We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Grandmere

House and heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and heated pool
House and garden Lounge and dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
House and heated pool
House and garden
Lounge and dining kitchen
4 poster bedroom
Lavender double bedroom
Sea shell twin bedroom
Sunflower twin bedroom
Games area and  bed
Bathroom
Shaded outside terrace
Chez Grand-Mere
Shrimp boats - Mortange
La Rochelle harbour
Gemozac market day
Night time pool games
Sun rise over Royan
Lounge Area
Front door
Door Bell
St Georges di Didonne
Crayfish fishing
Chateaux Cos Estournel
now thats what I call a wine cellar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Gemozac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect holiday spot ”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chez Grandmere is a beautiful holiday house in the quiet and relaxed town of Gemozac. The house is under an hour from Bordeaux and in the surrounding area you have many lovely places to visit: La Rochelle, Royan, the vineyards of the Médoc, Talmont, the Île de Ré....the list goes on! Within a short drive of the house is a huge supermarket with everything you could need and we enjoyed many delicious suppers on the large outdoor patio. The house has a games room with table football and boule and darts to be enjoyed outside with your evening aperitif. The pool is lovely and so clean and we spent most of our days lounging in and around it.

Fiona and Calum were wonderful hosts and nothing was ever too much trouble. Fiona even made us some delicious cakes during our stay, one of which was made with apricots from her garden with a Madeira-esq base. It was absolutely delicious.

This was my third visit and I hope to be back soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M
1 review
“A Perfect Week”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent an idyllic week at Chez Grandmere as a group of 7. The house was beautiful and fully equipped with everything we could need. Fiona and Calum were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The pool (together with inflatable unicorn!) was an absolute dream for lazy days. Delicious bakery a stones throw away for breakfast croissants and lunch baguettes. Gemozac is a peaceful postcard setting for a relaxing holiday and we wouldn't hesitate in returning to Chez Grandmere! Thank you again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
1 review
“Great relaxing holiday home”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chez grandmere is a lovely holiday home located in Gemozac a small town just 50 minutes drive from Bordeaux. Fiona and Calum were great hosts during our stay in July and the house is very well equipped with all the house essentials. There is a large supermarket only a 3 minute drive or 12 minutes walk away from the house and plenty of vineyards in the surrounding area. The pool is large and immaculately clean with plenty and sun-beds/hammocks for all nine of us. We especially enjoyed having our meals and drinks on the large terrace a night. Thank you Fiona and Calum for being so welcoming, we really enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katieradl...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house in a fab location”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with friends and children. In total 4 adults, and 5 boys aged between 7 months and 5 years. It was perfect for all our needs. The house is well stocked with things for the kids to do, DVDs, board games, table football, boule and loads of toys for the pool. It had a highchair for the baby, a cot and stair gates. And loads of plastic cups and bowls etc!
The pool was brilliant, closed off with a gate to stop the kids from wandering in there. It had loads of sun loungers and lilos, plus a parasol to keep the baby in the shade. It gets the sun the whole day. The temperature was fine for the kids to spend loads of time in there as well. And it had steps into the pool so our 3-year-old could stand up and splash in the shallows.
There's a large kitchen/dining/lounge area, and a huge outdoor table to eat at.
We were also left a welcome basket with chocolates and there was wine and beer in the fridge!
Fiona and Calum were very friendly and always on hand to help with any advice or info on where to go. And we often returned from a day out to see they had left us homemade sweets and cakes on our outside table, which was a lovely surprise.
The house is around 25 minutes from some good sandy beaches, and within the village itself there's a swimming pool with slides, several places to eat out, and a couple of boulangeries. You do need a car though to get to the supermarket.
We'd definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it catered for our children so well, everything from an Ikea highchair, to lilos in the pool.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“These guys know how to do a holiday rental”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Calum and Fiona for a fabulous week. we thought the property was perfect your hospitality was humbling and you generosity unequalled. Fiona and Calum really went out of their way to make the stay comfortable and easy. Nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty to do in the town like a public swimming pool horse racing and even a big supermarket. We are very thankful for the meal you cooked on and the cakes you made it made our holiday that little bit sweeter.
Thank you Malinda, Paul, William, Thomas, Charlie and Gillian

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12teas
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant family holiday house”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four spent a week at Chez Grand Mere with friends and we had a fantastic relaxing time. Our twin boys loved the pool as did our friends' kids, it was a decent size and good temperature which was helped by using the cover every evening.

There's plenty of space for two families, we ate all our meals outside under the covered patio, it was warm enough to spend every evening out there tucking into the local wines. There's an area upstairs for children to play games including table football and a TV, although we didn't use it as the pool provided end to end entertainment.

Fiona and Callum were extremely welcoming and helpful, they even brought round home baked cakes for the kids and were always happy to provide any tips and advice on the local area.

The house is close to the heart of the town but is still secluded and quiet. Gemozac is a typical charming small French town with a few shops and restaurants. Our families felt very welcome everywhere we went including the boulangerie when we'd caused a lengthy queue whilst our children ordered in French! The market on a Friday is very good for seafood and definitely worth a visit. There's a large supermarket on the edge of town to stock up on everything you need.

We will be recommending Chez Grand Mere to others and will consider staying again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piebec
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely holiday with our friends. Really enjoyed Fiona and Calum's hospitality- they went above and beyond . Super house-beautifully decorated - everything you need -loads of fun in the great pool. Lots to do in the area. Would highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing