We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but with hospital atmosphere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel but with hospital atmosphere...”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were on the way for the Preikestolen hike, when we had to stay overnight in stavanger. We could get the only place to stay here (though very expensive). I must say that the hotel has nice rooms and scenic views outside. But coming from a very cheerful city like Bergen, we were depressed to see out hotel attached to a hospital. It was not very enthusiastic to watch patients all around with the disinfectant smell all around...

But, we got free breakfast which is by far the most impressive wide range of food items.

Apart from the hospital scene, very good rating for the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyam305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    49
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
40
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After paying an exorbitant amount of money (even for Stavanger), the room was more like a student room. It was actually a converted hospital room. Reasonably roomy but very basic. So a Travelodge room for a Hilton price. It is a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the city, so that is another cost you should consider. Breakfast was OK, not awful, not great either. Altogether average. If I'd stayed at half the price it might have been considered OK, but where do they get off charging like a luxury hotel, and providing a very basic room and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great for a short stay. First we were surprised that the hotel reception is also a hospital reception, however it was a pleasant stay with clean room. The breakfast was excellent and the small cafe next to the reception serves lovely snacks through the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorizonOnMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Unbeknown to us we booked to stay in a hospital. First day having lunch, couldn't figure out exactly what type of hotel it was then the man swinging his colostomy bag around confirmed it!! And put us off our lunch. "Hotel" was in quite a poor location, there are no local bars, restaurants were quite a walk away. Obviously the hospital doesn't have a bar in it and cannot buy beer in Norway after 8pm or 6pm on Saturday. Public transport excellent with Stavanger town centre around 10/15 mins away. Rooms were clean but very minimalist with no drawers, tea/coffee making facilities or hair dryer etc. beds were comfy. Just beware of the the helipad located above the hospital too!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite central (just four stops away from Stavanger Sentrum). Rooms are nice. There is free wi-fi access but it doesn't really work well in the rooms (at least not in the one I was staying). It's annex to a hospital so don't be surprised to see a few patients coming down to the shop and especially a few super cute newly borns :) Shop downstairs is open 24/7.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Following a Scout Jamboree outside of Stavanger, our group toured around Norway, travelling back to Stavanger to fly home the next day. We chose this hotel as it was cost friendly and looked nice. We took a bus from the Train station and got off at our stop after about a 15 minute ride.

The entrance to the hotel is a short walk from the bus stop. We entered the lobby to find a large social area and a shop. There were lots of mothers pushing their new born babies around in transportable cots. At this point we didn't realise that the hotel is connected to a hospital.

We were shown to our rooms and given room keys. I was in a room with two of my friends. The room was a tad small, however it didn't bother me too much as we were only there for one night. The beds were quite roomy and very comfortable. We had a small wardrobe and a desk with a TV on it. The bathroom was quite big, and had a lovely warm shower.

On our last morning in Norway, we went downstairs to breakfast, and I was very impressed. There was a big buffet with a wide variety of food. There was all the British classics; bacon, scrambled egg; sausages, to name just a few. There was lots of cheeses and hams, as well as about 5 different types of cracker. There was a whole table full of fresh bread, and lots of different juices. There was also loads of fresh tropical fruit, and bowls of fresh yoghurt.

I enjoyed my stay here very much, it was warm and welcoming. I would defiantly stay here again if I ever returned to Stavanger.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottergirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vins100
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this hotel for a business trip which required me to be close to our meeting location. The day before our arrival we were informed that because of hospital constraints (they needed to have more beds):
"Sorry to inform you that we have to relocate your reservation with us tomorrow.
This due to our relations with Stavanger Hospital, who we share buildings with, and our obligation to host patients and their families."

We were transferred to a hotel that was 20 mn driving.

If you're ready to take the risk, this hotel might be good. Personaly, next time, I will not book with them.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vins100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 28 in Stavanger
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Property: St. Svithun Hotel
Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing