We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad "hotel" in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stavanger Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Stavanger B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here for 10 days during work. It cannot be called a hotel. The rooms are not clean, they don't take out the trash or change the beds and towels. I had to ask for this every day. The whole hotel looks very old and is not very inviting.

A lot of noise during the night, lot of banging of doors. You can hear straight through both walls and doors. The only toilet was located outside my room so every time somebody flushed in the toilet I could hear it in the shower located in my room. Madras are ok but pillows are very small.

Internet is not good, slow surfing.

The breakfast has dry old bread, not new baked like it says in the website. The rest was not fresh and had gone sour and hard. It had been laying to long openly in the buffet. Coffee does not taste good and missing milk in the buffet.

My colleague had only cold water under the whole stay and the reception didn't do anything about it.

We heard from a man in Stavanger that in this hotel the basement and third floor is housing drug addicts to keep them of the street. And we can confirm this.

We were gonna stay there for ten more days but are now changing hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kenbosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke E, Manager at Stavanger Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

We thank you for your review. We appreciate constructive comments and we always work to improve the qualitly of our little "Bed & Breakfast".

We find this incident really peculiar ourselves since it does not correspond neither to the quality of our service, nor to the bed & breakfast philosophy. Your valuable insight is a welcome reminder that we should always challenge ourselves as a team, as well as individuals.

Since we were first mentioned on Tripadvisor in July 2010 we had approx. 10.000 guest nights and in these time we had 50 comments on Tripadvisor. Mostly good :-) We are despite this, the second best Bed&Breakfast in the Stavanger area. Some of the comments made, seem wrong and unfair for us.

We offer every morning a fresh and rich breakfast buffet, we serve freshly baked bread and rolls, two different kind of cheese and fresh salads like potatosalad or shrimp salad , all made by us. We have a big collection of cerials , 4 differnet kind of chocolat cremes, fresh salmon and many more. We offer 4 different kind of Milk plus cold O-Juice, The coffee is made every morning fresh and refilled several times a day.

We are also famous and loved for our extra services , like
early breakfast service
laundry service
lunchpack
coffee to go (thermo)
Snacks
free parking
our free fresh and delicious waffles in the evening
coffee and tea 24h for free
free WI-FI
early check in / later check out
a 24 hours reception service
and always a smile on our face :-)

And beside all this, we are still the cheapest place to stay in Stavanger :-)

We are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay , We will try to improve our service more and more and maybe we can welcome you in the future here again :-)

The team of Stavanger Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Stavanger Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

A very quirky place to stay, certainly not run of the mill and in no way luxurious, but it does not pretend to be. Very much what you see is what you get. Its simple clean, and friendly. At the price it takes some beating.

Love the waffels, I thought it was a bit of a joke, but they are super..

if you are looking for cheap, good honest quality, close to the center, it knocks lots of other places out of the playing field..very well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWHibberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke E, Manager at Stavanger Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

thanks for your great rating of our Bed & Breakfast :-)

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

We're looking forward to your next stay.

The team of Stavanger Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This was a great central spot and good for on a budget. The food was lovely, and the waffles at night were a bonus! We met some great people during waffle time and breakfast which was ideal to get a group for Pulpit rock. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The only thing was our room was a little noisy by the hallway entrance and bathroom. Still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

rooms are essential but cosy and silent, bathroom are shared but clean and we never need to wait. Staff is very kind. Central to the city. Very easy to reach the ferry to Tau to go to the pulpit rock. Unforgettable: the 9 pm waffel with all the guest! Breakfast was fine. simply go there!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After Mandal and Eigersund, Stavanger was our third stop on our Norway trip. Our Lonely Planet Guide listed this B&B as one of his suggestions for a nice stay on a budget.
The location was very good, in walking distance to the harbour and the old town.
The staff members (especially Wiebke) was very kind and friendly.
Every night at 9pm, they serve a free waffle with free coffee or tea for every guest. The dining room is quite small and has only 3 tables, so you get in touch easily with the other international guests, which contributes to a good athmosphere.
Our room (number 30) was very tiny, but still bigger than the room they first booked for us (32). It could have been cleaner too (we found a used towel underneath our bed). The bed in this room booked as a double room, was large only 120cm...
The walls are very very thin, so we heard everything that was going on in the room next to ours.
The toilets and showers are in common, and (at least on the 2nd floor) they could use a renovation. They were still ok though.
There was plenty good food for breakfast and you could still arrange your own lunch bag for 40 Nok.
In our opinion, this B&B deserves an overall C+. The prices could be a little bit lower.

Room Tip: The toilet on the first floor was better than the one on the 2nd, and we suppose the rooms there are...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I booked months ago to reserve a twin bedroom. When my traveling date drew nearer, I once again wrote to confirm my booking with Stavanger Bed & Breakfast. Unfortunately, they have given my friend n I a single bedroom!

Due to the b&b is fully booked, we have forced to stay in a small room but still charging twin bedroom!

While I opened my luggage at the corridor, I met a professor who stayed next to us. He was alone but has given a twin bedroom. fortunately, he was kind enough to volunteer to exchange his room with us.

We were blessed!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this B&B and I had to say that it was on of the cheapest location in Stavanger. The staff is really nice and helpful. The room was small, a little bit noisy and not very charming, but we had a pleasant stay there. Maybe a little fat from the center. Be careful where you let your car, ask the staff where you can park, otherwise it could be expensive experience !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#8 of 27 in Stavanger
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stavanger Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stavanger Bed & Breakfast

Address: Vikedalsgata 1A, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stavanger
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stavanger Bed and Breakfast ( B&B ) is a warm and friendly place to stay in the centre of Stavanger. We offer good quality, budget hotel accommodation for our guests.Free wireless internet access.Cable TV in every room.Comprehensive and tasty "home made" breakfast every morning.Norwegian style waffles served at the hotel every evening at 9 pm.Free parking.5 minutes from downtown Stavanger, the "Hurtigbåt" terminal, train and bus and airport coach stations.Helpful hotel staff that speak English, German and French.Come and feel home :-) 2013 , new renovated, new pictures are coming soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stavanger Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stavanger Bed And Breakfast
Stavanger Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing