We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but expected better”
Review of Fish & Cow

Fish & Cow
Ranked #30 of 195 Restaurants in Stavanger
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but expected better”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Recently took my husband to Fish & Cow to celebrate his birthday. Had heard much praise from others beforehand, so expectations were high. Unfortunately, the experience did not live up to our expectations.

First of all, the interior of the restaurant looks a bit unfinished. Also, the chairs are extremely uncomfortable to sit on.
Second, the staff could do with smiling a bit more. We found the athmosphere to be a bit tense, or even forced.
Third, the food was good, but not great. Again, we expected better.

Good location, good wine-list and nice bar area are on the plus-side.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDTStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    116
    64
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with good range of prices on the menu”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You can have a burger in this restaurant, but a you can also have a 3-course menu which is close to what you can get in a gourmet restaurant. The owner of the Tango restaurant opened recently Fish&Cow to offer good food but at a lowerprice than in Tango, and I think he succeeded. You should book in advance your table, especially during the weekend. The advice for chosing the wine was good, and they didn't push us to buy the whole bottle, even though they opened it in front of us (we just had 1 glass each).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deliscious meat place!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The place to go if you want entrecote close to gourmet level. When you want really good food without having a 5 to 7 course gourmet evening. Just a normal 3-course but with really good food! All dishes are inspired and with creative touch. Far above average! And they have an excellent wine list as well. Same people who are behind Tango. But be aware; the place is a bit noisy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oystein1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great location and nice menu - food could have been hotter”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to this restaurant with some clients. Its i a great location and offers a good choice menu. The service was great.

Our food was good, well presented, but I feel it could have been a little hotter - but all in all a good meal and I'm sure I will return when next in Stavanger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJB333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch - a bit slow service”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had a great lunch (shellfish risotto). Overall the food was great - although the service was a bit on the slow side (hence not the full 5-star rating). But yes I would eat there again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank THN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish & Cow also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Fish & Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing