We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise find - small, super self catering hotel - absolutely love it!”
Review of Le Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprise find - small, super self catering hotel - absolutely love it!”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Stumbled on this place when looking for somewhere in Pereybere - stressful showing up and cruising around looking for something, and nearly took 2 other places, but so glad we kept walking - we loved it! Planned to stay 2 nights but stayed 5, and would go back and stay a month no problem (which is how long we stayed overall in Mauritius). Though there wasn't a pool (which we thought we wanted) we really didn't need it and absolutely loved the beach - the best in Pereybere and one of the nicest on the island for sure. A great place to come back to at the end of the day also. We loved the 2 storey chalets - stayed in 2 different ones, both neither top of the line but both excellent. The kitchen was a great asset, which we used to cook up food for the stray dogs which we defriended further down the coast, as well as ourselves of course. The staff here were great and we loved sitting out for breakfast in the morning, enjoying the wonderful view then going for a dip.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Our suite at Le Beach Club was nothing to write home about. It didn't have an ocean view, and the furniture and fixtures were a bit tired. No wifi, a small safe that couldn't hold my laptop, other minor shortcomings. But the hotel is right on the beach at beautiful Péreybère, and we got a very good rate. So it was good value for the money. The staff were also wonderful. From the manager to the security staff to the guy who fixed our breakfast, everyone was as friendly and accommodating as they could be. That counts for a lot.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

LOCATION:
Located in the north of the island directly on a beautiful small beach – though no shadow – just next to the public beach of Pereybère. No need of protective shoes to enter the sea.

GENERAL:
Booking; I booked through their web-site, asked for information, then changed my reservation dates 2 times: always received polite and friendly replies.
Service: warm welcome and prompt assistance whenever needed. Personnel never obtrusive. Everyone had always a friendly word especially for our little one.
Beautifully kept garden. Security guards both at entrance and sea front.
Breakfast: 4 different breakfast menus to choose from. No buffet but served at the table. Adequate though nothing extraordinary.
The small sun deck offers the much wished shadow during the hottest hours of the day: just perfect.

ROOM:
We had an air-conditioned studio (B1) on the ground floor. Very large, bright and colourful with 2 double sliding windows. Twin beds put together – not a double bed – but that was clearly written in their web-site. Closet in the bedroom was rather small. Safe in the closet. Living room with a coffee table and seating for 4 people. The third bed for our child was added there. There was still space to “run” around. Little corner kitchen well equipped with stoves and appliances (electric kettle – refrigerator – microwave – etc.) but no table inside. In fact the table was outside on the verandah. The only annoyance were the ants in the kitchen: just be careful to put all your food in the fridge or in the cupboards. Bath AND beach towels are provided. Housekeeping very well done every day except on Sundays and public holidays.
The bathroom was the only drawback: small and rather old, needs absolutely renovation! Just a very small window, not enough ventilation translated in a constant musty smell which permeated the whole apartment.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghighipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I wanted to move out after one night there as I was not happy with the room. The on-site manager was unable to refund my deposit, and so I asked to speak to the main director of the hotel - I was told that the director 'did not like to be disturbed'. Great!
There are much nicer places to stay on the same budget in Mauritius.

Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at Le Beach Club (LBC) from 25 Dec 2007 for 7 nights despite it not being listed on TA at the time - relied solely on the pics on their website and it's location which we found on Google Earth. We thought it a bit risky at the time but it fortunately paid off! We loved the place as it's a more intimate complex than the big hotels. I think there are about 25 apartments & studios and we had a front sea facing studio (#2) which had aircon & a small kitchenette. This enabled us to self cater for lunch & dinner as breakfast is provided with a good variety of breakfast options available. There's a small supermarket within a 2 minute walk which has a fair selection of foods.
Although it doesn't have a pool, there is a "sun deck" which has loungers & a shower. The best part for us was that the water was 15 meters from our studio door. We frequently went out in our trunks to go swimming & snorkeling as we could do that directly in front of the complex. We also loved "bobbing" on our lilos every evening at sunset. Tried to book for the same period this year with other family members but they were unfortunately full.
There's also bar area which has a snooker/pool table & table tennis and there was also a kayak/canoe for guest use. They provided beach towels for guest use.
Le Beach Club is set in a small bay next to the Pereybere public beach and is safe for swimming.
TIPS:
1. It’s worth getting the dive shop behind LBC to take you to the outer reef for amazing snorkeling where you see a greater variety of fish & coral than closer to shore.
2. We also took a public bus which runs regularly & is very cheap from just behind LBC to Trou Aux Biches where we were taken out to the reef in a glass bottom boat for snorkeling. It cost about 1,000 rupees for an hour’s snorkeling and we were the only 2 on the excursion. The guide gave us bread to attract fish and we have very fond memories of that day & the beautiful fish & coral we saw.
The only negatives (which certainly didn't deter our enjoyment) are:
1. The kitchen could have had more utensils but this seems to be the norm for a lot of self catering places (as we recently experienced in Menorca, Spain);
2. The bathroom was a little dated & we felt was due for refurbishment.
DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED - WE WILL BE BACK IN THE FUTURE!

  • Liked — Significantly cheaper & more intimate than big hotels. Nice setting, convenient, good location & relaxed.
  • Disliked — Kitchen could be kitted with more utensils.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Well hey, it was a cheap option - with no reviews on trip advisor! - so we headed up to the north of the island with a certain amount of trepidation, but there was no need to be concerned.
Being on a non-luxury budget and of a 'small hotel' mentality we found this on a website and it certainly fitted the bill.

A very friendly welcome continued for the whole stay, we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on arrival, and although you wouldn't describe the rooms as fashionable (orange/wicker thing going on), it was clean, spacious, well equipped and offered you a great deal of solitude.

No one in the hotel will try to sell you anything, (in fact they suggest a bus for getting around) plus you will be left alone and spoken to as a friend. In general all mauritians will speak to you with warmth and respect and are very tolerant of all types of tourists!

One of the highlights of our room was a gorgeous balcony that overlooked the sea, which offered up a sublime view of the wonderful sunset night after night ...

You get a good varied breakfast served every morning by a wonderful stretch of sea. In fact this is another factor in this location, you are right next to Pereybere beach, sometimes busy, but always a treat, the locals can't be wrong, they use it as much as the tourists! A great spot for swimming.

I would suggest even if it costs you a few pounds more go for the rooms with a sea view, it makes alot of sense when the ocean is so beautiful here.

To conclude - the Beach Hotel is such a good budget option if you don't want to be stuck in the bright lights of Grand Baie, and have no wish to be lost in an over-big hotel, of which there are way too many in mauritius.

  • Liked — Sunsets from heaven
  • Disliked — Orange paint overdose
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pereybere
0.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
519 reviews
1.4 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Casa Florida Hotel
Casa Florida Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pereybere
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Club

Property: Le Beach Club
Address: Royal Road, Pereybere, Grand Baie, Mauritius 230
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pereybere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Pereybere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Beach Club is situated on one of the nicest beaches of the North coast of Mauritius. If you are looking for nice, simple holidays, with the beach and sea only seconds away, Le Beach Club is the place for you whether you are travelling with the family, your significant other, with friends or solo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Beach Club Hotel Grand Baie
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Club Pereybere, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing