We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Svithun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Myhregaarden Hotel(Stavanger)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stavanger Bed & Breakfast(Stavanger)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stavanger Hostel St.Svithun(Stavanger)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
32
71
56
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
71
56
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair ambulancethe busbasic hotellow costsingle roombuffet stylecold meatshotel is locatedpulpit rockbabieshospitalmumsnorwaycityannexratesnok
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

St. Svithun is a hospital hotel but also a part of the hosteling international youth hostels. The rooms are basic but a lot better than most rooms in youth hostels. You can either walk for about 20 minutes to get to the city center or you can catch the bus from right outside the hospital. The breakfast is vert good, at least if you like a typical norwegian breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

As this was my first trip abroad alone under stressful circumstances following my husbands accident I would like to thank all the staff at St. Svithun Hotel . The chefs,restaurant staff ,receptionists, especially ANNE-MARI who were all so helpful so kind to me during my stay there while my husband was in hospital . The hotel was very clean and quiet the food was excellent and so was the service . I would certainly stay here again and would recommend St Svithun hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishlady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Really glad that we booked this hotel. The room facilities are on a par with the budget chains in the UK. The soundproofing was excellent and you wouldn't know you were next to a hospital if you didn't see all the new parents with babies in cots. The reception staff were really helpful and tolerated our inability to say anything other than takk in Norwegian with good grace.

It's a good 20min walk into town but there are plenty of buses and well marked cycle and footpaths. Definitely worth getting a bus pass instead of paying per journey. Cycling is so easy with routes well marked and separated from traffic making it really easy to get about.

Apart from the price, the winner for this hotel was the breakfast. Fresh, tasty, more than you could possibly eat in a week and even the boiled eggs were done to perfection. The cafe did other meals too, excellent quality and cheaper than most restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb_178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel. I would not let the idea that it is at a Hospital sway you, we never noticed anything particularly hospital-ish about it. We took public transportation to and from the hotel and had no issues. It was clean, and the breakfast was excellent, a lot of choices each day. I would highly recommend the hotel for the price.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank s002axb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A hotel that is in a hospital did not sound that great but it was one of the cheapest hotels I stayed in on my trip to Norway and by far the most comfortable. Breakfast is included, the bus which takes tours to Pulpit Rock stops directly outside and it is only a short 15 minute walk into town. It also has a 24 hour shop on the first floor if needed. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews