We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect bungalow if you want to stay in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gower bungalow

Outside front of bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside front of bungalow
Parking on the forecourt in picture or across the way on parking bay if preferred. Open plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Outside front of bungalow
Parking on the forecourt in picture or across the way on parking bay if preferred.
Open plan kitchen
microwave.
good size double room with wardrobe and drawer space. beds ready made up for visitors.
Bay window view of double bedroom
Adult sized bunk beds in smaller room most suitable for young adolescents or children.
Conservatory
French doors from conservatory lead onto upper and lower patio area. views over mumbles hill.
please note we do not supply body towels only hand towels, tea towels and shower mat.
Lower decking patio area
relax in this sun trap in comfort.
lovely views over mumbles hill
Two minutes walk from bungalow (thats roobee)
Mewslade on Gower Coast.
Plenty of local artists to capture the beauty of the gower coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mumbles, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick0111
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location-property in need of some minor maintenance”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My partner & I chose the Gower bungalow for a weekend stay in early Jan as we wanted to get away to the coast for some new year fresh air.
We loved that you could leave the property & be high up on the coastal path within minutes & the views are magnificent especially around sunset. The walk in to Mumbles is also very pleasant & takes around 20 minutes or so.

The bungalow itself was relatively clean as one would expect but we did notice high level cobwebs in the bedrooms & a damp smell when we entered was noticeable. The wet room had a small amount of mould on the ceiling (from poor ventilation) & this was also evident in the double bedroom on the ceiling (perhaps a missing/loose tile).
Some of the fencing in the rear of the property was down (understandable in the recent bad weather) so was not secure for our dog & the gate to the side also needs some attention in order to keep pets safe & enclosed.

We felt slightly untrustworthy as the boiler is locked away in a cupboard behind the sofa meaning you have limited choice as to when you can dry your wet clothes after returning home. The heating was 'generous' during the morning & evening though.

We didn't mind the coined electric meter but just ensure you bring a few pound coins with you to top it up. As we were here during the darker months & subsequently used more electric than you would during the summer, the weekend cost around £5.

All in all we had a lovely weekend & would stay here again if the issues above were addressed first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect bungalow if you want to stay in the Mumbles”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Before we arrived Paula was amazing with her help and advice on everything we needed to know. We arrived late on the Friday evening and our Tesco delivery was waiting for us.
Settled in very well. The bungalow was very very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. Lovely location and were able to walk where we wanted to go. My boys loved the bungalow especially the bunk beds unfortunately they creaked and creaked all night with them rolling over and then woke them up at 6am, so have made this my only negative comment that they need replacing or tightening up. There was enough info in the bungalow so we knew where to go and what to do. The double room was so lovely with a lovely comfy bed, I loved the rain drops on the roof made you feel even more cosy. I did not know that central heating was not included so my £1.00 coins were used quite quickly with the electric heating, lights and tv , but soon got used to switching the lights off, however getting the bath towels dry was a mission. The conservatory is a great addition and just gives you that extra bit of a room. I am not really into dogs and when it said dog friendly I was bit scared of the smell and hair but there was nothing. A great place just take plenty of £1.00 coins in the winter. Would recommend !! X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sofa area very comfy
Liked least: Creaky bunk beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennys_Tr...
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well equipped and beautifully decorated bungalow”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend at this bungalow in Mumbles with our baby daughter. Whilst it may look a little old fashioned from the outside, inside the bungalow has been beautifully decorated with a modern sofa, well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The owners have put lovely art work on the walls, which makes it feel like a home from home rather than just a bland rental property, and it was spotlessly clean. We felt really comfortable and relaxed here.

The little garden has lovely views over a hillside and is very private, with a lovely sunny two-person bistro table at the higher level, and a larger patio table further down. We had family visit us for one day, and could accommodate all of us to eat in the little conservatory.

The bay window in the bedroom would make a lovely spot to sit, but we actually moved the arm chair out into the lounge for the duration of our stay and put our baby's cot there instead - it fitted perfectly. It poured with rain during our stay, and you can hear the rain quite loudly in the bedroom as it lands on the bay window roof - I can imagine this might annoy some people, but we found it a relaxing sound, and it worked to lull our baby to sleep!!

As others have said, the bunk bed room is tiny which Is why I would rate this 4 star rather than 5. Also, we found we had to drive into mumbles, as the coastal path is very narrow from the bungalow, and not suitable for a pushchair.

Overall, this property is excellent value and has flexible short-term rental options. We would definitely come back and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris J
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Went with my husband, grandchildren (11 & 15 year olds) and dog and we had a fantastic time. Did lots of coastal walks of an evening with the dog up the hill along the top of the cliffs and back along the bottom so a round trip. Oxwich Bay allows dogs on the beach and was clean with good amenities and parking. Also went to the Dan yr Ogof caves well worth a visit. Paula was very friendly, quick to respond to correspondence and very receptive to a report of a repair required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to coast and walks without the need of the car
Liked least: wet room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayqu...
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for a weeks holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I stayed here for a week with my sister and grandmother. Perfect location. We had a great time. The bungalow was well equipped and had everything we needed for the weeks stay. Would definitely stay again. One tip have pound coins at the ready for the electric meter. Thanks for a great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fact that the bungalow was well equipped
Liked least: I cany say I am not a fan of wet rooms in general. However it was better for my nan. I knew that before I booked. Was very clean
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory,wet room, comfortable beds and the fact it was clean and inviting
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: Slightly pushed for space in second bedroom with travel cot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing