We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers eat your heart out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and although over priced for the state of the rooms...we had a good laugh at feeling we were part of some comedy show!
Booked a family room and a double room. If staying with children make sure you don't have room 19...no tv signal and although they said they would fix it...maintenance man forgot to come back!
Also in family room you will find a nice set up for your tea making facilities but discover you have to move kettle as no plug socket near!
Room 9 double room....BE AWARE.. bath not safe stand on the edges as bath is cracked and so weak I am surprised neither of us fell through! Also although it has a bath. ..don't get too excited, no plug for bath...but in the plus side the tv did work!
This hotel needs some serious money spent on it to jusify the current prices...but the location is fab and some lovely resturants within walking distance.
Not sure how it manages to maintain it's 3 stars. ..maybe the tourist board should revise it's status!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is average rooms ,We had a good nights sleep ,The breakfast is good ,& plenty of parking, The room need tiding up, The bathroom catch you really have to turn the handle to open , & the shower is hanging off the wall , There is an old fashion wardrobe in the room which we didn't use.There were sockets to charge the phone etc,We had room 1 which was ok never heard any sounds.Needs some TLC

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile


I had room 3, a lovely big, airy room, with two windows (one with proper, old fashioned shutters) and a four poster bed. Very comfortable, but it seemed very strange to me that there was no bedside table or lamp. Neither was there a nearby socket to change my phone overnight. It's such a pain to have to get back out of bed to put the light off, and I don't think I've ever stayed in an hotel without this basic amenity. All the four posters and sofas in the world don't count for much if the absolute basics are missing! But the room was very quiet - I'd wondered if I was the only person staying! Until I went down to breakfast and saw that the hotel was probably full!
Professional staff throughout, and it's nice to have breakfast served to me, rather than having to queue up at a hot buffet. I wish my pot of tea had been served to my table though - this was a step too far! The water in the urn wasn't hot enough, so my tea was watery and weak.
As some other reviews have said, this could be a fantastic hotel, with just a little love and attention paid to it to bring it up to scratch.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not bad for the price we paid. Had room 5 with 4 poster. Housekeeping is minimal but room clean enough. Very noisy if over carpark/courtyard. Seafood bistro diners and guests leaving at night - though not too late. Bottles being chucked out the kitchen door at 5.30am! Could hear the dining room being hoovered at 6.00 one morning and lady singing. Last morning we were there was a business breakfast which started with them all greeting each other loudly at 6.10am outside the entrance right under our open window.Extractor fan from kitchen next to bedroom window so smelt variously of bacon, chips and fish.
However, breakfast plentiful and choc drink sachet and biscuits every day! Early bird menu also good. Did not try a la carte or seafood. It is also a hop away from the promenade and has sufficient car parking - when no function on?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 3ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent the night at the Norton House and a bit of advice to anyone planning to stay there - ask if they have any rooms that have some privacy - the walls were so thin in my room that I felt like I was in the shower with the guest next door. Really the walls sounded paper thin

At breakfast the crockery was not up to standard - on my table one cup was dirty and the other cracked

And no one able to check me out before 7 am.

Would have expected better privacy, clean crockery and a manned reception for the price charged and they don't take AMEX

Room Tip: One with thicker walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 75Traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this last minute and due to availability stayed in one of the apartments associated with the hotel. These are actually across the car-park from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and very welcoming. The apartment itself was poor. It needs some serious money and care spending on it.
The apartment was well equipped - dishwasher, cooking facilities etc.
Where it was let down was the cleanliness. I would give this a 1 out of 10 score. The apartment itself looked like there were half way through decorating, bits were finished but the first thing you see when you walk through the door were all the cables hanging down loose from the television. If were had young children this would have been unacceptable as a real hazard. The bottom of the boiler cupboard was hanging off.
If it had been clean - we could have forgiven all of these.
There was also some probem with the drains, a constant background smell. slightly disconcerting.
The double bed was two singes pushed together, which for one night was ok but the matresses really need replacing, ok if you like the feel of springs..
I would not be happy if we had to stay more than one night.
On the plus side - breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Holiday_woes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Decided to book the hotel on the spur of the moment lots of character glad I booked room was facing the bay great when the sun was going down perfect.There was a fish restaurant only justed open which was in the hotel really enjoyed the meal and the staff where great will be returning at the end of sep but a weekend this time.

Room Tip: Get one of the these room 9,10,11,12 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank phil19692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,014 reviews
3.9 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant Mumbles, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing