We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and spacious, but not so good location”
Review of Hotel Alstor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alstor
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and spacious, but not so good location”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Very helpful reception staff, very spacious room and toilet, and very clean hotel overall, despite it being motel like in design. Nice residential and quiet neighborhood, but also quite far from the downtown. Overall good for a short stay and if you have a car.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you very much for staying with First Hotel Alstor and for writing us a review.

We are glad that you liked the rooms and that our staff made an impression on you. Regarding the location you are right that we are 2 kilometers from the city. It is a 20 to 30 minute walk to the city center or about 7 to 10 minutes with a public bus.

Since you visited us we have reopened our swimming pool which is free for First Member (free membership available at our reception), and we hope you wake advantage of this if you return to Stavanger and First Hotel Alstor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    70
    48
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
46
15
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

2 star Hotel to 5 star + price!
Bathroom and Toilet far below expected standard. Paid over 2400nok pr night.
125nok for a substandard breakfast, powdered scrambled eggs, cheap baked beans.
Will not stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear ksvellingen,

Thank you very much for writing a review. Despite it not being very positive, First Hotel Alstor appreciate all feedback from our valuable guests.

Stavanger can be an expensive city to stay in when it come to hotels mid-week if reservation is made late. Your reservation were made for a Superior double room at a late stage, and the price was clearly mention on the booking site before you decided to make the reservation.

I would recommend to ensure the reservation is made earlier next time as a single room mid-week can be available at a low 1080 NOK.

First Hotel Alstor would also like to point out that we provide breakfast free of charge with our rooms, so no additional payment is necessary.

Our hotel were renovated in 2011/12. At that time we completely renovated approximately 20 of our bathrooms. For the remaining bathrooms we do constant smaller upgrades.

We look forward to welcome you back to First Hotel Alstor in the future, and hope you have done your reservation as early as possible to benefit from our lowest mid-week prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel was easy to locate from the airport. It was great value for money. The bed was so comfortable and there was even spare pillows etc. The receptionist brought a kettle to the room so we could have hot drinks. Excellent service all round. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieBlue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear BonnieBlue19,

Thank you very much for writing us a positive review.

We constantly work to become even better, so we value all feedback. As we have just installed what is probably the best TV-system in Stavanger with almost 30 free quality channels, we are now working on creating an even better breakfast experience than we already have.

All at First Hotel Alstor wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. We also look very much forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel is located outside Stavanger centre, 10-15 minutes with the Shuttle bus from the Airport. The bus stop is about 400m from the hotel. The hotel is housed in an old property near a very nice lake.
The room was spaciousv and nicely decorated, with very nice colours. It was clean and the bed comfortable bed.
The staff was very nice and friendly.
I was expecting a better variety of International TV-channels, and that was a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear SaladaVerde.

Thank you very much for your positive review. We also value your suggestion for improvement of our product.

We have 20 available television channels as of today, but we have noticed that some of our guests feel the variety of International channels could be better. Based on these feedbacks we are now in negotiations with our provider to expand the number of channels and ensure there are more international channels. It is our hope that by January 2013 we shall be able to provide an even better mix of television channels than we have today!

All staff are delighted that we came across as we would like - friendly and nice.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you again soon, hopefully with a better mix of television channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The room rate includes a full buffet breakfast which is excellent. Fresh fruit, all types of cheese, yogurt, cereal, bacon and eggs, etc. Dinner is also served with a limited menu but the food was very good with excellent service. The rooms are adequate and the beds are quite comfortable.I found the staff to be most helpful and I was always greeted with a smile at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauld886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Pauld886,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We hugely appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. My staff were also over the moon that you noticed the positive service we do out best to provide at our small hotel.

All of us hope to see you back at our hotel as our guest at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uksatman
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Clean and contemporary in style , large bedrooms with balcony, a no fuss but with style hotel that is good for the money value especially in Norway but just outside of the town, taxi fares out way any savings on room?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uksatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear uksatman,

Thank you very much for your positive reply. We at First Hotel Alstor love to get feedback from our guests.

We are located about 25 minutes walk outside of the city center as you mention. It is possible to take a bus which take 5 minutes, or you would have to take a taxi which cost between 135 and 160 NOK.

As we are located close to nature, sport arenas, art gallery and more we hope our guests see as as value for money. Just like you did :-).

Me and my staff look forward to welcome you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Location could be better, but I was surprised to find this hotel better than some of the hotels in the city centre. The good part about the location was that we didn't hear the usual "Saturday night shouting"..The size of the room was good, but the bathroom was small. The best part of the room was the beds. Slept like a log!

The hotel staff was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Jacob,

Thank you very much for writing your review after a stay at our hotel. We do value all feedback and always try to improve for future visits and guests.

We are situated approximately 2 kilometers from the city centre, but close to nature, convention halls, sports arenas and a main road that make it easy to get to the city centre. One of the added benefits at our place is as you mention that the noise level is low. I am very glad that you enjoyed that.

Our rooms is generally much more spacious than what is the case with newly built hotels. But you are correct in that a number of our bathrooms are smaller due to that it was custom when the hotel was built. However, we do have a number of rooms with a bit larger bathrooms, so please do not hesitate to ask for one the next time if you would like and we will do our best to see if one is available.

Thank you for noticing my brilliant hotel staff and our Jensen beds. We hope to welcome you back again us and we will ensure you find the same amount of charm and good atmosphere the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Svithun Hotel
St. Svithun Hotel
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#8 of 27 in Stavanger
586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alstor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alstor

Property: Hotel Alstor
Address: Tjensvollveien 31, Stavanger 4021, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alstor 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 2 kilometers from the city center of Stavanger, close to a small lake with beautiful natural surrondings. At the same time we have the best access to all major roads. We offer FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking, a delicous breakfast and modern rooms with flatscreen televisions with all the channels you would expect and more.All rooms in Hotel Alstor have a desk and own bathroom with shower. More than half of our rooms also have balcony.You can relax after a long day in our lounge area or dine in our restaurant which serve Norwegian specialities and international favourites from Monday to Thursday.The paths that circle the lake or go into the forrest are ideal for walking, running or bicycling. Only a few minutes away you will find Stavanger Forum, all major sports arenas and less than 10 minutes away you can enjoy some golf.NOTE:Hotel Alstor have been through a MAJOR renovation that ended in September 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alstor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing