We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location in town.”
Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is like many before me have mentioned a part of the Stavanger Central hospital. However, the rooms are ok and the hotel is nice and quiet, except for the lobby which is right next to a kiosk and the hospital's main entrance. Great service by the staff though! In other words, for business it's sufficient, for any other sort of trips, I'd recommend something else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were on the way for the Preikestolen hike, when we had to stay overnight in stavanger. We could get the only place to stay here (though very expensive). I must say that the hotel has nice rooms and scenic views outside. But coming from a very cheerful city like Bergen, we were depressed to see out hotel attached to a hospital. It was not very enthusiastic to watch patients all around with the disinfectant smell all around...

But, we got free breakfast which is by far the most impressive wide range of food items.

Apart from the hospital scene, very good rating for the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyam305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After paying an exorbitant amount of money (even for Stavanger), the room was more like a student room. It was actually a converted hospital room. Reasonably roomy but very basic. So a Travelodge room for a Hilton price. It is a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the city, so that is another cost you should consider. Breakfast was OK, not awful, not great either. Altogether average. If I'd stayed at half the price it might have been considered OK, but where do they get off charging like a luxury hotel, and providing a very basic room and service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great for a short stay. First we were surprised that the hotel reception is also a hospital reception, however it was a pleasant stay with clean room. The breakfast was excellent and the small cafe next to the reception serves lovely snacks through the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorizonOnMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Unbeknown to us we booked to stay in a hospital. First day having lunch, couldn't figure out exactly what type of hotel it was then the man swinging his colostomy bag around confirmed it!! And put us off our lunch. "Hotel" was in quite a poor location, there are no local bars, restaurants were quite a walk away. Obviously the hospital doesn't have a bar in it and cannot buy beer in Norway after 8pm or 6pm on Saturday. Public transport excellent with Stavanger town centre around 10/15 mins away. Rooms were clean but very minimalist with no drawers, tea/coffee making facilities or hair dryer etc. beds were comfy. Just beware of the the helipad located above the hospital too!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite central (just four stops away from Stavanger Sentrum). Rooms are nice. There is free wi-fi access but it doesn't really work well in the rooms (at least not in the one I was staying). It's annex to a hospital so don't be surprised to see a few patients coming down to the shop and especially a few super cute newly borns :) Shop downstairs is open 24/7.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Following a Scout Jamboree outside of Stavanger, our group toured around Norway, travelling back to Stavanger to fly home the next day. We chose this hotel as it was cost friendly and looked nice. We took a bus from the Train station and got off at our stop after about a 15 minute ride.

The entrance to the hotel is a short walk from the bus stop. We entered the lobby to find a large social area and a shop. There were lots of mothers pushing their new born babies around in transportable cots. At this point we didn't realise that the hotel is connected to a hospital.

We were shown to our rooms and given room keys. I was in a room with two of my friends. The room was a tad small, however it didn't bother me too much as we were only there for one night. The beds were quite roomy and very comfortable. We had a small wardrobe and a desk with a TV on it. The bathroom was quite big, and had a lovely warm shower.

On our last morning in Norway, we went downstairs to breakfast, and I was very impressed. There was a big buffet with a wide variety of food. There was all the British classics; bacon, scrambled egg; sausages, to name just a few. There was lots of cheeses and hams, as well as about 5 different types of cracker. There was a whole table full of fresh bread, and lots of different juices. There was also loads of fresh tropical fruit, and bowls of fresh yoghurt.

I enjoyed my stay here very much, it was warm and welcoming. I would defiantly stay here again if I ever returned to Stavanger.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottergirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 27 in Stavanger
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skansen Hotel
Skansen Hotel
#26 of 27 in Stavanger
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#23 of 27 in Stavanger
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Forus
Scandic Stavanger Forus
#10 of 27 in Stavanger
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stavanger
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: £64 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing