We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad weekend in Wales”
Review of The Mumbles Hotel

The Mumbles Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mumbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
London England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bad weekend in Wales”
Reviewed 17 September 2007

The only good thing about this hotel is its wonderful location.
We got to our room through a sort of storeroom. The corridor had a badly stained carpet and a smell of damp. The room overlooked a junk yard. This was cleared up a bit before we left.Plaster/paint hung down from the ceiling in the bathroom.
The bedroom was just dreary.
Breakfast was chaotic, but the staff,who were friendly did apologise several times.
When we finally got our "full Welsh" breakfast, the bacon and sausages were so underdone they were inedible.
The walls of the bedroom were paper thin. We were kept awake most of the night by a man snoring in the next room.
This experience cost us £70 per night. Very poor value for money.

  • Liked — Location - near Swansea city centre and beautiful beaches of Gower
  • Disliked — Needs a complete facelift
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    34
    24
    23
See reviews for
25
56
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

I'd booked a party of 6 middle aged golfers into the hotel some two months before we visited. I'd asked for 3 twin rooms en-suite and was quoted a price for this. Subsequently I was asked if we were happy to stay in the house annexed to the hotel. I agreed as there was no mention that we wouldn't get the same facilities (the price was the same). What a mistake. We were left with one en-suite between the 6 of us (that could only be accessed by walking through the bedroom of the occupants). Not clever if you needed the loo in the middle of the night!!!! There wasn't one wardrobe in the whole place and the ground floor bedroom (where I stayed) looked out onto a courtyard (being polite). The glass door to the courtyard from the bedroom, although thankfully locked, had no blinds and we were woken in the middle of the night by someone who obviously thought it was time to turn on the courtyard light. The matress on the bed was no thicker than a crispbread, unbuttered mind you!!! What bedsprings there were managed quite easily to find their way into the small of my back. It was like sleeping on a giant cheese grater.

I'm not qualified to comment on the hotel itself but beware DON'T be conned into staying in the annex. They did have the decency to reduce the charge from £35 to £20 per person per night but there's no way what we had was even worth that!!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyboyPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbles hotels

Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

A good place to stay in the Mumbles because it is South of the busy Newton road junction and there is not too much traffic past the front late at night or early in the morning.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were superb and the service friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Liked — The location and view from my room
  • Disliked — Sad flowers on the table in my room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 October 2005

After a very near miss with a hotel that got an appalling rating on this website we managed to book at very short notice (the morning of our day of arrival in fact) and the booking process was quick, efficient and easy.

On arrival the first thing that strikes you is the smell of cigarette smoke in the reception area, which is right next to the bar. As non-smokers this was not good for us, however we got past that and booked in with no problems. The room was small but nice enough. Clean and with all the usual accoutrement, hair dryer, kettle, tea/coffee makings, TV - OK, the bed was a bit squeaky but we were going to be so tired after all the walking we would be doing we would only be sleeping in it so that wasn't really an issue. The fact that the en-suite had no door was however. We didn't actually notice until we had been out for a long walk in the rain and wanted to shower and pay our calls to nature. And there was no way my missus was going to do that without a door on the loo!

Once we reported the fact to the night manager (who couldn't believe what he was hearing incidentally) it was all dealt with swiftly though and we were moved very quickly to a much nicer room with a sea-view and not charged a penny more for the privelege. After a few pints in the bar in the company of some very nice and chatty locals we had a peaceful nights sleep and awoke refreshed.

After a nice cooked breakfast we went to checkout but we were presented with someone else's previous night's dinner and bar bill. This was put down to the unexpected change of rooms, the spurious charges were quickly cancelled, we paid up and were on our way.

All in all I would stay there again but I would make sure I counted the doors on checkin and the scrutinised the bill closely on checkout. OK, there were a coupel of problems but they were dealt with swiftly and efficiently by very pleasant and helpful staff. Not the best place I have stayed in. A little pokey but certainly far from the worst so 7/10 from me.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
715 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
974 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mumbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mumbles Hotel

Property: The Mumbles Hotel
Address: 654-656 Mumbles Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EA, Wales (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mumbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Mumbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Swansea
The Mumbles Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing