to say, a cool picture on the wall, minimalistic, a pink plastic chair and an interior that is shouting out cheap mass produced wannabe design does not make it good, comfortable or functional . Overpriced, over-designed and overrated. A weak 3 due to the value you get for the money.

Room Tip: Not many really good hotels in Stavanger. Most of them are as expected in Norway, ok but prices are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August. This hotel is perfect - centrally located, spacious and clean rooms, nice decor, fabulous breakfast (fresh, good quality, great assortment - the best breakfast we had in Norway), free coffee machine in the lobby (a big plus!!), free Wi-Fi (yes, perfectly working everywhere, including our room itself).

The staff was very kind - when we arrived the first day, we checked in very late and were craving for a nice coffee. There wasn't milk near the coffee machine, but the guy at the reception endeavored to fetch us some. That was really nice of him and he honestly earned our gratitude.

Most importantly - this is a great value for price. We paid 137 dollars per night, and by Norwegian standards this is absolutely a fair price.

Go there, you won't regret!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaNaJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, perfectly located! Good value for money, and brilliant design. We live in Stavanger, and this hotel will be our no. 1 choice for traverling guests. A BIG plus is the breakfast the have. Best breakfast in Stavanger!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £79 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Flatscreen television . We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -9.30am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing