We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alstor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alstor
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for just under two weeks and I'm really pleased with the quality of my stay.
I had a lovely double room downstairs with a sliding door leading out to the patio. My room was also right next to the swimming pool. The swimming pool and sauna facilities are free of charge for hotel guests, you just need to activate a card daily so you can enter, which can be obtained from and done quickly at the reception. The pool is slightly heated and the surrounding area is kept clean.
Free wifi and NO need for email logins for each device despite what other reviewers have said, you just find it and connect, that is all.
The staff are lovely and helpful here too. Will be staying here again!

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs have patio access and are generally quieter than upstairs. Mine was at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nata Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    63
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
26
40
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My room was great. Breakfast was ok. Easy to find a space for the car. The door to the room was not the thickest so if you are sound sensitive this is not the place. Lobby is ok with access to bar and restaurant. The Hamburger is not worth the money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelingsalesrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
354 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Rather indistinct, standard hotel: rooms are quite small but ok. The lobby is very nice with a fire-place. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is good. Internet WIFI access is free but requires log-in with an email and every device needs a separate access code (which is really tedious!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were only here two nights. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the center of Stavanger. You can go to the center on foot, on the road which is near the lake shore, you will be able to enjoy the park, if the weather is good. The hotel has free parking for cars! Receptionist was very helpful and got a room right away. The room is spacious, renovated, flat-screen TV and comfortable beds. But the room is not a mini bar, cups, glasses, and hair dryer ... Sitting coffee machine, where you can at any time to make coffee tea or cocoa. The hotel has a swimming pool and sauna. Breakfast was very good food and a good choice of fruit. Others got breakfast boxes because we had to leave at night. We liked everything except for small gaps. If you book a room on the hotel's website, you will save! Next time for sure I'll live with this hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keliones04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Apparently the first hotel in Stavanger (a cabbie told me). Decent standard but too many small irritating things to put me off:
- They don't open checkin before 3pm. Frustrating when you arrive at 1pm.
- The restaurant isn't open for you to have a meal/drink while you wait for the checkin (they could have earned some easy money on me there).
- Closest restaurant (perhaps except Rica Forum hotel restaurant) is a taxi ride away, so you might as well head down town (as I had to).
- When I finally checked in, I was told there were no more rooms in the category I had booked (double room). Receptionist: 'Would you like a single room at the same rate?' Not really.
- Asked to get a double room the next day, but still not available. I could get a single room rate upon check out though (which didn't happen).
- Bath room was a remnant from their 70's and 80's modernisation (yes, both). Had to sit askew on the WC as the bathroom sink is in the way.
- The bar closes at 10.30pm! When back from an evening meal in Stavanger, the barman was closing, referring us to the reception mini bar (?!), where we could buy a beer, and go back to the bar and get a glass from the barman and watch the remainder of the football match..

The list goes on. On the positive side, the free wifi worked with not too much hassle and breakfast was pretty good.

I won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicsonada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the First Hotel Alstor for our 4 night trip in Stavanger. We found it perfect for us. It was cozy and we slept like babies. I loved the hotel decor and breakfast was yummy. It is about a 30 minute walk to the city, but my husband and I love walking so it was great! Plus, there is a lovely park across the street from the hotel that you can walk through. You can take the park most of the way to the city.

The bus from the airport stops near the hotel (10 minute walk) and actually, we got there at midnight and the bus driver actually dropped us off right infront of our hotel which was quite nice of him.

The staff was decent. Not overly friendly, but still helpful when we needed anything.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and for sure, stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room which was on the bottom floor. It was a bit noisy sometimes due to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for three nights, On a family summer trip, The place was very nice to stay and a great value for money, The staff were very friendly, The breakfast included in the price was great, there are no other resturants around and the dinner facilities is limited according to weekdays/ends. The hotel is located obout 3 KM from town but a nice sorrounding, enjoyed the walking trip to the city centre along the lake. And there is the art museum near by if you are interested. Any way thanks to First Hotls Alstor for the Hotel-Home (in my daughters classification) for the overall service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltnPepper778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#22 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alstor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alstor

Property: Hotel Alstor
Address: Tjensvollveien 31, Stavanger 4021, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alstor 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 2 kilometers from the city center of Stavanger, close to a small lake with beautiful natural surrondings. At the same time we have the best access to all major roads. We offer FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking, a delicous breakfast and modern rooms with flatscreen televisions with all the channels you would expect and more.All rooms in Hotel Alstor have a desk and own bathroom with shower. More than half of our rooms also have balcony.You can relax after a long day in our lounge area or dine in our restaurant which serve Norwegian specialities and international favourites from Monday to Thursday.The paths that circle the lake or go into the forrest are ideal for walking, running or bicycling. Only a few minutes away you will find Stavanger Forum, all major sports arenas and less than 10 minutes away you can enjoy some golf.NOTE:Hotel Alstor have been through a MAJOR renovation that ended in September 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alstor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing