We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Maritim
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is located in a very convenient point of Stavanger, beside a beautiful lake. The city center and the port is very close. It offers all the necessary facilities and the breakfast is delicious and full.
The wi-fi connection is very fast at all points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aigagros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Aigagros,

Thank you for a great review!

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger and also our breakfast. A good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels.

We hope to welcome you one more time at Thon Hotel Maritim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the Thon Apartments which is located three blocks down from the main hotel. We enjoyed the location which is close to the lake, all the shops and restaurants. The one bedroom apartment had a small kitchen, living room with desk, small table for dining, washer/dryer and a nice bedroom. The apartment was clean and had everything that we needed for a 3 week stay. A grocery store was right across the street which made it nice for buying food for meals. You may want to request a room that is not facing the main street of Klubbgata, if you are staying in the apartments. It can get loud with traffic and weekend partiers, especially if you have the windows open in warmer weather. The hotel building that is in a different location sits back a little more from the main street so it may not be as noisy. The breakfast offered in the main hotel is wonderful and offers a large variety of food. We ate there every morning for 3 weeks and did not tire of the choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kye Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Kye Q,

Thank you for a great review!

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to welcome you to us again in the future! It is always nice to read such a detailed and positive feedback. We really appreciate it.

Our hotel and the Thon Apartments are located in the city centre. I also think that it is good to have everything really close.

We hope to welcome you again at Thon Hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thon maritime is a very good located hotel in Stavanger with a quality breakfast. the backward point is street noises and old bathroom facilities. The lifts are so old. I like the lobby and coffee machine. staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room in upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Ethan E,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger and our good breakfast. This is a big focus point in Thon Hotels!
Regarding the noise, bathrooms and lifts, I really have good news for you. We already refurbished our bathrooms on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor. We hope to progress soon! We will get new elevators and windows during 2014.

I hope you will try out Thon Hotel Maritim again and have a look on all the changes :-)

I do thank you again for your review, customer responses make us better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was here on business for about 10 days in mid-March. The hotel staff is great and actually confirmed my booking mid-flight, since I was late in submitting my reservation. Check-in was smooth. American hotel rooms tend to be quite large and was expecting a very tiny accommodation. I was pleased to find a large room (by European standards), which was clean orderly, and had a good sized desk for work. The room was cleaned each day and the bed made. Breakfast was served each morning and is worth the $11 you pay for it. For those who have not travelled to Norway, be aware everything is expensive. The food was excellent and had many varieties to choose from. I suppose the only negative was that on Saturday night, there was a lot of street commotion that kept me up for a while. From what I've heard,Stavanger has a good night life and this is expected. Just ask for a high room if you are an extremely light sleeper. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnygman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Johnnygman.

Thank you for a great review!

I'm glad to see that you found our staff great. A good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels and I`m happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

The nightlife is really good in Stavanger, of course sometimes a little bit noisy. But we work hard to change the hotel windows this year. We hope to welcome you to us again in the future and you can try out the new insulated windows :-) But you are right - a high room is great - enjoy the view over Stavanger!

I thank you again for a very pleasant review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here last weekend because we thought the location, right in the middle of Stavanger, would be nice for a Christmas shopping trip. The location was the only plus to this hotel. Our room was simply depressing, laminated wood flooring, tired off white walls and very little furniture. No rugs, no pictures on any of the walls and the furniture was old and tired. For this we paid NOK 1300 (USD 210)? I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason- avoid it, there are many other hotels in Stavanger that are better and at least have some atmosphere. If this is the standard of the Thon hotels then avoid them all together.

Room Tip: Don´stay in 526
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Scott K,
Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to see that you did not find your stay with us enjoyable.

All our rooms were fully refurbished in 2011. It's always a matter of taste, and we're sorry to see you didn't enjoy our style.

The style of each Thon Hotel is different - try them out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We ve stayed in a single room and a double. on the 6 th floor on the 6 th of December. The rooms were very nice but sound proofness was very bad. Breakfast was great. We did not try dinner as on Fridays the restaurant is not open to guests. Fortunately plenty of options around though. Stavanger is beautiful and seeing it all snowy with xmas decoration all over was a great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear marina0207,
Thank you for your detailed review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger and our breakfast. A good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels.

The hotel is located in the city center, and hence, some noise can occur. In addition it’s Christmas party season which unfortunately can create more noise than normal.

I do thank you again for your review, customer responses make us better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was just nice nothing fantastic about. The room was pretty small kinda like a Box but nice and cosy. The bathroom has nice hot water showers which was best in the cold weather. However the hotel did not provide complimentary minerla water and was aksed to fill in the water in a jug from down the reception which was quite wierd.

The hotel is located opposite the lake and near to the chapel which was good location. There were many eating joints, super markets, shoppings which was walking distance from the hotel. Overall the hotel was just nice to stay .. nothing much to enjoy in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi Megz77,

Thank you for your response!

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger.
The size of our standard rooms are according to Scandinavian standards, and we do also offer upgraded rooms which are bigger in size.

We hope to welcome you back to Thon Hotels in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Maritim

Address: Kongsgaten 32, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £79 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Maritim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing