We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Darby's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darby's Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Stavanger B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

An absolutely lovely place to stay in Stavanger. Very peaceful location but only a short walk ( 10 minutes) into town. The home is just stunning....so much history here....but it has everything the modern traveller needs. Beautifully appointed rooms, spotlessly clean of course, the use of a little kitchen area where we could make cups of tea or coffee and Wenche provided a delicious and plentiful breakfast each morning in her stunning dining room whilst helping us with our plans for the day. You can stop searching for accommodation in Stavanger right now! You won't find better than this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed three nights at Darby's Inn during our trip to Norway in September this year. The atmosphere and the setting of this gorgeous B&B is simply amazing. Darby's Inn is located in a quiet residential area close to the city centre so everything is reachable within short stroll. The interior of the B&B is simply stunning and unique with the breakfast being served in an amazing "dining hall". One can easily loose the sense of time marvelling at the furnishings. However, Wenche will always very kindly bring your focus back to the breakfast by offering you another cup of coffee! The hospitality of Wenche and her husband really was the icing on the cake. They were always up for a nice chat and very helpful on all occasions. Needless to say, our room (Sverdrup) was spotless, very comfortable and cosy.
Bottom line: Darby's Inn really is a top tip when you are in the area! We will certainly stay there again when we are around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilmann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My friend and I were able to stay only one night at Darby's B&B but the genuine warmth and hospitality of our hosts will stay with us for a long time. It is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the bus station and city center (however, we did lose our way while walking from the bus station--get directions first!) The entire house is elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. Beds were very comfortable and our custom made breakfast was delicious. Although everything in Norway is rather expensive, I found Darby's to be an excellent value as compared to some of the larger hotels. I would certainly recommend a stay at Darby's to anyone looking for a great B&B.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Darby's is one of the nicest b&bs in our experience. Wenche offered a very warm welcome and was helpful in chosing the right spots to visit. The house is spacious and generously furnished in Wenche's individual style. Our room was very pretty, very clean and offered everything a hotel room does, only in a much nicer setting. Breakfast is a real treat. We very much regretted not being able to stay longer (we should have made our reservation earlier), but we may try our luck some other time. If we aimed for Stavanger again, we would certainly chose Darby's. Except for the rather poor weather there were absolutely no regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the end of August with a buddy of mine whilst using Stavanger as a hub for a couple of hikes further out. The location is ideal, with only a short walk into town and a bus stop a couple minutes walk away. The interiors of the B and B itself are beautifully adorned with a very international motif, with a slant to the Far East, which I particularly liked. We stayed in the the Sverdrup Room which suited our needs as it was comfortable and clean. The breakfast spread was also grand and we were able to head out on our treks well fed. The best part of our stay was the warmth of Wenche who went out of her way to help us organise a car rental to suit our particular needs so that we could get to Kjerag, a trip we almost left out due to lack of transport, but am very grateful we followed through with! I'll definitely be back to Darby's if I am back in town on holiday and in need of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chevy 0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have been staying at Darbys the last few weeks whilst between apartments in Stavanger, i have stayed with Wenche & Paul previously when i first came out to Norway and was finding my feet. To me, its just like being home as Wenche & Paul offer a lot more than any hotel and will do anything to ensure you are comfortable and enjoy your time with them and in Stavanger. I have no hesitation recommending Darbys to business travellers or people on vacation and its first choice for myself, or any friends & family visiting Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Darby's B&B was a perfect place to stay while my wife and I were in Stavanger and hiking to Preikestolen. It's in a nice, quiet part of town and a short 10 minute walk to downtown. Wenche and Paul were great hosts and their home is beautiful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great! If you have a car, parking can be a bit of a pain. Street parking is limited and metered. Highly recommend it if you're coming to Stavanger.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
825 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#8 of 27 in Stavanger
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby's Inn

Address: Oscars gate 18, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stavanger
Price Range: £114 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself, as our guest in this unique and historic home, designed by one of Stavanger’s most famous architects, Hartvig Sverdrup Eckhoff. Soak up a 120 years of history, as you sit back and enjoy this breathtaking house and its many features. After extensive restoration works, we are now proud to present, our four extraordinary double guest rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have direct access, and use of a balcony, and all four rooms have easy access and use of the garden. The house is set in one of Stavanger’s most sought after residential areas, only a 5 minutes stroll from the city centre, yet, this beautiful tree lined road, offers calm and tranquillity to the discerning traveller. Museums, restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance, and the Airport Bus Service, only a few hundred meters away. Come and join us, as our guest, for a unique and special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Darby's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing