We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a pricey town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myhregaarden Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Myhregaarden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Good value in a pricey town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nowhere is cheap in Stavanger. However, having reviewed travellers' opinions of other hotels on TripAdvisor, the Sherriff's Lady and I had no hesitation in choosing the Myhregaarden. We were not disappointed, given the cool reviews afforded to a lot of chain hotels that had settled for a captive market and given up on maintenance and service. The Myhregaarden is an older building, apparently converted from some previous commercial use. It was clean, well-equipped and had a friendly and helpful staff team. It is right in the centre of town so the main bars and restaurants are not far away but sufficiently distant for noise not to have been a problem. The room might be on the small side for a longer stay but was fine for a couple of nights, although short of hanging space. The breakfast space is rather small for the number of guest rooms and got very crowded at peak times. There was, though, a good selection of quality buffet items.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on higher floors - but street noise did not seem to be a big problem. and we benefi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear The_Sherriff,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
I would like to recommend our Apartments for a longer stay, They are more spacious and you are equipped to live as it was you own place.

Wecome back.
Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    121
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
23
139
28
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway, Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our room was nice, looked like it had been patched up though ie. Fitting for toilet roll holder but no toilet roll holder itself, window handle fell off when opening window, needed a coat of paint. The position is quite noisy and our air con was not working so it was unbearably hot especially at night. We kept the windows open to try to manage the heat so we could sleep but the traffic is so loud (buses and general sat night traffic) that it was difficult to sleep. When we mentioned it to reception we were told that "it was the weekend and there was nothing they could do so just keep the windows open" not "oh, we'll come up and have a look at it for you" or "would you like to change rooms?" Not really what we wanted to hear considering we had just extended our stay. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estee_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear estee_79

Thank you for your review, this is wat makes us better.
We have had big problems with our aircon this summer, this have made a huge discomfort for our guest and employees. Fortunately it is all fixed now. We are so sorry that you had to experience that.
Unless it was fully booked this night you should have been offered a new more quiet room.
I sorry for that as well.
If you would like to give us another chance sometime I would be really glad to make you stay memorable. Please contact me on Marita@myhregaardenhotel.no if you need hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful, spacious room. Comfortable beds and delicious breakfast- hot and cold foods, had everything you could ever want. And they have coffee by reception you can have all day, there was even cake for the guests in the afternoon!

We stayed up on level 5, and it did get warm as the sun came through the windows, but just opening the window brought the breeze in and it was fine.

Would gladly stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Unicorngiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Unicorngiraffe,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location was very nice, near everything! Beds very comfortable..Staff are friendly..Wide variety of food at breakfast,.BUT,
Aircon not working at all! We must have our windows open all the time since it was very warm inside the room(We were there in May) and heard all the noise outside..
They charged us 300 kroner more than we should have paid for and bad things is we didnt noticed it until we got home from our trip.. Quite disappointing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Nyle08,

Thank you so much for your review.
We have had big problems with our aircon this summer, this has made really big problems for us and our guest. And we are quit aware of the problem. Fortunately it is all fixed now!
About the 300,- I'm sure that this is the deposit we withhold at check in? I hope everyhting is sorted out now, if not please do not hesitate to contact me at Marita@myhregaardenhotel.no

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A quaint hotel in town, each room is different and unique with great charm. The breakfast is typical Norwegian with bread, cheeses eggs etc. The down side is the showers are a bit small. My room was stop less

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ed M,

Thank you for a great review.
Our hotel is an old building with different roomsizes and shapes.
A small tip for next time is to ask for a room with a bigger shower, then we have the opportunity to help you out before your arrival.

Welcome back!
Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Rooms are clean & comfortable, staff helpful, good price. The breakfast has the reliable basics and good coffee. Hotel has a laundry service (fee per item), with which I was quite happy. Location is central with major sites in short walking distance.

Americans need to be aware that European hotel rooms run small. I thought these were roomier than average for Europe.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obliquus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Obliquus,

Thank you for your wonderfull review.
Welcome back, anytime!

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Pro's: The hotel is situated at a central location and close to several restaurants and shops. The service was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room and bathroom were clean as expected. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
Con's: The room faced sun for a long time and became very warm, which made the sleep a little uncomfortable. The noise from the street has bothered a little.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FPuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear FPuga,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately as we are a city centre hotel we do experience some noise from traffic etc.
But luckily we are located in the most quiet part of town so this is not a big problem for us.

Thank you for your time, this is wat makes us better.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myhregaarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myhregaarden Hotel

Property: Myhregaarden Hotel
Address: Nygaten 24, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Myhregaarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger. This new hotel opened 24th August 2008. Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger is situated in a quiet part of the city centre. Perfect for shopping, business and night life. The distance to the nearest shopping centre or shopping street is 50 metres. It is the newest hotel in Stavanger and is built in a Boutique style filled with design furniture and every room has its own fireplace! All rooms are business class or junior suites. Iron, free pay-tv and a large minibar are included in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Myhregaarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing