We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shop is lovely ..the cafe is awful and in dire need of updating.”
Review of Treasure Mumbles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Treasure Mumbles
Ranked #11 of 13 things to do in Mumbles
Attraction details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The shop is lovely ..the cafe is awful and in dire need of updating.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The shop is nice and you can find some fab little 'treasures' ..though you do have the feeling when you walk in that the staff are watching you all the time...very uncomfortable! the cafe is awful and in dire need of updating. It has a sense of not being very clean when you go into it with rather dingy old fashioned in a bad sense of the word furniture and shoddy carpet. My gateaux that I ate tasted like it had been opened days ago and not fresh so I didn't finish it and my daughter's lunch of fish and chips was 'horrible' and she didn't finish it either. The café needs badly modernising and some TLC and a better menu and food. The food was also expensive. Have been here a few times over the years but every time I have hated the coffee and the food so won't be going back. The shop is still nice though and the toy shop that has now gone was one of the best in Swansea but no longer at the back of the building sadly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty basic”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My parents took my wife and I here for lunch during a visit to the Mumbles. It has a 1970s feel to it in the negative sense: everything felt a bit plastic-y, faded and shoddy. Had some of the worst coffee I've had for years in the UK with very little flavour. Food was very basic and not that cheap considering it was very basic. Judging by the other people there I think it's aimed at the pensioner crowd who won't be having with all this modern or foreign food. I would never volunteer to go back here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst meal of my life”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ate here today, fish & chips, fish & mash, both terrible. First time I have ever had chewy mash potatoes! Fish uncooked. No manager or owner available to here complaints. Nice shop, but don't be tempted to eat in the cafe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Treasure in Mumbles is a real Treasure”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What a fantastic attraction this is, if your in the Mumbles you will be really missing out if you don't visit Coffee Shop/Restaurant. Apart from the wonderful gift shop with countless lovely gifts and souvenirs, many of them of a Welsh flavour, the restaurant serves tasty home cooked food and the adventurous can also sample a Welsh dish of local cockles and laverbread, truly scrumptious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Often call in here for their special offer meals- great value when you want something quickly and cheaply.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treasure Mumbles also viewed

 

Been to Treasure Mumbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing