We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent a night at the Clarion and was pleasantly surprised.
Cosy, clean and tastefully appointed rooms. Fast wi-fi. The people at the reception were courteous. The food at the restaurant was good. The main thing for me though, was the cleanliness and modernness of the rooms.
I didn't have time to check if there was a fitness center/gym.
Drawback: Rooms are a bit small.

I would recommend this hotel easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear GreenYellow,

thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending the hotel. If you visit us again you might want to try one of our deluxe rooms. They are larger, and also include free access to the fitness center next door.

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    306
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
240
48
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Suite Krem room at this hotel for my company's Christmas party in Stavanger. We had a lovely stay. The room was spacious, while the bathroom was quite basic, but met our needs. This being a corner suite, we had wonderful views of the harbor.

The bar area is nice for a pre-dinner cocktail as well. And breakfast is plentiful and fresh.

My one complain about the hotel is that there's no fitness center available. It's right next to one of the largest gyms in the town, so the hotel offers a discounted entrance to it, but it's not quite to expectations.

Overall a nice hotel, and if you don't need a gym, then it's just great!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear IAH88,

thank you for a positive review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in lack of fitness center. We now offer all upgrade rooms free entrance to the next door fitness center, I hope this will meet your needs if you choose to visit again.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is the perfect located hotel to get everywhere in Stavanger. The romms are tastefully decorated and if you add a few extra kroner , you get delux room. Here you get just the extra space you need. The breakfast is just heavenly , but again if you feel like giving yourself a litle extra , you order breakfast dilivered in your room and enjoy the view from the corner window while eating. The bar area is also a cosey homely place to enjoy something good to drink

Room Tip: You should absolutly add afew kroner and upgrade your room to the delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor Steinar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Tor Steinar E,

thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel Stavanger when visiting Stavanger, and for your kind review. In June the bar area will be improved and even nicer, I hope you visit us again !

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Disappointingly small rooms but the beds are very comfortable. No quality toiletries in the bathroom - just a single dispenser of an unknown shower gel/cleanser. Food excellent - a very wide choice. Business facilities are excellent and the conference room on the 14th floor must have the best views in Stavanger, over the harbour and out to the mountains.

Typically helpful and courteous staff, free wifi and efficient service. On the face of it it's still an expensive hotel but no better or worse than any of its competitors in Norway, so not really a fair criticism.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Chris B,

thank you for your positive review, I am so happy that you enjoyed the fantastic view. We do offer upgrade rooms with that view, quality toiletries and free access to the large fitness centre next door included.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Central location in this pleasant town. Very friendly and helpful staff on check-in. Breakfast was very good and overall my stay was comfortable and relaxed. My room had a nice view of the surroundings and was reasonably equipped with a proper bath. Only drawback was that the room itself was on the small side and that is why its 4 stars and not 5 on the review.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Smilinal,

thank you so much for recommending our hotel, and for pointing out our breakfast and staff in a good way. Next time you come, ask for a larger room, many of our guest find it good value for money

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Doing business, means I have to be relaxed in my hotel from all the days stress. The hotel was very relaxing and I had lots of fun talking to all the staff and employees. Anything I needed was immediately brought to my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to see you and talk to you again soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 4 (2 kids) and we got a large room (club room) with enough space to play and live. Very comfortable beds. Probably the best hotelbed I have ever had!

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. Fresh, healthy and diverse.
Very service minded employees.

Can absolutely recommend this to anyone, anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank int-traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear int-traveller1,

thank you for your positive review and for staying with us in Stavanger. Children makes us extra happy when they visit ,please come stay with us again!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 27 in Stavanger
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing