We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can find it, you can stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Havly Hotell
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It took us a very long time to find this hotel. The GPS was unable to direct us due to a closed road nearby, and then directed us onto streets closed to vehicles. The front desk clerk was excellent - answering our calls for directions twice, and finally walking out onto the street to wave us down. It really wasn't worth it - the room was small, breakfast mediocre. Except for the friendly and very helpful staff, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: I would recommend second floor or higher, to give yourself some space from pedestrians walking by on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula_eyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review, Paula!

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations, but we will use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have a chance to provide you with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Staff was very friendly. I checked in late on a saturday night, and there were people partying outside my window. I couldnt sleep so i called the front desk. Without thinking the staff changed my room to something quieter. I moved in 5 minutes and had a good night sleep. Also, the rooms are very clean. Location is pretty good. Ten minute walk from the express bus, and ten minute walk from the ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobiasfunke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for Your great review, Tobias! We're happy we were able to help make Your stay as enjoyable as possible, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Best Western Hotell was perfect for our two nights in Stavanger. It is close to the ferry for Pulpit Rock, and also within walking distance of beautiful old town Stavanger. We were very pleasantly surprised by our visit to Stavanger.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your great review, Matob! We're happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to Stavanger, and our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Rooms look nice, not too spacious but okay and clean. In the center of the old town, easy to get to everything. Breakfast is good, but nothing special. Reception very friendly and helpful. Recommended if you don't need five star treatment.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We appreciate your review, Lauren, and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed at the Havly with 6 others on a twinning trip to Stavanger.

The staff in the hotel were very knowledgable and helped us with restaurant suggestions, fjord cruise and directions etc.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious and well sound proofed!

Keep up the good work

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank ABZReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 10 month old baby for 4 nights in August 2012. We paid approx £500 for 4 nights.
The rooms are very small and when they put a travel cot in our room for the baby, we could barely move around and were having to jump over things to get from one side of the room to the other.
The rooms were also exceptionally hot. There was no aircon (despite what they say on the website) and when we asked for a fan they were not willing to provide one. There was one small window which we could open, but as you are very close to the bars/nightlife downtown the noise was too much for us and the baby if we left it open at night. Everyone woke up in the morning very hot and sweaty.
BUT - The hotel was in a great location, right next to everything you want to see as a tourist and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast was really good too.
There is no restaurant or bar at this hotel, so apart from serving breakfast in the morning, you need to go out to get a drink or something to eat.
The hotel is currently undergoing external refurbishment and our room smelt of paint fumes and chemicals the whole time. There was also loud banging and hammering all day long. We were not warned about this at the time of booking which is disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby170680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Small, cozy hotel, great location, great breakfast, everything was wonderful. Not the most luxurious hotel I have stayed at, but clean and perfectly adequate, with coffee and tea in the rooms and an environmental approach to the changing of towels (which is always a big plus!). Stayed here for the 8th Stavanger Tattoo Convention and loved it. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBorsholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.2 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stavanger
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Havly Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Havly Hotell

Address: Valberggt 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £81 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Havly Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Havly Hotell is a traditional, yet modern hotel in the heart of Stavanger, within walking distance of the city's vast selection of restaurants, cafés and shops.Since the opening of Havly in 1975, the building has undergone extensive renovation. The hotel has 42 rooms, all with comfortable armchairs, large work desk, new hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, and flatscreen TVs.The hotel is 100 % non smoke, and has free wireless access in all guest areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Havly Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stavanger
Stavanger Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing