We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

As some of the other reviewers have said Norton House is a bit of a mixed bag. It's set off the main road with free parking and a 5-10 minute walk to the main Mumbles area. Friendly welcoming staff and big comfortable bed. Really appreciated the bath robes provided and the tea tray had plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Good WiFi connection. The room had shutters and heavy curtains. A lovely dark quiet room = good night's rest! The bathroom didn't have a wall mounted shower and the bath seals need finishing off, but hot water was plentiful! I would've liked a full length mirror in the main room (or in the wardrobe) and a light over the mirror in the bathrom would also have been useful. We didn't eat in the main restaurant but they are opening a seafood restaurant shortly which sounds lovely. Breakfast gets mixed reviews. Good coffee, just not ready when it was wanted; and the cooked breakfast was a bit disappointing (especially if one was paying the full price for it). Friendly waitress. Would we return? For the friendliness and comfiness - yes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redshamrock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    126
    75
    65
    32
See reviews for
127
193
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I am part of a business network meeting that attend the Norton House Hotel, overall having attended the area of chosen venue I am deeply concerned with the health and safety of the venue. I have highlighted to the business network organisers about the poor lighting within the car park during winter conditions where there is an accident waiting to happen.

One part of the meeting area was changed to a different location in order to cover for a wedding, which I am glad for the wedding, but unsafe for alternative meeting room, trip hazards, relaxed controls over electrical cables etc.

There is a general attitude if you don't like the venue and alternative given, which I would love to have the opportunity to change venues. The safety of customers should be priority without defensive attitudes.

Deeply disappointed and would not recommend anyone to stay at the location due to my concerns for safety.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbles hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at Norton house hotel last weekend. Lovely spacious room executive room ,bathroom had bath would have been nice to have shower.Great meal in evening ala carte food was lovely & service very good .very disappointed in breakfast not freshly cooked but cooked & left in silver trays to warm 2nd am didn't even have toast .think they should provide freshly cooked breakfast to order & improve breastfast service as this let hotel down .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

An odd place to review, to be sure. Went here for a long weekend with my partner, and we stayed in the hotel and ate in the restaurant both nights as part of a Groupon deal (or one of those types of things).

The hotel was quite lovely, and yet simultaneously felt slightly bedraggled at the same time, which gave it a wonderful air of shabby chic and the like.

On the upside, the room was beautiful, and massively spacious. the bath was obviously relatively new and had jets and everything. the TV was massive, and the bed comfortable.

On the downside - not much, really. But the rooms did have a worn feeling - whilst the bathroom was nice, the wallpaper was bedraggled and peeling in corners. The shower was basically pointless except late at night when no-one else was using it, and the toilet flush was slightly faulty (worked but with work).

The hotel was lovely old and old full of nooks and crannies, and the staff were very gracious.

Breakfast on the first day was a buffet, and on the second day was served to us. Both were fine (although the pineapple juice looked decidedly odd on day 2).

It was, (on it's board outside), described as a luxury 3-star hotel, and as we pulled in I joked that that felt like somewhat of a oxymoron, but in retrospect it was beautifully apt. Somehow not really luxury, but somehow also lovely at the same time.

A wonderful, worn-down hotel aching for the 1920s, with a lovely wrought iron frontage and glorious slightly out-of-date furniture.

With regards to eating there, we didn't have the full menu (which looked gorgeous), and ate in both their larger 'garden' room and what I assume is the main restaurant room. The staff were gracious, and helpful, and very smart, and made a great effort to be a very smart restaurant. Serving from the right, and serving rolls with tongs, and so on. But the rolls were unexciting, and the service was overly stand-offish for the type of restaurant, in my view. Those who were friendly came across much better than those who swept in and out like well-dressed ghosts, but only because the surroundings ached to be better but were not quite there. The garden room, at least earlier in the evening, felt ever so slightly like an old people's dining room.

The food itself was lovely, the wine perfectly serviceable, and whilst I wouldn't necessarily have eaten there on a regular basis, for a one-off meal it was fine. The variety for that menu was limited (soup of the day was the same both days, although ironically the pate changed as they had run out), and overall it was perfectly serviceable.

In other odds and sods, the views were nice, and the location quite majestic. Parking is on site, which was nice, and even though we didn't stay out, we were given instructions on gaining late entry back into the hotel if needed. All the linens were clean and replaced as one would expect. Check-in and -out were very simple and painless, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier around the place.

Whether it's worth full price I don't know, but for what we paid, it was more than acceptable.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4. Shower pressure and hot water pretty unpredictable at busy times. Toilet slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went to the Norton House Hotel in Norton Mumbles after a funeral on 21st February 2014. I was brought up in Norton before living in Kenya and it is very nice to see Norton House Hotel converted into a very nice hotel. We did not stay overnight but the buffet was good and I noticed that the décor was charming in what was an old house.
If we have need to stay in Mumbles again we will definitely stay in this charming hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for one night at Norton House. The location is excellent, close to the sea front and a few minutes walk to Mumbles centre and restaurants.
The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and we had an excellent breakfast.
We would certainly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelaA823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights very comfortable room was very modern , menu and wine selection excellent, staff were friendly couldn't do enough for you.
Shame the weather was bad would have been nice to spend some time in the gardens so beautiful.
We've already booked for our summer break be nice to see the Gower which is so close.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Welsby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewEEvans, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Norton House and your overall Experience was so positive, all your comments have been passed onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you to Norton House some time soon.


Mathew Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,640 reviews
7.1 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
974 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant Mumbles, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing