We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not on top of the list”
Review of Myhregaarden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Myhregaarden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stepping in the lobby you will probably understand that the place is cool.
staff is very kind and will give you all needed info to experience a perfect stay in Stavanger.
Rooms are quite stylish - pity that fan was broken when there (there is no air-co in the rooms) and temperature was really too high - almost boling. I think it was one of the few times in my life I appreciated rain and chilly weather outside.
Back to the room, that's quite nice as said, nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
Breakfast is served into the close-by cafeteria and it is quite reach...really enjoyed!
good info for who travels by car - there a big parking place 200m from the hotel and it is quite convenient also in terms of money (hotel has no dedicated parking spot)
Overall I think this is a good solution when staying in Stavanger but, as said, it's not one of my favourite places I have been to

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Backpacker_f

Thank you so much for this kind review.
This summer we had some problems with our cooling system, and unfortunately that has made an miscomfort for our guest. With the abnormal temperetures outside this was a very hard situation for us.
Luckaly this has all been fixed now.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Apartments are described as "quality furnished apartments". They are furnished (barely), but only with the very cheapest quality! They also advertise "budget apartments" so I dread to think what they are like.
Lots of items missing or broken. No inventory so it is difficult to know exactly what should be provided. Certainly don't even think of asking for any special requests.
Wi-fi worked....sometimes.
I have travelled a lot around the world and I am usually welcomed and my customs and practices respected. Not in Norway! "This is Norway! Do as we do!" is the attitude here.
They know that there is no competition so don't care.

As a foreign visitor I get the feeling that I am tolerated rather than welcomed.

Room Tip: If you are looking for value for money go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mystery T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Mystery T

Thank you for the review.
We are sorry to hear that you experienced your stay to be as you described.

We would like to inform you that we treat every guest, both foreign and domestic in the same manor.

If you would consider to give us a second chance, we would ensure you a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and used the hotel as a base to hike the Lysefjorden to Preikestolen. The hotel is perfectly located in town, quiet, clean and with very helpful staff. The breakfast has considerable variety and was tasty. We stayed at a few Radisson Blue Hotels in Norway during this trip as well and we like the Myhregaarden Hotel much better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bubolecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Bubolecho,

Thank you so much for this great review.
We are so happy to hear that we were your favourite hotel.

Welcome back anytime.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The main benefit of this hotel is that it's central and very close to the ferry terminal.

We were given a room on the 5th floor but the elevator only goes to 4, so it was a walk up a flight of stairs with our own bags from there.

Afternoon treats in the lobby were nice and we had no major problems, but lots of little details added up to knock points off:

- No shampoo, facial tissues or bathmat were provided.
- For our second night we were given shampoo but the body wash wasn't replaced. No attention to detail!
- There was a loose bracket in the shower where a shelf should have been.
- The shower doors were misaligned and difficult to close.
- The room was hot with no real ventilation (I understand Norway's climate doesn't lend itself to air conditioning in every room, but a ceiling fan would have been nice.)
- WiFi was unreliable.
- Housekeeping supplies stored in the hallways made the place look low-end
- Breakfast was average, not as good as other places we stayed in Norway

We paid a lot considering the quality of the room and service. I guess you pay for location but I'd rate this place average at best.

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor, the elevator only goes to 4 so you'll need to walk up a flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoppachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Whoppachu,

Thank you so much for your review, this is what makes us better.
We will take every complaint into consideration, and we will adjust where we feel we need to improve.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nowhere is cheap in Stavanger. However, having reviewed travellers' opinions of other hotels on TripAdvisor, the Sherriff's Lady and I had no hesitation in choosing the Myhregaarden. We were not disappointed, given the cool reviews afforded to a lot of chain hotels that had settled for a captive market and given up on maintenance and service. The Myhregaarden is an older building, apparently converted from some previous commercial use. It was clean, well-equipped and had a friendly and helpful staff team. It is right in the centre of town so the main bars and restaurants are not far away but sufficiently distant for noise not to have been a problem. The room might be on the small side for a longer stay but was fine for a couple of nights, although short of hanging space. The breakfast space is rather small for the number of guest rooms and got very crowded at peak times. There was, though, a good selection of quality buffet items.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on higher floors - but street noise did not seem to be a big problem. and we benefi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear The_Sherriff,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
I would like to recommend our Apartments for a longer stay, They are more spacious and you are equipped to live as it was you own place.

Wecome back.
Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our room was nice, looked like it had been patched up though ie. Fitting for toilet roll holder but no toilet roll holder itself, window handle fell off when opening window, needed a coat of paint. The position is quite noisy and our air con was not working so it was unbearably hot especially at night. We kept the windows open to try to manage the heat so we could sleep but the traffic is so loud (buses and general sat night traffic) that it was difficult to sleep. When we mentioned it to reception we were told that "it was the weekend and there was nothing they could do so just keep the windows open" not "oh, we'll come up and have a look at it for you" or "would you like to change rooms?" Not really what we wanted to hear considering we had just extended our stay. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estee_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear estee_79

Thank you for your review, this is wat makes us better.
We have had big problems with our aircon this summer, this have made a huge discomfort for our guest and employees. Fortunately it is all fixed now. We are so sorry that you had to experience that.
Unless it was fully booked this night you should have been offered a new more quiet room.
I sorry for that as well.
If you would like to give us another chance sometime I would be really glad to make you stay memorable. Please contact me on Marita@myhregaardenhotel.no if you need hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in this beautiful, spacious room. Comfortable beds and delicious breakfast- hot and cold foods, had everything you could ever want. And they have coffee by reception you can have all day, there was even cake for the guests in the afternoon!

We stayed up on level 5, and it did get warm as the sun came through the windows, but just opening the window brought the breeze in and it was fine.

Would gladly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Unicorngiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhregaarden, Public Relations Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Unicorngiraffe,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Marita Nårstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
490 reviews
0 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
First Hotel Alstor
First Hotel Alstor
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myhregaarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myhregaarden Hotel

Address: Nygata 24, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range: £72 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myhregaarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger. This new hotel opened 24th August 2008. Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger is situated in a quiet part of the city centre. Perfect for shopping, business and night life. The distance to the nearest shopping centre or shopping street is 50 metres. It is the newest hotel in Stavanger and is built in a Boutique style filled with design furniture and every room has its own fireplace! All rooms are business class or junior suites. Iron, free pay-tv and a large minibar are included in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Myhregaarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing