We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice of dinner fare”
Review of Fish & Cow

Fish & Cow
Ranked #29 of 195 Restaurants in Stavanger
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice of dinner fare”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came in without a reservation and were quickly seated. Service was good and food high quality. Modern motif.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bestemor03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    116
    63
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive, but you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend ate a three course meal and bought a glass of champagne. We shared all our food, so i actually tasted six dishes that evening and it tasted wonderfull! Many years since i've tasted something so good with a nice gourmet style.

Can't understand all the bad reviews you people write about fish and cow here on trip advisor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food was very good.

I would also say it was quite expensive (30 euros for a lobster soup).

The environment was ok as well as the location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicaiglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but expected better”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Recently took my husband to Fish & Cow to celebrate his birthday. Had heard much praise from others beforehand, so expectations were high. Unfortunately, the experience did not live up to our expectations.

First of all, the interior of the restaurant looks a bit unfinished. Also, the chairs are extremely uncomfortable to sit on.
Second, the staff could do with smiling a bit more. We found the athmosphere to be a bit tense, or even forced.
Third, the food was good, but not great. Again, we expected better.

Good location, good wine-list and nice bar area are on the plus-side.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDTStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with good range of prices on the menu”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You can have a burger in this restaurant, but a you can also have a 3-course menu which is close to what you can get in a gourmet restaurant. The owner of the Tango restaurant opened recently Fish&Cow to offer good food but at a lowerprice than in Tango, and I think he succeeded. You should book in advance your table, especially during the weekend. The advice for chosing the wine was good, and they didn't push us to buy the whole bottle, even though they opened it in front of us (we just had 1 glass each).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish & Cow also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Fish & Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing