We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small space, clean, close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When I first visited Stavanger, this hotel caught my attention because of its interesting architectural design. Then later when I had to book a room in Stavanger, I read reviews here and booked right away. It didn't disappoint me. Nice and clean facilities, really great breakfast and beer selection (local brewery, Lervig and the food is provided by a very good restaurant chain called Food Story) and all, but the rooms are extremely small. All staff members were nice except for one who didn't know much about tourist attractions nearby (She said she's from Sweden and doesn't know how to get to Kjerag, which is one of the top 2 reasons why tourists go to Stavanger...).

Just a few disappointing things:
Restaurant/bar is completely closed on Sundays, and closed fairly early during the weekdays. They didn't have feminine hygiene products as part of their "basic necessities products" for sale.
Wifi's don't stay on once you have logged in once and have to put in this very awkward passcode every single time you access the internet.
Breakfast was delicious but the cantina was way too crowded every morning.
This paint/print on the wall where the head of the bed is placed was a bit disturbing (a couple with distorted faces making out or the girl was biting his neck or... yeah I didn't look so long)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cocoisablackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is nicely located just a little outside of city center in Stavanger. We found it easy to get here from city center, from the ferries at the harbor and from the bus terminal, less than a 10 minute walk to each of those spots. The service at the hotel was great. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and gave good recommendations. It seems to be a "cool" and "trendy" hotel, with breakfast going until noon and modern art throughout the hotel and in the rooms. We loved the rooms, mirrors were everywhere to make it look bigger, and there was a sliding mirror/glass window from the bathroom to the room, which was a fun feature. The Breakfast that was included and was filling, with hot and cold foods- cold cuts, smoked salmon, omelet, cucumbers, tomatoes, fruit, bread, eggs with bacon, soft and hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and the list goes on and on. You also get free coffee throughout the day. Also, there was free wifi in your room with a code. Overall we had a fantastic stay at comfort hotel and would come back again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kkw0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice room with great shower, toilet, competent staff, good breakfast, free coffe it's important, a coffe im town costs about 5-6 euro, parking near the hotel, but not included in room-price, near to the port

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Looks still very new, very clean. Very good value (for Norway) if you can get it below 900 NOK a night.

Hotel gave me a good feeling as soon as I entered the lobby. Finally a hotel management that gets it. Different trend from many other hotel chains. Free wifi, Free breakfast is not great but definitely good enough. One gripe is the dismal quality of coffee in the morning. You have to pay extra for real coffee.
Reception staff is very junior and very friendly but could not respond to very simple questions. Ventilation in room seems to be a problem, hard to control.

Overall very happy with stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean and modern hotel a 5 minute walk from the guest harbour (out the back of the hotel and straight down). Good value for money. Free late check out on Sundays until 18.00. Airport bus stops a few hundred meters from the hotel. Would stay again!

Thank o_jinx_o
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I liked the hotel, and I really liked the price :)

The staff did not make me feel welcome, but they did not make me uncomfortable either. breakfast was good. But whats up with the toilet doors? Luckily for me, I was alone in the room due to sickness, but not able to lock it, or even close it (it only leans into the frame) made me glad my wife (or anybody else) was in the room while I was in the bathroom :)

There was also a big window between the bed and the toilet, where you could open up the shades so the person in bed could watch the person on the toilet or in the shower. For all I know, this is something hip and exciting for some, but not for me..

I would say this hotel is nice for Solo-trips, not so nice for couples (unless you enjoy each other on the toilet).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The best place to stay in Stavanger: nice decoration, Nice room, very well located, close to the harbow, very quiet, good breakfast. We really enjoy it. We like the décoration and the big space area in the hall. The staff are vert frendly and usefull.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
490 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Flatscreen television . We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -9.30am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing