We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food with an overpriced menu” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition

N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition
Ranked #39 of 185 Restaurants in Stavanger
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK food with an overpriced menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This restaurant is a bit rundown but I liked it. The service was slow and not so friendly. For the most important reason of being here, the food, it was good. I had the slow roasted shoulder of mutton but won't recommend. The meat and sauce were good but the vegetables were way under cooked. The rest of the table had the signature burgers and had no complaints but smiles.
As we finished our meal, a small roach passed us all on our table. That was it for me and the N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition and the reason for my 2 stars. Clean up the place and I will come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntMan331305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    128
    71
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randaberg Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointing, poor and slow service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked days in advance for a group of 6 to celebrate a birthday. We had to wait 75 minutes for our main course! Half of the guests in our Group ordered starters, but they were all served at different times - 10 min between each, and first one served about 40 minutes after we put in our orders. Also we didn't get our drinks right at first....
Eventually, another of the waitresses came to our table and we told her how we experienced our visit, and then she arranged for the kids to have free icecream and we didn't have to pay for the food as a compensation. We thanked her, but for a special occation I wont take the chance again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jannicke_ellingsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The burger is its signature.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have been to N.B. Sorensens for many times and most of the time it was always good. Most of the time I had the burger which I think is the best in that restaurant. The seasonal mussels was good too.

I love the decor.

One bad review came from a friend who went there with me and had fish. She said that it wasn't that good. I myself never had bad food experience there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere overlooking the harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have one of the wait staff tell you the history of the building. We did not spend time in the first floor bar, but it looked cool as I went upstairs for dinner. We had a large party of about 10 and were easily accommodated. We had a prix-fixe menu with wine pairing. It was very well done. The food was excellent local cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

N.B. Sorensens had a very nice ambiance with good service and good food. A nice place for date night. The menu is a bit expensive but worth it. The bar is very nice with a large selection of wine, beer and whisky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kye Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing