We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical conference hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Forum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Forum
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Typical conference hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here three days while on a business trip to Stavanger.

The service in the reception and in the sky bar / restaurant was good, even though the restaurant were over prized compared to the actual quality of the food served there. For instance the fish soup costs nearly NOK 200 and it was not even hot when I received it, and otherwise just ordinary. Consider paying NOK 90 for a beer, and then it is beer from the Tou brewery as well and not even good.

My room was in the 10th floor and the view was nice. A quite small room and an ordinary bed, and I missed a small table beside the bed. TV worked fine but the wifi was one of the worst I’ve experienced in a very long time, very slow and nearly not possible to use.

Bathroom was fine with a good shower.

The meeting rooms we used were quite ordinary as well and not very well equipped either.

Breakfast was ordinary also.

Lunch was quite good both days.

Location of the hotel is a couple of kilometers from downtown Stavanger and there is nothing to do in this area really.

Conclusion: I have used the word ordinary several times, thus this is my conclusion; just another ordinary hotel, but the service was quite good, that must be mentioned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us, but am sure we can do even better next time around. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    123
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
38
59
17
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Finding a hotel room in Stavanger can be difficult, and iÍ ended up in the easy choice of no hotel or the outrageous price of 2540 kroner for a totally ordinary single room outside of the city centre. If the price was half of this, I wouldn´t have objected, but for this sum of money I would at least expect a junior suite or some kind if luxury. What I got was a cramped room, lousy TV quality, no decent clothes hangers and stained furniture. I total rip off! I will not come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry about you poor experience with us, but am sure we can do even better next time around. The prices are nowhere near as expensive, and our hotel has had an upgrade in many of the rooms. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel was lovely. The breakfast is the best i have ever eaten ! It was immaculate and the staff in the restaurant were really friendly and helpful - they even had dairy free milk ! The only slightly bad point is the location, its slightly out of the way however, the bus services are great and it is also closer to the airport. The restaurant on the top floor has the most amazing views. I'd definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: try to get a room as high up as possible to see the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were happy with your stay with us and please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

When you first get here it seems cold and sterile, but that proved to be wrong. The staff was very professional and took care of business. Very clean,and salmon for dinner was great. Breakfast was good assortment of items, but the strudel and the cream puffs are all you need! Don't bother with eggs, bacon, waffles, go for the cream puffs you will be very happy. The only negative was size of room, what a joke! Not enough room for two adults, if you have more than one suitcase there is nowhere to put them. All else good just waaaay to small!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us and please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future, as we do have bigger rooms that could have solved your problem. These rooms also have amazing views over the entire city and beyond.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel looks cold and formal being that it is a high tower up on the hill in Stavanger, However, actually the opposite is true. the hotel is friendly and very accommodating. As in most places in Norway, language is NOT a barrier in that all those under 50, generally speak very, very good english. We came in very late, close to midnight, but this was not a problem, they treated us no different than if we had come in at 16:00. Our room was clean and not that small compared to other hotel rooms in Norway. Breakfast in the morning was truly exceptional, literally 10 if not 20 different choices for food types to eat. Everything you could possibly think of to eat. They personally serve you coffee or tea at your table, though it is self-serve breakfast. If you don't see what you like, just ask, I did, and got it, no problem ! Wow ! Very friendly staff. We never go any place else when in Stavanger. I assume that the other Rica hotel in Stavanger, the Rica Park, closer to the harbor, is the same though have never stayed there. you will not go wrong staying here when in Stavanger. Perfect !

Room Tip: Try the restaurant and the breakfast area, terrific !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moldejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were happy with your stay with us and please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
213 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a room on 17th floor. Fabulous views blocked in part, unfortunately by the mist and fog. The room was plenty large for two if you don't need to move around too much. Why they charge for regular TV channels, but give free WiFi I don't understand. Comfy bed, very clean, interesting shower design. The conference center is adjacent, but the city center is about 2 km away, but a pleasant walk even in the mist. As much as I enjoyed the walk, I might look for something near the city center in the future. Great service and good breakfast in the breakfast room on 21st floor. Nice desk clerk who is really helpful. Construction going on around the hotel and at the hotel are not at all inconvenient and really a non-issue.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on 21st floor. Even numbered rooms may have a more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us (even though we are not right in the city centre) and please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed one night at the Rica Forum, and while the hotel itself is fine, it does nothing to impress me. Location is a bit away from the downtown area, but most guests are probably in town for some conference in the area. The hotel has wifi in all rooms, as to be expected and boasts an impressive view if the weather is nice. The lack of a gym and pool is in part compensated by the fact that you can run aroun the nearby Mosvatnet if you're in need of some excercise. Breakfast was OK, and the service good. All in all, no catastrophes, but no wow-factor either.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view (obviously).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frjohnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us, but am sure we can do even better next time around. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Forum

Property: Scandic Forum
Address: Gunnar Warebergs gate 17, Stavanger 4021, Norway (Formerly Rica Forum Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Forum 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Forum is Rogaland's tallest hotel - 85 m high, with well equipped rooms, most of which are spacious double rooms with ample work space. The suites are on the 20th floor. Free WIFI in the entire hotel and several conference rooms. The hotel's restaurant offer breakfast, lunch, as well as an a la carte menu and bar with a stunning view of Stavanger from the 21st floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Forum Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing