We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
101
143
62
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
143
62
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness hotelscandic stavangerfamily rooms areclose to the airportrooms are cleannice hotelbreakfast was amazingfree wifibreakfast buffetcity centrecorussandnesgymplayroomtoothbrushtaxinorway
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at this expensive hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. Whilst it might suit some people, it was simply not to my taste. The range of food in the functionally designed restaurant was severely limited and the breakfast choices would be unlikely to appeal to non-Scandinavian folk.
The design of the building is bizarre, it being perfectly possible that one would have to walk a considerable distance to reach some of the rooms. The decor in the rooms was modern - at the same time being cheap and minimalistic, whilst the bedroom lighting was not very practically configured.
Internet was free and the general level of service was adequate but quite impersonal.
Sorry, but I didn't like it much and I won't be back. In any case, there are no restaurants or other attractions within easy distance. Next time, I'll stay in the harbour area.

Room Tip: Have a look at the hotel plan before accepting your room (it may be far away from reception).
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Freindly serivce from the staff , free parking for the weekend , very tasty breakfast , the rooms are ok , ordinary size. Was very lean botth at the rooms and in the breakfast area
We will return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 3rd floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla L, Front Office Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012
Google Translation

Hei Jens

Vi setter så pris på din hyggelige tilbakemeling, det er kjekt å høre at dere har hatt det så bra hos oss. Det er nettopp det vi ønsker.

Vi gleder oss til å ha dere som våre gjester igjen.

Vennlig hilsen Camilla Løvlien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We went to this hotel to stay for a weekend with our show cat.
I am a top floor member and i have bad experience from Scandic before when booking a stay for us when we have the cat with us, hence this I booked a superior room for us and the cat, called up to verify and after a couple of days i sent an email asking for confirmation which i got.

Entering check in with the cat there was no room ready and the front desk sent a staff up to check if room 251 was cleaned. Rom 251 was not a superior room so i went down, asked why i was in a standard room.... they gave me the key to another room, this was bigger but had a ladder and a strong smell of paint so not happy with that, offered a new room again, this was bigger but by this time i was sick of running around so i joust told the front desk that i was accepting the room we got, as a compensation we got free parking 2 nights out of 3???, this made me even more pissed of why not 3? it does not cost the hotel anything.

Well the hotel is very new and modern, the beds are very nice and the rooms are super modern.
This hotel has a large exercise room in the basement.
The restaurant and bar has nice staff and they serve the standard Scandic menu, affordable in Norway.

A tip is to park your car outside at the nearby parking ( 200 meters ) , the cost is only 60NOK compared to the hotels 125.

The distance to the center of Stavanger is approx. 15min by car, so this is not central, but the clients of this hotel is off course the offshore business people.

Room Tip: The rooms on second floor with odd numbers do not have a nice view, see picture! this was from room 251
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engineer_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla L, Front Office Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012
Google Translation

Hei

Takk for at du har tatt deg tid til å gi oss tilbakemelding etter endt opphhold hos oss, det setter vi veldig pris på. For å utvikle og forbedre oss er vi avhengig av tilbake melding fra gjestene våre. Jeg må bare beklage for at ditt opphold ikke ble slik som du hadde tenkt og slik som vi ønsker at våre gjester skal ha det. Jeg forstår at du blir lei av å løpe opp å ned, dette skulle ikke ha skjedd i utgangspuktet. Det er imidlertid godt å høre at du liker rommene, vår Gym og våre fine ansatte i restauranten og i baren.

Jeg håper du kommer tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning, slik at vi kan vise oss frem fra en bedre side. Ta kontakt på min mail camilla.lovlien@scandichotels.com

Med vennlig hilsen Camilla Løvlien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed here for 10 night for business, and I can't complain about the hotel has been home away from home, Excellent Internet, and great options for movies in the TV. Best breakfast I had but dinner is average. Overall Staff is Friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdaddycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013
Google Translation

Hei

Takk for fine ord, vi jobber hardt for at gjestene våre skal ha det bra når de bor hos oss, så det gleder oss å høre at du har hatt det fint.
Du er hjertlig velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning.

Vennlig hilsen Camilla Løvlien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have spent many, many nights in the Stavanger area the last year, but lately my choice has been Scandic Stavanger Forus. It's clean and friendly. Have free internet access, even in the bar. Great breakfast, but not the number one choice of dinner place. The basement gym is very good to be a hotel gym, and you can even go biking in the area. Great willingness to make up for problems and not to expensive. A good choice as your second home when one business travel.

\DHØ

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on two sides
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Hello
Thank you for your great feedback to us about your stay, hope to see you again soon.

Alle the best Camilla Løvlien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews