We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not matching price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but not matching price”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel is very, good interior, nice location, all most everything you can expect from Clarion. However, the room as too hot and I could not change temperature due to central heating, so sleeping quality as not so good.

While the food was outstanding and one of the best breakfast buffet I have tasted it was exactly the same every day. Staying for a longer times gets boring with the same food. Same story is with the lunch that was served during conference very good but same every day.

Giving the price of the room in the hotel it was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear NorthFood,

thank you for giving us important feedback, I take it seriously and understand that we can improve on variation.

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    304
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
81
232
47
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've been traveling Norway this past week and have had beautiful suites in Oslo and Bergen. We were excited to see what Stavanger had to offer. We have a small grey room that is smaller than a dorm room with a view of a brown wall. Thought we would get more for the money. Should have done more research.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourinMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear TourinMinnesota,

thank you for your response, it is important to us in order to improve. I am sorry that you did not like the size and view from your room. Our standard rooms are standard size, but of course we can offer you a deluxe and suite if requested.

We hope to see you in back in Stavanger and would love the opportunity to make a better impression.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at the hotel several times during business trips, and I have always been very pleased with the room, breakfast and service. The showers are big, and the water pretty much stays inside the cabinet. Another thing I like is that there are space around the sink to put your toiletries without beeing afraid of loosing them into the sink.
The berakfast is really good, and the rooms are pretty small, but far from the smallest. I recommend the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Anita K,

thank you so much for your nice review , it is important to us. I am happy that you are a return guest, and I especially agree with your comments on Toiletries - that is what we need!

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent service, good restaurant, but maybe overambitious w.r.t. contemporary foam and strange taste combinations. NIce rooms, but maybe in need of a slight facelift. Nice ambience in teh lobby and teh retaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Veslefrikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Veslefrikk,


thank you for staying in the hotel, and for dining in Kitchen &Table. Some of our dishes might have some unfamiliar spices , but we also serve local dishes that could suit your pallet better.

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norheimsund, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights for a conference. A good hotel, big room with comfy bed. Great location close to citysenter (no more than 5 min walk). Good breakfast. Downside - location for the conference was cold and old, poor food service and coffe. In the room i was missing more and better bathproducts like shampoo and soap.
All in all a good stay, but dont know what the prize was.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bjørnar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Bjørnar D,

thank you so much for giving us feedback, it is important in order for us to improve. I am happy that you are happy about some elements, but sorry that the conference was unimpressive. The hotel was totally renovated in 2011, and should not come across as old. We normally get excellent feedback on our lunch buffet, but in your case, we have evidently not succeeded. I will look into this, and hope we get a new chance to make a better impression.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice stay.
This is a business hotel, from a large chain, not brand new, so not very sexy.
But the rooms are spacious, everything works properly, the staff is very attentive (the best I came across in Norway), the location is good (not great) and breakfast is great.
So overall a very good hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Arielmorg,

thank you for staying in the hotel and for overall positive feedback. We appreciate the fact that you recommend the hotel, it is very important to us.

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 7 days
Excellent and friendly staff very good location very good Beds and pillows high speed Internet.
Restaurant is very good with excellent staff
I recommend this hotel for any one who want to stay in Stavanger

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Conan206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Conan206,

thank you for staying in Clarion Hotel Stavanger when visiting Stavanger, and for recommending the hotel. It is really important to us!

Welcome back!


Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing