We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Hotel, very bad bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good Hotel, very bad bar”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Clarion for 3 nights. The room was ok, not too small, very clean. Very friendly stuff at reception. The "service" at the bar was very poor. The lady didnt even know how to make the few cocktails offered. She didnt recognize new guests for a very long time and she was very unpolite. The bar closes at 12 even if there a loads of people sitting there...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pongi1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Pongi1906,

thank you for you feedback, I am so sorry that your stay was not as expected. The problems mentioned has been addressed, and improvements have been made through extensive training.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    306
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
240
48
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I'll have to say this hotel isn't as "lush" as I expected. To be clear, it's not bad, just not as comfortable as I expected based upon the pictures on TA and walking through the lobby on a previous visit to Stavanger.

I'll start on the great things. Location is convenient to the harbor area and the staff is super friendly. The internet is nice and fast and the breakfast is excellent. The beds are pretty comfortable and the hotel just got a recent facelift. If you go to the top floor (14th) and go through the secret doors (they look like locker room / toilet doors) they dump into the sauna and jacuzzi area which has a beautiful sweeping view over Stavanger harbor). I'll never understand why they didn't make this into a bar area. I'd have gone there even if I wasn't staying in the hotel!!

The lobby is relatively new with a nice bar area and the restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, is in the back. There are some nice chairs in the lobby with an open fire. From the outside, the building is quite tall for Stavanger and has some interesting designs which make it stick out. And then we went to our room. Not bad....just a bit underwhelming and almost disappointing. (and frankly some design questions that have me wondering....and I've stayed in several local hotels, so it's not "just a Norwegian thing")

First of all the room door opens outwards AND doesn't self lock. You have to remember to lock the door from the outside with your key when you're leaving. Why would they do this? Very odd. The bed and furnishings are new and modern, but wish there was some carpeting in the room. (We're in a "standard room"). The wood floors are nice, but just don't offer the warmth and nice "under-the-toes" feeling that you want straight out of bed. As for the bathroom, too minimalistic for me. Bordering on backpacking. TA doesn't list a star rating for this hotel but given that the toiletries offered in-room are limited to a stuck on the wall "all over shampoo" dispenser and the shower is a sad showerhead while standing in a bathtub, I can't imagine this being more than 3 stars. Maybe 3.5. Not saying it's bad, just trying to correctly categorize it and manage expectations.

The only truly bad thing is the street noise. The AC isn't an in-room managed thing (common in Norway) so we had to sleep with the windows open to get the room cool enough to our liking. Then midnight - 4am comes. We were there over a weekend and between 12am - 4am (mainly at 2-4am) roving bands of drunk people walked up and down the street yelling at what seemed at the top of their lungs to their fellow drunk mates. In other words, temperature and air circulation came at the cost of being interrupted all night long by those obviously oblivious that there are hundreds of people trying to sleep just above them. Not sure the hotel can change / fix that, but just a warning to weary travelers.

Overall, the stay at the Clarion isn't bad. Just a little lacking in creature comforts.
I would like to commend the management of the hotel which seems to read and answer each and every Trip Advisor review. That tells me alot about how much the management seems to care about the hotel and the concerns of the guests. And that counts for a lot in my book.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear AG97Traveler,

thank you so much for your extensive feedback, as you point out I take guest feedback very seriously! I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast, our new restaurant and in part our rooms. I will take your comments concerning the toiletries into consideration. The door locks will lock after 15 minutes if you forget to lock them, and are not locked immediately due to security reasons. I am very sorry that some overly happy people outside kept you awake, next time we will provide a room to the other side of the hotel.

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there in July during Stavanger Food Festival. Even if the city was overcrowded we were upgraded from Deluxe to Business for free! This is probably the best Choice Clarion Hotel in the city since their CEO Petter Stordalen used this hotel during his stay in Stavanger.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible, facing west or north for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Amlocke,

thank you for your nice review, and for staying with us during the food festival. We just love upgrading our guests if possible; making a guest happy makes us even happier:. Petter got an upgrade, why shouldn`t you:)

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel i situated in the middle of Stavanger and it is walking distance to everything. The airport shuttle bus literally stops 5 meters from the entrance.
We had a high floor superior room with beautiful views of the city centre and harbour. The rooms are relatively new and had was refurbished in 2011.
The hotel has just opened a new restaurant and we chose to eat there instead of going out. Food was really good. I had a steak while my gf had the burger. Both really good. The Cosmopolitan we got was on the other han amazing! Best we've ever had!
We had some issues with the front desk staff but this has been sorted in a prompt and officiant manner so all in all this was a very good stay!
I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: High floor rooms for excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear ThomasBergen,

thank you so much for staying with us and for giving us fantastic feedback. I am especially happy about the restaurant feedback. It is so important that the menu and the food are well received from the start, and your comments gives are important to us! Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room had a great view of Stavanger. The breakfast is wonderful. They even walk around with healthy morning shots for you to start your day off. There is a chef making eggs to order. And he even brings them to your table when they are ready! The buffet is stocked with many yummiest items. This hotel ticks all the boxes.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank henothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Henothere,

thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are so happy that you loved our breakfast. Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Everything worked fine with this hotel. The location: everything is in walking distance but just out of the area where there are all the most popular bar and Restaurant that could be noisy in the week end. The staff: all helpfull, professional and pleasing. One day we met the maid on the floor. she was busy but and as soon she realized we where moving towards the elevator she called it for us! The room: modern design, spacious and cleaned, perfectly sound proof. We particullary appriciate the kettle with the selection of coffee and tea.
Unbeatable the breakfast for the choise of everything, including a large selection of organic products. The best salmon I have ever eaten!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexstek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Alexstek,

thank you so much for your visit, and for a very nice review. We put a lot of effort into serving a good breakfast and are so happy that you enjoyed it. I will use your comment about our room stylist as a good example at our next staff meeting. Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights while in svg for work. Have stayed at clarion before so knew what to expect. Nice rooms, comfy. Great breakfast. Gym around the corner, would be nice to have one on site. Only real negative would be that you don'tget proper toiletries, staying for 4 nights would expect shampoo and conditioner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Susan2909,

Thank you so much for being a return guest and for giving us important feedback. Next time you stay with us just tell the Welcome office agents and they will provide extra toiletries for you.

Welcome back !

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 28 in Stavanger
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing