We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed for visiting Stavanger”
Review of Thon Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Maritim
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly placed for visiting Stavanger”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were running the Norwegian Bouldering Cup event in Stavanger over 2 days on 24-25th March 2012 and this is the second time we have stayed at the Thon Maritim Hotel.
If you're visiting Stavanger then Thon Maritim is perfectly placed just 3 minutes walk from the quay and 2 minutes walk from maybe a hundred popular and reasonably priced restaurants and bars - everything from Thai, Dolly Dimples and Egon to pubs and exotic mediterranean cafes. Considering its location so close to the city centre this is a quiet hotel, hidden from the main street with its own private patio. The staff are great and extremely helpful. The hotel facilities deserve just 3 stars but an upgrade would spoil the pleasure of staying in a friendly and uniquely convenient location - we ought to keep keep this great place to ourselves!
The internet in the room worked perfectly; the water in the bathroom was hot; the beds were comfortable and OK for long people and plenty of comfortable pillows too; the breakfast bar with hot food was extensive and you can eat as much as you want. The window gave lots of fresh air and the noise level on the 6th floor on a Saturday night was tolerable but don't expect a quiet night - a good rule is to always take earplugs with you when staying at lower-priced city-centre hotels.
A couple of complaints we can live with: the TV channel selection is hopeless and slow even if there's a nice big flat-screen; there are no facilities in the room except for the ubiquitous mini-bar and an over-priced bottle of wine.
By Norwegian standards this is reasonably priced hotel and the cost of a twin-bedded room for 2 persons and including full breakfast was pleasantly low - I though they'd made a mistake but "no sir, the price is correct!" was the reply when I queried the bill!
We'll be back - this is too good to miss!

Room Tip: For less noise get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    212
    126
    21
    20
See reviews for
58
118
37
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The cathedral is located 300 m away, and the bells ring four times per hour, during the night. Making it impossible to sleep, even with the windows closed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
712 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I've stayed at the Thon Hotel Maritim twice when I moved to and from Stavanger. They have apartments for longer stays with a small kitchen located across from the city center and a short walk (2 minutes) to the domestic ferry terminal. The main hotel is located across from Brieavatnet Lake and the cathedral and has a restaurant where the breakfast is served for all of the guests.

The rooms in the main hotel are small, but still are nice. The layout is somewhat weird as you weave across different hallways and floors to get to the back part of the hotel, but is easy to figure out. Like many hotels in Norway, you will need to use your room card to operate the lights.

If you are a light sleeper I would recommend a room away from the street, as local residents drunkenly make their way back home at all hours on weekends. Otherwise there is not much noise concerns.

For the price, the Thon Hotel Maritim isone of the best hotels if you want to stay in downtown Stavanger. There are higher end ones, but they also cost much more for the same level of service. You are in walking distance to the train/bus station and ferry terminal and all of the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel in January 2011. I had booked 5 single rooms as we were a committee travelling together. It turned out two of us did not get to stay at the hotel, but had to stay in a apartments belonging to the hotel some 300 m away. This rather large and empty apartment was perceived at somewhat scary for the single lady that was put there. It might have been an ok solution had we been contacted about this arrangement beforehand - we were not. Thon Hotel Maritim is quite expensive. Thon hotels are generally reasonably priced; this one is an exeption. And, as others have expressed (in Norwegian reviews), I found my hotel room too warm with little possibility for adjustment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I booked a two week stay at the Thon apartments after having stayed in the nearby Thon Hotel. I thought the quality would be on par with the hotel but was disappointed. The rooms are dark, finishings outdated, and layout poorly thought out. Storage is at a bare minimum and while the apartment is large the space is not properly used. When I put up the door hangar up, indicating I would like the apartment cleaned Icame home to find a hand written note from the cleaning staff saying they only clean once a week. Why give me the door hangar then and what exactly was I paying for? There is a daily surcharge for coffee and tea but these items are not refilled on a daily basis, nor did I used them so there goes $6 a day for nothing.

I would never stay at these apartments again. It was not worth the cost at all. Depressing apartment for a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up or you will get to listen to the music from the shop below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowBrow_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The Hotel has a perfect location in the heart of Stavanger. Don't opt for one of the apartments as they are well over priced, need updating and totally cut off from the hotel.
The guy at the reception told me that I had one of the best ones!...To be honest it was horrible, and totally lacked any kind of appeal...kind of like staying in an old caravan! and very expensive.....outside on the terrace all the plants, chairs were blown over (and had been left that way) for some time....I think the hotel itself is nice.....but if they offer you an apartment....SAY NO WAY!

Room Tip: Do not except one of the over priced, out of date apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Thon Maritim Apartments in Stavanger for four weeks on business. The room I had was equipped with a small kitchen, lounge, bathroom (with washing machine) and bedroom. It was pretty basic but very handy when living away from home for that length of time. The main problem with my room was the noise from the road and pedestrians outside, be warned if staying here it is very noisy and all of my colleagues passed comment on this. On top of the noise I did not find the bed very comfortable as it was two squeezed together in the way that is fairly common in Europe but it was not a great success in this case as they kept moving apart in the night. Breakfast is served at the main Hotel a short walk up the road and its quite good with a reasonable choice. Not much to report really - its a business Hotel and it does not appear to want to be anything but.

Room Tip: The main hotel has free wifi in the lobby but the apartment rooms have internet accessible by cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertolucci77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
759 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Maritim

Property: Thon Hotel Maritim
Address: Kongsgaten 32, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Maritim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing