We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed one night for a conference in February.

Very warm welcome, excellent room, very clean, spacious and good view.

As expected in Stavanger, the food was expensive and the drinks even more so - no surprises there. The even meal was a little on the small side (chicken and vegetables basically, but about 2/3rds the size of a normal restaurant portion for £29).

Enjoyed a comprehensive breakfast (self service buffet) after a 10K early run round the town and harbour. Full range of fruits, cereals, meets, cheeses and cooked. Omelettes cooked to order.

Good location just 3 minute jog from the harbour and with excellent view of the whole city from the 14th floor spa (didn't use it but went to see the view).

Excellent service for our conference, with very good lunch and a large range of fresh fruits etc for the afternoon break.

Free Wifi in rooms. Good bed, large en-suite with a proper wet room style floor and clean hard flooring in the bedroom area as you would expect here.

Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, Daglig leder at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear SimSar,

thank you so much for staying with us, and for a great review. Feedback is essential in order for us to improve, and I will take your comments into consideration.

Welcome Back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    304
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
81
232
47
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location in Central Stavanger with nice views of the city. We had a little trouble with check-in but the front desk staff were helpful and efficient sorting it out.

The restaurant had very good quality food and our server was excellent. The only slight downside was the size of the room. We had an upgraded room, which was pretty small. I can't imagine what a normal room is like.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDN2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R, Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 15 May 2015
Hi CDN2UK!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us an review after your stay.
I'm glad yo hear the food and service met your expectations.
Hopefully we can show you one of our deluxe rooms, on your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Louise
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had a excelent weekend at this great hotel. Great food and good conference department. Good location in the center of Stavanger. Nice and service minded staff! Especially the receptionist Emilie makes it easy to chose the same hotel next time we visit the city!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R, Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 15 May 2015
Hi Terje M!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback after your stay,
I'm so glad Emilie made a good impression.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Louise
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Located in the heart of Stavanger, just a few minutes walk from almost everything Stavanger has to offer, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and have a good atmosphere and the restaurant serves good and healthy food.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a really nice wiew over teh city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksthekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear aleksthekid,

thank you so much for a kind review and for staying with us in Stavanger. Next week we launch a new menu in Kitchen&Table, with even more healthy choices. Welcome Back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I worked in Stavanger for a large proportion of 2013, and this was by far my favourite hotel.

The reception and main communal areas (restaurant, bar, etc) were lovely. The rooms, although small, were more than adequate. The location is great as it is very close to the harbour / center of Stavanger. The service was excellent and the restaurant was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_davidson_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Amy,

thank you for being a loyal guest in 2013, we hope to see you just as often in 2014.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 on a work trip. The location of the hotel is great, within walking distance to all the shops. This was my first time in the hotel as I usually stay in the Radisson Atlantic. I think the rooms in the Clarion are a bit nicer, they feel more modern and have great TV and great showers. The food from the restaurant was great, my only comment is that the room service menu is a little too small, could do with a few more options.

For some reason my room key card didn't work each evening and i had to get it reset every evening, this was a bit annoying but not that big a deal.

Breakfasts were good!

All in all a good hotel, i think this would be my first choice for visiting Stavanger.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Robert M,

thank you so much for staying with us in Stavanger, and for giving positive feedback. We are changing the menue next week, and have taken your comment into consideration. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As the misses and me were attending the annual Christmas party, we opted for a hotel stay. And what a stay! The hotel was filled with smiles. Excellent and polite service. Stunning views(9th floor). Breakfast was of the big highlights, everything you desire, including proper bacon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Fpeck,

thank you so much for your positive review;all smiles - it made me smile too. Welcome back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing