We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, modern, great breakfast”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the hotel was clean, comfortable and well appointed. I would agree with other reviewers that standard rooms are not huge, but they had everything you would need. The hotel is modern and, generally, well designed. There were two things that struck me, though. The lighting could be better - both the bathroom mirror and the mirrored wardrobe had poor or no lights, making it difficult to put your makeup on (I do realise that this is only an issue for some of us). Secondly, there are no signs in the corridors telling you which way the rooms are. I found this confusing.
But overall I enjoyed my stay at The Clarion, I would recommend it and I would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the main road can be affected by noise on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungMrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear YoungMrsH,

thank you so much for your kind review, and for your comments. I will look into those comments to see if we can make improvements.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    306
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
240
48
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the middel of town. Closeby the harbour, shops and old town.

Rooms are not so big but have excellent beds. The breakfast is one of the best hotelbreakfasts you can get in Stavanger.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inmapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Inmapa,

thank you so much for your nice review, I am so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. I hope can welcome you back soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I found a deal online with hotel + a 2 course meal at kitchen and table. Booked it and had a very good follow up by Elisabeth Søyland, Hotel Manager. She helped me upgrade our room to a suite with a wonderful view, I mentioned that the occasion for the stay was my fiances 30th birthday - so I were recommended a romantic table in their restaurant.

We were welcomed in the restaurant with 2 glasses of Champagne - on the house - and birthday wishes for my fiance. The service was was excellent and food very good. Unfortunately with exception of the desert. However - the starter and main (Pork Tacitos and Butchers cut with fries) was so good that it covered for the desert!!

All in all a very good stay - and restaurant recommended to all of our friends).

Room Tip: Get a room high up to enjoy the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Monicamee,

thank you for the fantastic feedback and for pointing out that my hotel manager is a true star! I hope you told my restaurant staff what was wrong with the dessert, so that we can improve it. We hope to see you again soon, both for celebrations and other occasions.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Small but comfy rooms. The sauna and hot tub on the top floor are worth using if nothing else for the view. Breakfast is top draw so arrive hungry. Staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing me in the right direction. A few minutes walk from the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Welsh_Clarkey,

thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. Breakfast is an important meal, I am glad you enjoyed ours.

Welcome back soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have always associated Clarion hotels as a little downmarket and jaded. This one however seems rather nice. Central. Clean. Great check in. Free wifi and nice breakfast. The room has all you need. The room may be a little smaller than some rooms in more expensive hotels but frankly it is big enough. Nothing wrong here and a lot right!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear beesbeesbees,

thank you for your feedback, and for being pleasantly surprised. Clarion is considered a top brand in Scandinavia, and you can find many nice Clarion hotels in Sweden and Norway - and even one in Denmark.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Clarion hotel for two nights whilst visiting stavanger. The hotel is centrally located and all of the restaurants, bars and shops are only a short walk away. When we arrived we were greeted nicely by the reception staff who were very happy and friendly which gave us an instant good impression. The room was modern and very clean though I have a feeling we were not put into the room we had booked as I booked a Superior Double room which on Booking.com said it would be 23 meters squared in size but seriously our room was not that large it was very, very small. Thinking back now we should have brought it to the attention of the reception staff but there was a badge on the back of our room door saying Superior room but the interior of our room looked very different to those advertised as "Superior". Little disappointing........

The common areas of the hotel are lovely and the restaurant is very good, breakfast I would say only OK as I was expecting slightly better but it was adequate. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers as I felt for the price it was great value!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The restaurant in the hotel was quite good. I had their lamb, which was cooked to perfection. The parking garage is one door down the pedestrian street and only 100kr a day, so great if you have a car. The rest of downtown area is an easy walk.

The rooms are a compacted version of what you'd find in a Hilton Garden Inn/Marriott Courtyard Hotell.

There is one problem: The floor in the bathroom isn't heated.
This is really unheard of in Norway. It's unacceptable that my feet aren't toasty when I walk into the bathroom in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikNordheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
ErikNordheim,

thank you for a nice review and for choosing us in Stavanger. I am happy that enjoyed the food in our new restaurant Kitchen & Table. All our bathroom floors are heated, but we turn the heat down during the summer as it tends to get too warm.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 27 in Stavanger
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing