We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend!”
Review of The Mumbles Hotel

The Mumbles Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mumbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Well, i don't know where to start. This hotel was awful, the staff were rude, we were not welcomed and were taken to our room before it had been cleaned. The hallways absolutely stank to a point where i would hold my breath whilst walking to the room, which didn't smell much better! The room was tiny! Nothing like the rooms shown on their website. There was rubbish still on the floor, hair on beds, in the shower and sink. The window sills were filthy with black grime and the curtains did not shut properly.

The tea and coffee facilities in the room were hardly up to scratch, with the mugs having old tea stains and black dust on them, not to mention the state of the kettle.

The beds were reasonably comfortable however this was still the worst nights sleep i've ever had due to noise, and a green safety light shining right above my bed which i was unable to turn off.

Apart from this, the location was great, although parking was difficult!

overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely never visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrummerEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for The Mumbles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived for our stay at the hotel and immediately encountered a problem. All the on street parking was taken and we had no change for the car park. A dash to the nearest cafe and a purchase of tea gave us the required £5 per day charge.
We were shown to our room on the top floor which was large and spacious but tired and dated. The bathroom was also large with a spa bath and a walk in shower but tired and in need of an overhaul. The shower looked impressive but just didn't deliver.Two small sachets of shampoo and conditioner were provided and a small hand soap but that was all.
The staff at breakfast were lovely, cheerful and helpful but the breakfast was terrible with cheap economy ingredients making it an unpleasant experience.
The £80 per night price of this room did not deliver on any level and having spent the previous night at the Hilton in Cardiff for only a little more we were extremely underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I initially booked this hotel with my partner as we were looking to stay for just one night,
After an hour of being in the hotel, discussing between ourselves, we had decided to stay a little longer.
The hotel was fab! The staff were amazingly helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
The hotel was clean, ideal location and had a good atmosphere.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be staying again.
The hotel has minimal restrictions if you're looking to have a good night out without a time to be back by as you are given a keycard to come and go as you please.
I would like to make a special thank you to the gentleman with dark hair and the rocker-look who worked the nights whilst I was there, he was very friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and had a fantastic sense of humour.
You really cannot go wrong with this hotel, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, its right on the seafront and easily accessible, the staff would be more than ha...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

If this hotel was transported back to the 1979s it would be regarded as a trendsetter. Ensuite facilities, kettle, and an iron in the room was regarded as quite groundbreaking back then. Today – not so much, and when you advertise your rooms as 'spacious', they really should be rage enough to avod any risk if damage to a swinging cat. The door to the room was more of a kissing gate – you open the door, one of you goes in, you close the door, they get out of the way, then the second person can gain access – passing the suitcase over to the other to get it in there.
On a Saturday night, we went out for a walk in mumbles – which was lovely – and returned at just after nine. The bar was shut – no, really the bar was shut! At 9 PM on a Saturday, with guests throughout the hotel!
Value for money? No, not in my opinion. Spacious rooms? Again, not what I would have thought of as spacious. Good service? Not really. Some of the staff trying to be helpful.
Do I have anything positive to say? It wasn't dirty in the rooms, the location is pleasant (and could be made a great deal more of) and breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: My tip to help you choose a good room is to choose one somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is not a five star hotel. What it is though is a clean, comfortable 3 star hotel with very reasonable prices and huge breakfasts. Ten of us stayed here for two nights for a walking weekend, and needed 5 twin bedded rooms. no other hotel in the area could provide the twin beds; most had doubles. It appears to be a collection of separate waterfront buildings converted into one. You may need a ball of string to find your way back to the reception. The booking system works but is a ledger with a pencil and rubber, the lounge is small with some building materials and a bike in it, but overall, the hotel was was fine. Several excellent restaurants and pubs very close by.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seemed colder. No two rooms seemed to be the same!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst in the Mumbles doing a 14 mile walk for Macmillan. Hotel was the height of bad taste. Our room stank of wet dog and wee, need I say anymore. It was too late to find another place to stay and as the bed sheets were white and clean we got our heads down and had a bad nights sleep thanks to the paper thin curtains. Bathroom was like 1970 at the baths, mould on the tiles and felt sick walking on the carpet in bare feet. This hotel needs help, in such a beautiful place this could be a great place but it's in desperate need of a complete refurb and a good jet wash with bleach. Such a shame

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed with. My grandughter my niece and my two dogs we normaly stay in the village hotel Swansea but bad use there was no availability we stayed there, the B&B was great if u consider it is a B&B NOT a hotel and we had a lovly break

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mumbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mumbles Hotel

Address: 654-656 Mumbles Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EA, Wales (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: £84 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mumbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mumbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Swansea
The Mumbles Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing