We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gadja

Gadja
Ranked #20 of 190 Restaurants in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A new experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a pretty basic but lovely little Ethiopian restaurant.
The prices are very cheap compared to the area, but portions are pretty small too. You eat with your hands and taste Ethiopian food; great for a dinner with friends. Order several dishes and try something new!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiLegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exciting Menu, Great Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

The food at Gadja is an exciting change of pace from other restaurants in the area. Great choices for both meat eaters and vegetarians alike. For 2+ people, I highly recommend ordering both meat and vegetarian sampler platters, then sharing everything...Brilliant! The service is also friendly, and you get great value for your money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVG_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iserlohn, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nearly authentic ethiopian reastuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

at this restaurant we have been at early evening the only guests.
as i lived in ethiopia, i can maybe tell sth. about the quality.
we ordered tips (beef & lamb) and kitfo.

all was quiet authentic.

i guess the price was still quiet "cheap" for norway restaurants.

we all liked the food!

give it a chance

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holykameltreiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ethiopian Food top notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The food here is great..not spicy, very aromatic and tasty. Not super expensive according to Norwegian standards..You can get a great meal for 145 NOK.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimtai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gadja also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Gadja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing