We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting place. Stayed one night. Hotel good breakfast good room interesting. Room was just a little weird. No desk area. Pointless trimmings on the bed. Bathroom has wall paper poorly installed flooring very old style tap and shower unit no shower curtain and unable to gey decent shower as poor water control in terms of hot znd cold water. Staff very friendly and helpful. I was not paying for the stay and I'm not sure I would want yo stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Wacky-Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    126
    75
    65
    32
See reviews for
127
193
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a 2 bed apartment with 2 adults and 2 kids.
Arrived early so we parked our van in the car park and walked into the Mumbles. On return (at 2pm check in) apartment was not ready, so we waited in the bar area (we were tired from travelling) had a drink (overpriced) £14 approx for 3 diet cokes and a J20. The main hotel was lovely so set our expectations high for the apartments!
We were told one of the toilets was broken in the apartment but the handyman would be coming round about 6pm. We decided to go out as it was only 3pm!
When we eventually got into the apartment we found the door handle hanging off of the main lounge, if it had come off we would have been trapped! We reported it before we left and the handyman came about 3 hours later, he was very efficient and eventually fixed it and also the en-suite toilet.
Now, we're not posh or snobs but the apartment was grubby and had not been cleaned properly despite us not going into it at 3pm, a good hour after check in. I did take photos. The dishwasher was filthy, the boiler in the kitchen was leaking, they knew about this as there were cartons collecting water behind the microwave, surely a bit of a safety hazard!
The fridge had dried milk on the shelves, the kick board in the kitchen wasn't there and under the cupboards was really dirty.
The reception on the TV was poor which wasn't great for the kids in the evening. To top it all we had no hot water in the morning for a shower!
I did report the lack of hot water when we checked out, they apologised and knocked £30.00 off the final bill.
The hotel itself was beautiful, it appears that their priority and money is spent on the main house, which is a shame as it wouldn't take a lot to raise the standards of the apartments. It's ideally situated for the Mumbles, just a short walk. However we won't be returning again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammyjane1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbles hotels

wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night in this hotel-we actually stayed in a room attached (like a motel type of room) but it was fine, small but nice bathroom and clean. We arrived late & the room was very hot so had to keep the window open (only a small window above the door) and turn the radiator off! It wasn't at all noisy and parking was good. The hotel was a stones throw from the sea front. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was superb, selection of fruit, yoghurt cereal and ham followed by a full breakfast, toast and croissants! The only downside was the outside light lit up our room considerably & the bathroom extractor fine was a bit too noisy but for £49 per night with breakfast included - I'd put up with that again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hj123wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has a very convenient location just entering The Mumbles and about 4 miles from Swansea centre along the sea-front road. This hotel has a few ground floor rooms which is good for guests with reduced mobility as the main building does not have a lift. However, these ground floor rooms are not adapted for the disabled. We had a family room in order to get the only ground floor room with a walk-in shower rather than a shower over bath. However, there are a couple of steps to negotiate up into the room and far from suitable for a wheelchair user, especially as the door opened outwards.

The same applies to the main hotel entrance - there are a small number of steps. The hotel 's public rooms are no more than average but a scheme to alter the dining room into a Seafood style Bistro was about to start so it will be interesting to see the end-product when complete.

The food was excellent - we had breakfast and dinner on each of our 3 night stay. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was either self-service or plated. I think this depended on the number of guests resident. The car park was adequate but they have a very popular Afternoon Tea service open to non-residents which can stretch the car park to its limits. This proved a nuisance if you happen to arrive to check-in at this time, which we did !!.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms face the car park which could be a bit noisy. However our family room was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leithris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a night at this hotel a few days ago and were very impressed. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the food and service in the restaurant were second to none, far better than we have had in some 4 star hotels. We had a minor housekeeping problem but this was sorted immediately with a smile and apology. The whole hotel has been refurbished recently and the dining room was particularly pleasant. Just a few steps from the beach and cliff walks. We will certainly be back. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large and bright and you could see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and was very pleased with the staff attitude and presentation of the room. My wife and I were in large spacious double room with a very comfortable bed and en-suite. We had dinner in the dining room and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the service. Breakfast was of the same quality..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank war47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went with a friend for lunch (none of us staying at the hotel). The service was adequate and courteous, if a little slow but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter and I am not complaining. The food was very nicely presented, well cooked, tasty and quite generous portions.
What lets it down a bit is the atmosphere in the dining room. The floor is apparently quite newly done in dark wood, which together with the dark tables makes it just slightly gloomy. Also, my impression was that it made it a bit noisy, even with normal conversation among diners at other tables. A carpet might quieten in a bit, even table-cloths might do so.
Would we go again? Certainly, although part of the fun with the friend with whom we went is to sample as many local places as possible, so we may not be back for a while.
Incidentally, when I tried to check the menu on the website earlier in the week, it had been hijacked and a totally inappropriate advertisement appeared over the text - I tried it on two computers, so it was not just a problem with my machine. I drew it to the attention of the receptionist and I am pleased to see she took note and today the website is "under maintenance" - thanks for attending to it, managers/owners.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANDH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,640 reviews
7.1 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
975 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant Mumbles, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing