We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought we'd find a bargain in Norway!”
Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Really glad that we booked this hotel. The room facilities are on a par with the budget chains in the UK. The soundproofing was excellent and you wouldn't know you were next to a hospital if you didn't see all the new parents with babies in cots. The reception staff were really helpful and tolerated our inability to say anything other than takk in Norwegian with good grace.

It's a good 20min walk into town but there are plenty of buses and well marked cycle and footpaths. Definitely worth getting a bus pass instead of paying per journey. Cycling is so easy with routes well marked and separated from traffic making it really easy to get about.

Apart from the price, the winner for this hotel was the breakfast. Fresh, tasty, more than you could possibly eat in a week and even the boiled eggs were done to perfection. The cafe did other meals too, excellent quality and cheaper than most restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb_178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel. I would not let the idea that it is at a Hospital sway you, we never noticed anything particularly hospital-ish about it. We took public transportation to and from the hotel and had no issues. It was clean, and the breakfast was excellent, a lot of choices each day. I would highly recommend the hotel for the price.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank s002axb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A hotel that is in a hospital did not sound that great but it was one of the cheapest hotels I stayed in on my trip to Norway and by far the most comfortable. Breakfast is included, the bus which takes tours to Pulpit Rock stops directly outside and it is only a short 15 minute walk into town. It also has a 24 hour shop on the first floor if needed. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the St. Svithun Hotel for one night only. It is combined with and located next door to the hospital of Stavanger. But actually the hotel area is separated from the hospital with exception of the entrance zone and breakfast area. The rooms are spacious, nice and clean. The bathrooms are very clean and modern. The breakfast buffet offers a good selection of food. It happens that you see pregnant women and young families with their new born babies but that belongs to the special atmosphere of this hotel and didn't bother us at all.
Unfortunately there are extra charges for car parking. As Stavanger is a quite expensive place the rate was reasonable. We had a pleasant stay there and could not complain about anything. Good deal!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I had brought with us our GPS with us on our road trip through Norway this summer and prior to leaving, I had updated it with the coordinates of all our hotels. Well, when we got to Stavanger, we had given up hope that these GPS things are any good because our little TomTom kept telling us our hotel was this huge hospital. We kept driving around and around the hospital looking for this "hotel". Thirty confused minutes later, we called the hotel and asked them where on Earth was it because all we could find is the huge hospital. It says on the hotel confirmation that the hotel is on the same street as the hospital but we couldn’t find it anywhere. They told us we could check-in right next to the hospital’s reception desk.

It's a great hotel but we were just a little *surprised* to find ourselves staying in a wing of a hospital. But by the look of several other people, it didn't seem like we were the only ones surprised.

It's clean and basic and about a 10 or 15-min walk to the city center. There is no breakfast like most hotels in Norway but there is a great cafeteria downstairs (right next to the hotel's check-in desk and the hospital's reception area). And a great thing about the rooms is that there is an emergency cord in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelona79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Tiny, clean, utilitarian room...just like living in a hospital. Decent hardware (grohe taps, flatscreen tv) but everything else is like new dorm furniture.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigyam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sandnes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
First Hotel Alstor
First Hotel Alstor
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stavanger
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#22 of 27 in Stavanger
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Forus
Scandic Stavanger Forus
#10 of 27 in Stavanger
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing