We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Forum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Forum
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Le Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Functional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I only stayed for one night and that was fine. My room was comfortable and I slept well; there was no noise from the next door elevator of which I was pleased! Everything worked well and the view is delightful overlooking the lake; pleasant for walking or running around. It's a nice walk from the hotel to the harbourside (about 45 minutes). Lots of youngsters staying at the same time irritated my colleagues with their noise but I had no problem on my floor. The elevators are annoying as there are only three and they seem to take forever to arrive! The 21st floor makes a great location for the restaurant, although during our stay it felt rather like a university canteen than a decent restaurant...not sure if that's because of all the young people or the general lack of atmosphere anyway. My bag was delayed with SAS and was brought to my room by the hotel staff at 7am, with a smile!

Room Tip: The corner rooms seem a quirky shape so might be fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you got a good nights sleep and that your room met expectations. We are also glad that you enjoyed the delightful view, which is something we are very fortunate to have.
During your stay there were quite a few young tennis players staying at the hotel, which was due to the Norwegian Youth Championships in Tennis taking place just over the road. It was unfortunate that your colleagues had a bad experience because of this, and we can only apologize for this.

This may also explain why it felt more like a university canteen during your stay, as we had an offer for the tennis players during their stay. This is of course no excuse, as the restaurant should still be of the standard we and you expect, so if you were unhappy with the food or the experience, feel free to get in touch with me during your next stay.

If you decide to return to Stavanger in the near future, we will look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Best regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Rica Forum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    120
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
38
58
17
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very friendly staff, great breakfast for all diets: LCHF, fruits/juices or 100 % protein - the view from the dining room unforgettable. Note - fine running trail just outside the hotel.
Conference facility needs more attention on hardware.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Annette,

Firstly, thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We promote good customer service, which is of high importance here at Rica Forum Hotel, so am glad that you were left with a feeling of our staff being very friendly.

We also aim to give our guests the best possible start to the day with an excellent breakfast, and we try to cover all the various diets and requirements for all our guests. I am therefore glad you noticed this, and with the fantastic morning view of Stavanger from the 21st floor, there are few better places to have breakfast.

Our conference facility is actually going to be getting a "facelift" this year, as we also felt it was time to replace some of the hardware in a couple of our rooms. We will therefore have even better facilites to offer our guests than we already had.

Thank you once again for taking the time to recommend our hotel and we hope to welcome you once again to Rica Forum Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Marc Dudley,
Service Manager, Rica Forum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel because of business. Pleasantly surprised about the service rooms and offers. The food at the restaurant was good. They managed to cook a steak almost to perfection.

Room was smallish, but had a nice layout. Functional in other words. Bathroom was perfectly okay, nothing spectacular, but enough space to actually move around in.

Service at the hotel was friendly and professional.

The number of tv channels was a acceptable.

Considering that the hotel is the tallest building around makes the view pretty good. No matter what side of the building it is good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised after your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the food at our restaurant. We aim to provide good quality service and food to our customers, so we are pleased that you received this during your stay at our hotel.

Our standard rooms are like you said, functional, but they are of the same standard size as most of the other hotels in Norway. These rooms are good for short stays but we do recommend our bigger junior suites for those staying for longer periods, as these rooms have sofas/sitting group, more room to move about and spectacular views over the local area. Do get in touch with the hotel if you are planning a long stay and we can maybe work out a better price than the ones you find on the internet.

Our TV-package has the standard Norwegian TV-channels + extra channels after recommendations from our frequent stayers. We therefore feel we have channels for everybody, but we of course are open to recommendations from our guests if they feel there is a particular channel missing. The TV, is for some, the most important feature of the room and it is therefore important that everybody is happy with this offer.

And yes, we are very lucky to have amazing views from all of our rooms, but of course the higher the room, the better the view.

We thank you again for writing a review and wish you a warm welcome back to our hotel the next time you visit Stavanger.

Best regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Rica Forum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I like the the Rica Forum Hotel for its good value and its great location next to the Mosvatnet lake which provides a very pleasant training run. The Hotel itself is good value for money and has some quirky rooms with large panoramic windows giving good views over the surrounding area. I like hotels that experiment with different room layouts as the usual square room gets to be very boring. Good furnishings and comfortable beds make for a relaxing stay and a good nights sleep.

The restaurant on the 21st floor provides an excellent breakfast with great views. The evening menu is a little limited although the food is good quality. The menu does not seem to change very much which is disappointing.

I stay here as often as I can and always enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: rooms ending 01 are on the rounded end of the building and have large panoramic windows and large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Im-away-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We are really lucky to have beautiful surroundings at our hotel, which makes for great views and enjoyable runs or walks around the lake. It is often a preferred stay for business people who like to get away from the noisy city center, making their stay a bit more relaxing. We are also glad that you like the rooms and beds, as getting a good nights sleep is very important.

It is also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and food, as the Rica hotel chain prides itself on its “Good breakfast” concept, so a good breakfast is very important for both us and our guests.

As for how often we change our menu, we can understand this can be a problem for our frequent stayers. The menu has been updated since you wrote the review, as it is updated in line with the various seasons of the year. This is due to our local produce agreement, which means we rely on what is available locally each season when making the menu. We have increased the number of choices on the main course menu, but we are still firm believers of quality rather than quantity, so hopefully you can understand this.

We thank you for choosing our hotel as you “place to stay” during your visits to Stavanger and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Rica Forum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel has a great location for conferences but is far from everything else. Breakfast is a good buffet style with plenty of options, they have some good smoothies and a great view. Rooms are not big but clean and modern. Internet was not fast enough but there were plenty of plug connections to recharge your appliances. The hotel gives you an modern feeling but expect to wait on elevators especially in the morning. The tower catches a lot of wind when it is windy you cannot open the windows for the noise.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us and please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future, and I will do what I can to make it an even better one.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here three days while on a business trip to Stavanger.

The service in the reception and in the sky bar / restaurant was good, even though the restaurant were over prized compared to the actual quality of the food served there. For instance the fish soup costs nearly NOK 200 and it was not even hot when I received it, and otherwise just ordinary. Consider paying NOK 90 for a beer, and then it is beer from the Tou brewery as well and not even good.

My room was in the 10th floor and the view was nice. A quite small room and an ordinary bed, and I missed a small table beside the bed. TV worked fine but the wifi was one of the worst I’ve experienced in a very long time, very slow and nearly not possible to use.

Bathroom was fine with a good shower.

The meeting rooms we used were quite ordinary as well and not very well equipped either.

Breakfast was ordinary also.

Lunch was quite good both days.

Location of the hotel is a couple of kilometers from downtown Stavanger and there is nothing to do in this area really.

Conclusion: I have used the word ordinary several times, thus this is my conclusion; just another ordinary hotel, but the service was quite good, that must be mentioned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were more or less happy with your stay with us, but am sure we can do even better next time around. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Finding a hotel room in Stavanger can be difficult, and iÍ ended up in the easy choice of no hotel or the outrageous price of 2540 kroner for a totally ordinary single room outside of the city centre. If the price was half of this, I wouldn´t have objected, but for this sum of money I would at least expect a junior suite or some kind if luxury. What I got was a cramped room, lousy TV quality, no decent clothes hangers and stained furniture. I total rip off! I will not come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D, Service Manager at Scandic Forum, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry about you poor experience with us, but am sure we can do even better next time around. The prices are nowhere near as expensive, and our hotel has had an upgrade in many of the rooms. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you return to Stavanger and our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Marc Dudley
Service Manager, Scandic Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Forum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Forum

Property: Scandic Forum
Address: Gunnar Warebergs gate 17, Stavanger 4021, Norway (Formerly Rica Forum Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Forum 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Forum is Rogaland's tallest hotel - 85 m high, with well equipped rooms, most of which are spacious double rooms with ample work space. The suites are on the 20th floor. Free WIFI in the entire hotel and several conference rooms. The hotel's restaurant offer breakfast, lunch, as well as an a la carte menu and bar with a stunning view of Stavanger from the 21st floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Forum Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing