We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate.”
Review of The Mumbles Hotel

The Mumbles Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mumbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Lancashire
Level Contributor
286 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Adequate.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Adequate is the word I would use to sum up our stay at The Mumbles (formerly The Carlton).
Room was ok, if a little on the small side (room 23). Shower screen door not clean but bedding, towels etc ok. Breakfast was ...adequate. 1 baco, 1 egg (freshly cooked), beans, sometimes tomato, 1 disappointing sausage (of a very poor standard). Fresh toast was served with breakfast and there were cereals and juices on a self service table. Tea and coffee were to be obtained from a machine, which did not work correctly. On pressing the button for a double Espresso, you got chocolate!! A very helpful member of staff showed me that to get a double espresso you had to use the single button twice and not the double button. The coffee was pretty awful. However we asked if it would be possible to get a pot of tea and the staff very obligingly brought us one. Subsequent mornings we got a freshly brewed pot of tea brought to our table. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The bar serves a decent pint of Bass at £3.30. We were using the hotel as a base while visiting friends from Germany who had rented a cottage nearby, and for this the hotel was adequate (that word again).
The owners and staff seem to be trying very hard in difficult economic times, but a bit more attention to detail and an upgrade to the sausages would be welcome improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    33
    24
    23
See reviews for
25
56
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here and ok its not the Hilton or big chain hotel, but it does the job fine. With 2 adults 2 children, middle of the heatwave and the Welsh national airshow weekend we were happy to find somewhere adequate for our needs.

The room was big enough and clean, the kids had a bunk bed in a separate section to ours we all had a comfy nights stay, the showers worked fine, there were enough towels and I always take my own shower stuff anyway so no issues. The decor throughout (apart from the bar area) was tired but who cares? It was simply a place for us to sleep, safely and comfortably. Having spent a few nights camping this was heavenly! Breakfast was ok not the best (I always judge based on the quality of the sausages, and they were the cheap stuff!) and good service.

The hotel is well placed for families, with Mumbles park literally across the road and the seafront across the road too. Having been a student at Swansea, it was nice to be back with my family and not saty in a student house!. If you have never been to Mumbles before, Joes Ice cream is a must, Verdi's is an experience but a lot of overpriced Italian pomp, "The Kitchen Table" which is almost next door serves way better breakfasts than ANY hotel (that includes the Hilton!) their menu is available online. Also fish and chips from Yallops you can eat whilst your kids play in the park :) Kids take your scooters and bikes, parents sit on the seafront with a glass of wine from one of the many pubs whilst your children play. Slightly further away visit Llangennith beach it has to be one of the best beaches in Wales with amzing sand dunes for the children.


My only complaint would be the lack of fan/aircon but we were staying on the 2nd week of the heatwave normally this probably wouldn't be an issue!

This was simply a place to stay overnight, it was comfortable. clean and most importantly my children loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed a few days; I found all the stairs quite tiring. The staff was quite helpful showing me to my room which was basically a corridor with 2 beds in alcoves with the bathroom at the end. It was clean enough but a bit old. I was not able to get the TV to work. The bed was hard and not that comfortable. The included breakfast was reasonable although I wish they would clean the sticky tables better. Perhaps they might consider investing in some catsup bottles it ridiculous the whole restraint using one bottle!!! My stay was ok but I would have rather stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for close to the ground to avoid all the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbles hotels

swansea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed there for four nights at the end of July and to be honest we couldn't fault the place I was a little shocked to be honest as we wernt expecting too much after reading all the negative reviews before our Stay. Being originally from swansea I'm aware how over priced mumbles can be. But the room at this hotel were not over priced ,the room was very clean and of good size plenty of light and stunning views across the bay ,breakfast was really good always fresh and yet never had to wait long staff were always friendly and helpful nothing was too much effort! This hotel is ideally situated with everything you'd need in reach!! We had an evening meal on the first night sirloin steak with all the trimmings for a very reasonable priced hearty meal it's was so nice we had another one on the last night! But if you'd prefer eating out there is an array of restaurants to choose from a stones throw away. Well we Really enjoyed our stay as did alot of other guests that we spoke to we will definately be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loobs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Bit tired... Not really worth the money paid.
It helps to be part mountain goat with all the up-and-down stairs you will be doing in the various sections.

Defiantly not good if you are not good with stairs.

Breakfast was ok quite tasty, bit disorganized and the sticky table kind of put you off...
TV's are a bit funny... you might need a magnifying glass to watch it!

All in all I would rather have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oooMcpooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were a bit wary based on the review/ratings on here but as little else was available and we had to stay in Swansea for an event we booked it .

We were very pleasantly suprised . The room was very large and had clearly been recently renovated as had the bathroom . In fact we had no issues at all ,we also had a stunning view of Swansea bay . In fact it's hard to believe that we stayed at the same place as some of the reviewers . There seem to be two review threads going for this hotel the second being under the Carlton name but the reviews there seem worse if anything .

Hard to explain what is occuring when this happens . Perhaps we got lucky , we did seem to have the room in the hotel web-site photographs but we didn't hear anyone else complain when we were there and the place was fully booked .

The staff were all pleasant and the breakfast was fresh and well served by the staff ,the bacon in particular was locally sourced without an iota of fat on it .

The hotel was not cheap but we did book at peak time at the tail end of a heat wave for a hotel that is right on the gateway to the Gower so supply and demand were in the hotels favour . We took our dog and were not charged for this ,other hotels could learn from that .

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 which had an excellent sea view ,it is up three flights of stairs however if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Cannot understand how it got 3 stars. Our room was shabby with cheap furniture and none too clean although the sheets were ok. It was so small that two people could not get dressed at the same time. The en suite was dated and the shower either ran hot or cold. The breakfasts were not good with nasty sausages and acidic baked beans and the juice was warm. The girls serving breakfast were friendly but the tables were sticky and not cleaned properly. I understand that some of the rooms have been refurbished but it is still let down by the other areas.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40sueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
697 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mumbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mumbles Hotel

Property: The Mumbles Hotel
Address: 654-656 Mumbles Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EA, Wales (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mumbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Mumbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Swansea
The Mumbles Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing