We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad tired in places but great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tad tired in places but great staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Perfect location right in the centre of the city. Public areas could do with a refurb - the rooms are adequate but lack character. Excellent reception staff, who could not have been more helpful or friendly. Bed comfortable, but natives restless at times on the street outside. Breakfast choice OK. Got a very good rate for a five-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DittoGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    125
    136
    85
    40
See reviews for
34
106
57
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

After having read some bad reviews, I was wondering how this stay was going to turn out. However, I must say that I am positively surprised. Our room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. Comfortable beds seems to be somewhat of a rarity, however, these beds were good! I also find it important that the rooms are clean, and our room was clean.
I very much enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It it so much easier to get up in the morning when you know there is a good breakfast waiting for you! I also liked the fact that you could make your own waffles in the afternoon. Yummy:)
The location was perfect! There are stores and cafés right out side the door, and there is only a brief walk to the city centre(1 min max.)...

A tip: We ordered a room for two people, however, the room could actually house four. Our friends, who got the room for two people with place for only two, got a much smaller room. There was almost no difference in price, so if you have a choice, I would go for the biggest room!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belleblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This hotel is even worse than Hotel Victoria. Dirty small rooms, the bathroom door damaged of water, tiny bed, the ceiling looks like it never have been washed, no night stand and I could go on and on... And it's called COMFORT?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Our hotel room was not airconditioned and when we enquired we found the entire floor was not airconditioned. It was only possible to open one window (and then the rain came in) so the choice was between surviving in a stuffy, uncomfortable room or listening to the sounds of traffic in the (cobbled) street below. Plus the room was tiny, there was no hair dryer in the bathroom and wifi connection was very slow. However, the staff were friendly and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forensic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

To begin with. There was no hot water in the shower::: The breakfast was a fars.. with empty trays almost all over. There were some fruit an juice. When we asked about the lack of hot water, the staff only answered that they knew, but could not do anything about it.. ??
Will never sleep in this hotel again.

Stay clear of this hotel when your in Stavanger.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
Thank urgent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The staff was very friendly and more than willing to answer questions on all local tourist destinations. The room was comfortable and clean, and to top it off, the hotel featured free breakfast, free coffee and free waffles!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLou642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I am quite a big fan of the Comfort Hotel in Stavanger. I travel to Stavanger about once a month and have done for three years now. I have probably stayed here about 8-10 times now. One thing I can say - this is an Oil Town, in Scandinavia, so everything is hellishly expensive and service is often poor throughout the whole of the town (too much job security if you ask me!!) It's unfair to compare hotels in Stavanger to what is available in North America / Other European Cities for the same price because there is a very limited supply of hotels in Stavanger and prices rocket.

So, this review is written on the basis of the above:

The Comfort Hotel is very conveniently located. It is in the middle of the town shopping district. 5 minutes walk to the harbour and restaurant area. 5 minutes walk to the Oil Museum. I prefer this location to the harbour because you do not have the noise of the bars and restaurants at night.

The rooms are clean, but the single rooms are tiny. And I mean really really small!! The double rooms are adequate size and comparable to European hotel rooms. The beds are comfy and there are extra pillows etc available on request. TV, AVOD, Phone, Desk, Power Sockets (EU), hangers/wardrobe etc.. Bath and Shower are always clean and limited toiletries are provided. Underfloor heating in the bathrooms is a plus.

One big plus point as a business traveller. Free, fast Wifi access in all rooms. You get a free 8hr Telenor scratch card from reception. You can use these at all the Telenor hotspots in town too.

Breakfast is included. Typical Scandinavian breakfast: fresh breads, eggs, meat, cheese, yoghurt, pickled herring, juice, coffee, teas etc... This is fine and on a par with offerings from all the other hotels in Stavanger.

Throughout the day there is complimentary coffee from reception and after 2pm there are complimentary waffles (help yourself from the breakfast room). Nice touch. There is a selection of cold alcoholic and soft drinks from reception for purchase.

Price of a room is usually around the £90-120 mark. I would be disappointed with this price in the UK, but in Stavanger it is excellent value for money. The Park Inn is usually around £150 and you need a £12 taxi each way to town, plus £20 internet card. The Radisson SAS Atlantic needs a refurb and the SAS Royal is OK, if a little old. Both are usually in the £170-220 ballpark. By comparison, £90 for the Comfort Inn is excellent value... in this market.

Where they could improve:

Service. This is not to say that there is anything wrong with it.. it can just be a bit.. cold sometimes. I think this is a cultural thing. You will find pretty crappy service in all the bars and restaurants in town too, esp. compared to North America and places in the UK with similar prices. I just don't see what is so difficult - great service is free to implement, but delivers a huge amount of added value for the customer.

Where they do well:

Cleanliness.
Location.
Value compared to competition.
Internet/facilities.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 28 in Stavanger
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Stavanger

Property: Comfort Hotel Stavanger
Address: Klubbgata 3, Stavanger 4013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Stavanger 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Stavanger is an informal and pleasant Bed & Breakfast hotel situated in the heart of the city. You will find endless shopping and dining opportunities at your doorstep. Our guests are a mixture of business travellers and leisure travellers. Regardless the purpose of your trip, you will find Comfort Hotel Stavanger the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing